Thread: Lake / Dam Trout

Lake / Dam Trout

Can anyone give some advice on how to catch trout from lakes? Mainly fishing from Lyell and Wallace NSW. I've tried power bait rainbow on a running sinker rig with no success so far. Is there a berley recipe that I can use for Trout? and what sort of live baits are best as well? Cheers for any info.

Re: Lake / Dam Trout

gday lowndsie
    i used to fish lyell a bit about 5 years ago but my uncle fishes it regularly he has alot of sucess by polaroiding cruising trout on the lithgow side of the dam wall. also if you like to fish baits mudeyes and yabbies are the best that ive used as well as freshly killed gudgens cast to cruising trout they really get the big brownies going. also its no good if you are using line any heavier than 3 kg the lighter you fish the better your sucess rate. fish with a bubble float rig with a stopper below the bubble filled with water and fish so that your bait is travelling out from the bank you are fishing.
    and make sure your line is greased so it floats. fly line floatant works well.
    btw if you are able to fish as close to the aerator as you can if its running the catches you can make in this area when its running can be huge. plus if you keep your cool and fight the fish out there are some very large trout in this lake the biggest ive seen would have been around 15 lb.
    phil

Thanx for the info......I fished Wallace this weekend and after three weekends straight of getting up early and catching nothing........I finally did it. My first Trout. It went 3.5 Kilo and was 50cm long. I got there at 5.15am and was about to set up some rods with power bait when I saw a rise heaps close into the bank. I made a dash for the rod rigged with a tassie devil and cast past where i saw the rise. It wasnt long before I felt the strike. It took out some 3.5k line and made a few small jumps. After what seemed like forever, I managed to beach it. I didnt catch anything else for the rest of the day but then I didnt feel that I needed to. The stomach contents were full of damselfly larvae.
    It goes without mention........I'm hooked.

50cm, 3.5 kg??? Those trout are heavy. We got a 54cm Bass in Wivenhoe that only went 2.7kg.
    Dale

I fish because the little voices in my head tell me to

yeah tell me about it....had to get someone to verify so i was sure myself. Even used a different set of scales. Gues they are just fat bastards......