Thread: callide barra

callide barra

Took the old man out for a fish yesterday as you can see he had a good time.

scotty

Re: callide barra

good stuff mate well done

Reidy

Well done mate I hear Callide is fast becoming the place to go for us southerners as there is a lot less water to cover then Awoonga hope to get up there in the new year, what would you rate it in your veiw as a fishery?

Gents,

I'm spending next week at Awoonga (lucky me) nut will be heading over to Calide on the Friday night as I have a sister who lives there. I'll be looking for a fish either on the Saturday or early Sunday.

I've only fished Callide twice for no result and that was 2 years agao. Any tips on fishing the mud puddle would be handy

Bugman

A bit of care has to be taken at the moment with a lot of snags and banks lurkingbelow the surface,the western side of the dam is relatively safe and provides some good fishing.Have had success trolling along the bank opposite the ramp and headin to and along the wall,in that area you will also see some rocky islands exposed these are worth flicking a lure around.I,ve found best results in the afternoon especially if it's nice and calm,we've had a spike in the water temp over the last week and it's really brought them on.PM me for anymore details,I dare say I'll be out there on saturday as well.Cheers-Kingo.

Barra aren't the only thing on the chew

well done Kingo. Nice effort.

Now.......................................about those jack

[smiley=jester.gif] [smiley=jester.gif] [smiley=jester.gif]

Kingo,

Was out there on Tuesday and welcomed the hike in water temp. Must have jumped just on 3 degrees during that day only to cool off as the wind blew up in the arvo.

11 in the boat for the afternoon with quite a few dropped. Not real interested when water dead flat - wind blew up and they went nuts. 250mm through to 890mm. a few larger single fish sighted but not interested in any questions we asked.

Gwydir,

Was that mostly casting or a bit of trolling?

Just casting into warm water. Had not been to the dam before so had a troll v early in the day just to have a look about the place mostly. Got 1 bump while trolling thats about it. headed back to the warmer water we had found and stayed there.