Tinny ideas

Thread: Tinny ideas

Tinny ideas

Anyone know where to get a cheap tinny on a trailer Gc to brizzy upto $1000

what should i expect for that sort of money?

any ideas,

i was thinking just puting an electric on will get me started

Re: Tinny ideas

I originally bought a 10ft punt with a 3.5hp motor on it for $1500. Sold the motor for $300 and bought a 28pund thrust electric motor for same price. Its a really good quality punt though, but the trialer is in immensely bad condition, thats ok though I don't have to sit on the trialer for hour fishing. Yeah so anyway for $1000 with boat and trialer, you should be able to find somthing to get you started.

Reidy

Hey Mate

Have seen a few kicking around but beware of electollosis, You could probably make a trailer for cheap, 12 foot tinny for around $500 and make a trailer for $ 300 there you go, I have my home made trailer and its just as good as any. good luck mate.

ok, what do you suggest looking for in a punt type tinny,
    i think this option may be better than the canoe idea i originaly had

Yella

I was hunting around for tinny recently in that price range.

You have to be quick as they don't last long.

You we have trouble finding a pointed punt but would probably have to settle for dinghy.

I checked the trading post online as it updates as soon as an add is available. Search the classifieds of all the fish sites on line as well.

Look around the 1500 range as well as you could probably knock em down in price a bit from there.

Good Luck

I didn't succeed finding one, but you might.

Macca

The_Walrus

Yella,

Having fished from canoes & kayaks for 30+ years, I would recommend a punt (10 to 12 ft) unless you intend to fish really skinny water that would involve portaging etc.

A punt will give you stabillity and room to move. An electric or small outboard will move it around easily.
    Sitting in a canoe/kayak for long periods of time looses it's attraction real quick.

Yella,

yeh i got a tinny just from the local rag, its lasted me 3 years now and counting, its only 12 foot with a 15hp on it and paid $1500 for it. Now its all decked out and i wouldn't part with it.

[smiley=thumbsup.gif] Thomas.

I've got a 12ft v-noe punt for sale with casting deck and floor etc. Might be a bit much for you though. I'm asking for $2200

here r just a few that i have found on the trading post maybe that can help you out a bit

TINNY, 3 MTR., no dents, GC $600 (07)38144498, (0419)153940, REDBANK PLAINS Ipswich QLD Private

Aluminium Dinghy 12ft long, with floor, GC $670 (07)32080694, SLACKS CREEK

PUNT, 13FT, TRIPLE hull, 15hp motor, $700, (07)55391711, (0405)680447, UPPER COOMERA

ALUMINIUM 3.6M TINNYFreshly painted, false floor, 5hp seagull outboard. On trailer. Ready to hit the water, just needs rego. $850 (0415)435216, ROBERTSON

ALUMINIUM DINGHY, 3M car topper, with trailer, 6hp Johnson motor, oars, jackets etc, $1000 (07)54850333, POMONA

who else believes that a canoe isnt going to be as good,
    I intend on fishing impoundments, and rivers, primarily freshwater

what do u guys think

scott_b

Gday yella
    Mate your probably better of waiting until winter ,boats seem to be a lot cheaper . Don't know about canoe's but the amount of gear you end carrying around the more room you got the better.
    wamjam

Dont forget ebay, u can allways find bargins there, go to www.ebay.com.au and select cars bikes and boats, in that scroll down untill u find boats and watercraft and bingo, they sell ne thing from tinnies to reasonable boats.

The_Walrus

Given that you intend to fish impoundment, I defenitely go for a dinghy style tinny. Open waters and canoes do not mix well especially when the wheather get narky.

You will also find a tinny gives you more room and confort. Spent your money getting the best you can in a basic setup and you can always add floors etc at your leisure.