Thread: sundown national park

sundown national park

Gday all
    I am thinking about doing a trip down to sundown chasing cod. I have never been there before and i was just after some information on it.
    Is there water there at the moment?
    what is the best lures to use?
    Do spinnerbaits work there?
    What is the bet way to get there from Gatton way?
    Any information on this fishing spot would be appreciated?
    Cheers Ross(bassmanrd)

Re: sundown national park

is there even any cod left in that section of the river

I dont know thats what i want to find out

hi ross ihave fished this place twice ayear and there are some small cod left,but heaps of carp.its awesome place to stay and watch the deer and other wildlife but if your after a cod your better off going to glenlyon which is afew klms back from sundown, its tough walking between permanent water for fish as there usually isnt that much water, but as isaid if your after aquiet spot with some beautiful country and wildlife you can pm me for more info. bdowdy

bdowdy, are you talking the northern end of the park or southern end?

thanks mate
    I might just try my luck at glenlyon, I have never been there before, What is the town that is close to it? Are spinnerbaits a good option or are you better off using hard body lures?
    bassmanrd

the southern end is where i usually fish,the northen end is suppose to be rough as. ross spinnerbaits are awesome in black or purple . tenterfield is the nearest town,thats where im from. give us a bell when your heading down,ill give you some info as ill be fishing glenlyon on the19 and 20 of nov with my fishing and restocking club, when ill return from fishing moogerah and mooroon this weekend. any way i can help just sing out. bdowdy..

cool thanks for that, I have only fished the northern end in May. The river wasn't flowing so I just tried a few waterholes with no success. I might give the southern a go next time I head down that way.

hi whatever, may prob is a bit cool to catch fish down here . try fishing about jan or feb and youll do better. try and find out if theres some water before you come as you know its hard going for a few fish. bdowdy..

Gday bdowdy
    thanks for the info, I will contact you if I decide to go down and if I can I will try and go on the weekend of the 19-20 of november.
    Bassmanrd

ok bassmanrd illcatch up with you maybe that weekend. bdowdy..