Thread: does anyone fish the impoundments with a canoe

does anyone fish the impoundments with a canoe

hey guys do any of you fish the impoundments with a canoe?
    if so how do you go, im thinking of getting one, and want some tips etc

any advice is appreciated
    thanks,

i had hinze, moogerah, maroon and leslie in mind

Re: does anyone fish the impoundments with a canoe

hi yellahunter , my bro lives in brissie and is looking at a hobie craft or acanoe to fish the local dams andmay put an electric on the back,i couldnt see why you couldnt fish these dams quite easy in acanoe. also a mate recently pulled a14lb yella from a private dam nearby( big fish). last oct i fished the same dam and caught10 yellas and the biggest was15lb. heading back there at the end of nov when i return from moogerah and mooroon. b dowdy...

sounds like an aweseom dam mate,
    would I be able to fish this dam?

hi yellahunter

my wife and I took delivery of 2 SOT kayaks and launched from the southern ramp into Hinze, then just paddled and explored the bays etc for the next 2 kms..
    know nothing of freshwater fishing but was so impressed with the whole environment that I called into the ranger and got a 12month fishing permit.
    next visit will have bait or lures and give the fish a go as we met a bloke with fly gear who said he had taken bass about 100m from the ramp about 10 days ago drifting and casting lures [not fly]

cheers Richo

Richo

its a private dam and only a few friends fish there, maybe if youre down this way let me know could organize it. bdowdy...

Yeah I do... what kind of info do you want to know?

scotty

that is a big yella just out of curiosty how big is the dam must have a good food supply in there they would have put on a good fight but they would taste like shit being so big

good on ya

scotty

i wana know how they handle on the open water,
    do they tip over etc,
    and how they fish in comparison to a small 10-12ft punt,
    the reason i ask is beacuse i dont want to get a tow bar and trailer etc, if i can do the same things in a canoe that i can throw on my roof racks

any advice
    i was looking at the coleman/pelican 13.6ft model

hi scotty, its abig dam i put my tinny on it , they are the biggest yellas ive seen other than in some mags, and its full of guppies,crayfish and so on. caught a16lb cod also in there but most fish are in the 5lb range. its agreat spot and am lucky to fish it. b dowdy...

Bdowdy, thats awesome! So did they stock the dam at an earlier stage did they? My mate has a few yella's in his dam which they stocked along with the native spangle's but these dont get that big.

Yellahunter,

i rekon canoe's and boats can be classed into 2 completly diferent groups, my mate has a canoe which we just cart around in the back of a ute and its great for small river's which your just casting around the snags for bass as my tinny is a bit big for, but then if we head out to the dams we take my boat because its just more stable with all the waves cop etc. Its also easier to travel a distance with a boat rather then puting along with a canoe. So yeah i think it depends on what you want to get out of it.

Hope i was of some help. Thomas [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

I have a couple of similar B-line canoes, one is glass the other is plastic. The glass one is probably a bit more stable, maybe due to being heavier. It seems to be a bit quicker on water aswell. B-line canoes seem to have higher sides and you sit quite low in them.

We usually fish the middle of wivenhoe and I have yet to feel uncomfortable. I have been there when the wind kicks up aswell and apart from not moving very fast they are still pretty stable. I can't comment on other brands though and can't really compare them to a 10-12ft punt, but there is a fair bit of room.

Where abouts are you located? If you want to go for a fish you can answer your questions for yourself.

Hi yella
    I used to fish Hinze & other electric only impoundments in a canoe but I sold it. Missed it so much I bought another one. You can fit an alloy mounting bracket for an electric no probs. Never tipped one over in a dam (only on rivers while getting adventureous down rapids). Depends how small you want to go - my 14 ft Roscoe wasn't as stable as the 15 ft Ram-X and a scanoe is so stable you can stand up and cast.

hi herby the dam has been stocked for the last 30 years or so, as ive said its awesome fun with some huge fish, theres been plenty of bust offs and the biggest fish that i know of is a60lb cod. bdowdy..

bdowdy, Hell yeah thats awesome. Keep me up to date on your catches.

Thomas [smiley=thumbsup.gif]