Thread: Awoonga Warming Up

Awoonga Warming Up

Lake Awoonga is livening up with visitors. Many boats out today, white wash everywhere. Barra are biting well, but it seems not for everybody. Many sad faces at the ramp still. I've been busy fishing this last week or so, i'll post some pics up this weekend. I even have a jack pic to post up, 49 cm from Awoonga caught by one of my mates. First one I have seen from there. Lucky fellow!! Nice fish on the chew too. Metre fish are common. My girlfriend landed a 15 and an 18 kg fish last weekend. She loves it. I took some visiting friends from the Awoonga caravan park out fishing last saturday, they landed 7 from 17 strikes, 4 over a metre. We fished again through the week and they landed 22 more, their best was 118cm. That's pretty good i reckon for men who haven't caught barra before. They were stoked! Here's a quick pic of one they landed. Happy Chappy!
    Johnny M
    Lake Awoonga

Re: Awoonga Warming Up

Here's the good lady with one of her barra from last weekend. This one was 109cm. She also caught 2 barra in 2 casts, and we also had a double hook up at one stage with metre plus barra. She hogs the best rod, and the best spot on the boat, but she packs a picnic lunch, so I can't complain!
    More photos coming.
    Johnny M
    Lake Awoonga

Today was hot as hell, the surface temp, mid lake was 80F. The wind dropped out to nothing for a long while, and as we sat mid lake for a feed, the surface temp reached 80F. I think it is going to be a long hot summer as it is now only early October and already burning hot. The fishing has changed dramatically in the last month, so different to this time last year. Every season is different, hence the constant and predictable seasonal change in fishing. This was the best fish landed this morning. 1.1Metres, approx 20 kg, it was in great condition.
    Joe's best barra I think!
    The rewards are worth the effort!
    Johnny M.
    More to come.

This big snake, maybe 8 to 10 feet long was curled up around a branch sleeping it off in the warm sun. I imagine they prey on birds that roost in the leafless trees that are totally surrounded by water. Snakes are good swimmers apparently. This one was approximately 200 metres from land, and he wasn't in the same tree today.
    johnny

Kate with another nice barra from Awoonga. For a chick that snores, she can handle a rod ok! She's gunna kill me when she reads this.
    johnny

SULLY73

still slaying em hey Johnny,good to see. As always quality fish & quality photos.congrats.Just got home from work in Bilo & fished Callide one night for a couple of fish.It seems to be slowly warming up over there with reports of good fish being caught more frequently and I watched a gent land a solid metre fish that arvo as well.But still can't wait to get back on Awoonga sometime in the next few days.

CHEERS,
    BRAD.

P.S GO THE COWBOYS!!

(callide fish)

Mangrove Jack caught at Awoonga on Thursday night by my mate Terrin Sharpe. It is the first jack i've seen come from Awoonga. There have been a few other reports which is a big positive. This fish was 49 cm. It got knocked around a bit as it tangled around a snag. (as jacks do well!) It swam away in good condition. It was caught lure casting to shallow water with a shallow lure. No secret, just an incidental capture. Great to see!
    Johnny M

Here is the pic, i forgot to attach it, sorry!!

Two days John - just two more days

That photo of that jack is the best bit of news this year ...fantastic congrats Terrin
    Kids need models, more than they need critics."
    "In youth we learn; in age we understand."
    "I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand

DNO40

Somebody say JACK !

Nice Jack there... gunna be fairly wild once they crack the 10 KG mark.

Cheers Les

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."