Need help with this one please... l wish to buy a new one have been looking at the Navman 4380 it seems to have the things l want and for $579 l think the price is good too .....Thoughts anyone....
If it's for freshwater use, I go a monoscreen and have a good look at the Lowrance X125, around $ 500.
480 x 480 pixels and heaps of features, may not be colour but is a great sounder for the money.
Macca
Hey mate,
I bought a Matrix 37 just before xmas and I tell you what, well worth the money.
The last four trips have caught around 120 Bass per session between two of us, all due to having a good quality finder. It was a case of telling my fishing mate when he was going to get a fish and the size of the fish.
See picture.
Man thats a lot of fish on the sounder!!!!!
what would taht look like on a colour one?
I recently bought a matrix 97 combo colour, have not had much of a chance to check it out yet due to the gale force winds now.
But i was wondering what would bass/yellow belly look like on colour sounder? I heard you can tell the difference on colour, but i'm new to this one.... hehehe
Cheers mate,
I once herd one of those comp (ego) guys at a talk sayin you need to know which way the bass are facing. As iff all of the fish in the schools are all looking the same way. Someone told me he was a bit of a smoker though. [smiley=beatnik.gif]
Those Matrix units might just be able to tell you that hey?
[smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Be an absolute bitch if ya had to actually attribute and use much skill toward the captures .Would surely take the varnish off the picture frame??? ???
Mate from what I've heard, on a colour sounder you can pic the yella's 'cause you can see the golden fins and belly. Snapper supposedly come up as big a red with a black eye.Originally Posted by drdonjuan9
Seriously the Matrix 97 is a great sounder for freshwater use. I've spent a bit of time watchin' Fitzy's 97 and it is the ducks guts.
I reckon a Humminbird Matrix series is the way to go these days, 'cause you can update it to GPS and Weatherwatch as you can afford it. The Sounder/GPS combo has some great features that are missing in much more expensive units. I currently run an X135, but will be fitting a Matrix very soon.
Dale
I fish because the little voices in my head tell me to
Can i throw in my 2 bobs wurth.
being a fishaholic with 2 boats for salt and fresh fishing .
I have 2 different sounders. both great sounders for what i need.
first is the colour sounder on my 4.8 C/C. Koden colour dual beam . i find the colour confusing in the fresh water. it shows the fish no question and the shows are the same slashes as in the pic above but in technicolour.
the second boat a 3.5 v punt for the Bass bream.on that i have matrix 20 with gps. have setting just for fresh. top sounder easier to read the fish in the fresh.
great pixel count too.
Cheers Cloud 9
then it realy gets ughly