Monduran Dam Barra

Thread: Monduran Dam Barra

Monduran Dam Barra

4 of us have a trip planned for Monduran , towards end of October. We are all keen to catch our first Barra , can anybody give us a few tips on gearing up & types of lures etc. We are all from south of the border , fishing mainly for Murray Cod & Yellowbelly etc. Any advice would be appreciated.

Ausfish Platinum Member Awoonga's Avatar

Re: Monduran Dam Barra

Peterr..There are plenty of posts giving you info on what you need to fish Monduran....But here is a short list Stealth Shh Shh..Get the picture ! Line l use 50lb braid ... leader 60lb min lures Too many to list but livery lures work well ... Spend a bit of time go through the posts lots of info there
    Kids need models, more than they need critics."
    "In youth we learn; in age we understand."
    "I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand

Thanks Awoonga. Am new to the site, have now realised you can read through info!!! Lots of helpful advice here. Thanks.

G'Day Pete,

Reckon you might spend a fair bit of time reading on this site. Heaps to take away from what other have done and said. Work roster changing but am still trying to get down and see you blokes.
    Jason

Ihave only been there twice great place to fish, I have found that anthing gold in color is a good place to start. There is a lot of area to explore and I am looking forward to getting back there for the comp this wekend. If you want somr local knowledge post a question to stillwater as he is fishing there very regular and has extensive knowledge of the dam. Another person to ask is the manager of the camping are at the dam Foxie I am sure that he will be glad to give some tips for ypour trip.

Regards Woodsy

still_water

Guys,
    We have a new Manager at the Dam now, and will be trying to find his feet for the next few weeks. Unfortunately John and Jacky have moved back home and will be sadly missed by a lot of people.
    The best lures we have found this year are Pristines , Beetle Green, Glow in the Dark and Silver with Pink Head.
    Adam will be at the comp with his trailer on Friday but you will have to get in early as stocks are dissapearing fast.
    RMG's, Arafura's and B52's are my next favourites.

Thanks for the advice fellas, looking forward to a good trip to Monduran. Hope to see you down there 'Gwydir'. [Love the name].
    Peterr.