Eat or Catch & Release? - Page 2

Thread: Eat or Catch & Release?

Re: Eat or Catch & Release?

Quote Originally Posted by gunna
    [quote author=shappas link=1127770623/0#1 date=1127775344]
    the big 1s are gthe breeders and i dont take them

cya mate

P.S i wouldnt frown if u took 1 or 2 but i might if say u had 5 and above
    I thought the stocked fish didn't breed in impoundments ??? So taking a few for a feed shouldn't be a problem - thats why they re-stock every year ???
    [/quote]

Some fish do breed in impoundments and the fork Tail catfish is 1 and there breed like flys.
    Murray Cod do breed in closed waters and the big ones 70 cm plus are the breeders and in my view these fish should not be slaughtered. And the same goes with East Coast & Marry River cod with thr later two being protected...
    except the Marry River Cod witch can be taken in several impoundments...... Why i don't know [smiley=huh2.gif]
    As for taken a few other species home.... not a problem.
    But i do get pinged off when i see people hell bent on taken there bag limits home ecpecally 5-10 bag limits and there is a fair few in a fishing party. Just my veiws

Cheers Les

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."

we go cod fishing down at the condamine and we get a few cod, out of 5 usually would take 1 or 2 but we let go our females so when we come back they'll be bigger and better and they'll hit your line harder.

but don't get me wrong cod taste the best,
    speckly

I kept one australian bass once, I felt like the biggest arsehole and never did it again. They put up a good fight I think its only fair to let them go. (I hope anyone who takes more then they should gets poked in the eye by one of there spines)

Ausfish Gold Member

Quote Originally Posted by still-water
    Jake,
    It is a personal thing , some 99% of fisho's will release as they just love fishing others will take 1 home for a feed. Any client who rings me and hints at taking thier bag will be sent packing thats not how I fish. I will take a big Barra home approx every couple of months as this gives our family a good few feeds. As far as Big Barra tasting like mud , it is all in the preparation , if you know how to clean them and have a good recipie they taste no different . Most fishos I know will only take Barra from 70cm to 90cm.
    Jake, if and when I do actually start catching the buggas and get them into the boat, what is the best way to handle one you want to keep for a feed.

chanquetas

Hey Dasher, that was actually still-water said that.....and going from my 1 freshwater fish that I have ever caught and eaten which was only 2 days ago....(sorry to disappoint you quinn but I didnt get poked in the eye )....

I reckon the best thing is to treat them like anything else. Kill them as soon as possible, I always brain spike my keepers, and bleed them straight away, regardless of the species.
    I keep an ice slurry in the esky and they go straight into that. Clean and gut at the ramp, fillet at home.
    If you eat them that evening then really I dont see anything else that you can do.

The Bass we just ate was beautiful by the way. But my missus and I like all fish, we eat sardines, whitebait (Chanquetas is Spanish for deep fried whitebait), you name it we eat it. So the freshwater fish was no problem, although it seems a lot of people have trouble departing from the usual white flesh salt water fish.

Anyway, Im sure you already know all the above mate. Cheers,
    Jake

Ausfish Gold Member

Ooops sorry Jake buggered up the medication again I think. I'm sure it said 22 standard drinks. Thanks for the info mate, appreciate it.

S.S.

I don't see any problem with taking fish home from the dams for a feed. Most are put and take fisheries after all.
    Plus, if you live out west and love to eat fish, why not eat them from the local impoundments? No different to anyone hitting the saltwater and taking a flathead or whiting home for the table.