Thread: Bass-------could I ask for a few tips please?

Bass-------could I ask for a few tips please?

we have about 2k of river running through our property, a northern NSW coastal river with a few sets of shallow rapids, about the last rapids before the river flattens out to the coast.
    Some deep holes to 15', these deep holes mainly have rocky or gravel sides and some sunken timber. In between the holes are longer stretches of shallow ( 12" to 3') water, with the northern side having the deeper water under overhanging trees. This northern side also has a fair bit of undergrowth hanging over the water.

We only catch and release but I have had a fair bit of fun wading this northern side and using small soft plastics in near the bank. The fish during the day seem to hang in close to this bank and so far I have only fished in daytime, one question is would the fish come out to feed in the shallower water at night on what is a pebbly, gravel bottom? If so would something like a luminous circada lure be worth trying?
    Suggestions as to the most suitable lures would be appreciated.
    regards, elleburrra

Re: Bass-------could I ask for a few tips please?

Sounds like a very nice piece of water you have there.

If it was me I would be trying surface lures of an evening and into the night....

There is nothing like the sound of a bass hitting a fizzer on summers night

any surface lure worked correctly could entice a strike.

My favourites have always been fizzers like the tiny torpedo or walkers like the crazy crawler. The buzzbaits do make for exciting fishing, but the fish have to be a lot more aggressive to take them.

mate one lure you must try on them is the RIVER2SEA little buggi in black
    early morning and late afternoon flick in under the over hangs and it woun't be hard to get some action
    as other have said sounds like your got a great backyard

Thanks fellas for the advice, very much appreciated.

I'm an old rock and beach fisherman from way back, we've lived here for 20 years but I really never explored the river. Went down late last year for the first time after reading a bit about bass on Ausfish.
    A little soft plastic lure on a 6lb line with a very fine rod and about the third cast I had a hit and I and the fish were hooked.
    Not sure of it's size as I unhooked him still in the water, at a guess about 35cm to the fork.
    The hit reminded me of a hungry drummer.

Since then have hooked up on a fair few others, taken into s snags a few times by what felt to be very decent fish. Thanks for the lure suggestions, I will chase around and find a few of each.

Basserman, I think I read you were in the PM region, any suggestions as to the best place up here to buy these suggested lures?

I am sorry mate but I don't think you are fishing this water properly at all. I suggest you invite me there to give you a few tips .

port macquaire tackle is a good shop however is do find them a touch dear on a few thing so my second best would be fishermans corner
    but truthly ever few mounths i take a run up to coffs harbor to go to fishing tackle australia i just tell the misses that i'm just being nice to her and takeing her shopping up there

Shakespeare lil S, Producers crawdad thingo and any of the above all work. Going for a throw early next week in a nice bit of river just north of PM, trying out some Twitching Nippers, will let you know how they go. Livebaits work too, but release is sketchy as they tend to get inhaled.

Jewsee, please let me know how you go with those twitchin' nippers, I've been reading about them and they could be an excellent lure as there are a lot of their live mates in this stretch of river.

gunna, I want some more practice first otherwise you will show me up
    :-)

basserman, thanks for the Coffs tip, I'm heading for Byron for a few days next week, my mate up there has a secret drummer hole up there where the drummer are big as horses. I have to say that as they keep breaking me up.

Jewsee THAT, any luck with those 'twitchin nippers?

Just as a PM I tried a locally made Koolabung Cicada Fizzer late one afternoon, 4 hookups in about an hour, no great size but that lure certainly seems to work.
    Basserman I'll try your suggestion of the river2see next, also I've got hold of a black Heddon Tiny Torpedo so will try that as well.

with the tiny torpedos this is the technique I have found to work for me. Some others may use different techniques, so if there are other good ones out there let me know.

Cast it out...let it sit until all the ripples have dissapeared. then rip it (try moving it as least distance as possible)...then pause...wait till ripples have gone...then rip again...keep repeating until hook up

If you get the chance just sit back and watch what a bug does when it falls in the water...they land...stay very very very still...then twitch a bit...then pause...they twitch again...and so on and so forth. Generally the twitches get longer as the bug gains more confidence than he isnt going to be eaten by a big hungry bass.

A useless piece of trivia...but worth a mention considering thats what you are trying to mimic.

Heres another technique that works for me as well...but it calls for a lot of patience! This has worked for me quite a few times.

Cast the lure out...let it sit...pull out your urn...make a cuppa...have a ciggie...finish ya cuppa...give the lure a twitch and WHACK! Its as if the fish sit under it just daring it to move! It sounds unreal...but it has happened!

Elysium, that sounds like great advice, thanks a million.

By coincidence I have been given 5 baby torpedos by a friend to try, one is black with white stripes, one is what I think they call frog, and another is gold with white stripes. I have plenty of patience and there are some great spots here that must have decent fish so I will religiously follow your advice (minus the ciggies but maybe plus some rum).

I've printed off your advice and will report back with results.

Once again, thanks for your wisdom, this sort of shared advice really typifies what Ausfish is all about.

If you are heading to Byron, There is 2 or three good tackle shops in Ballina that have those lures. One is at the big prawn....the other is in river street (the main street) called Daves bait shop. they have quite a few lures there. BTW the first bait shop, at the big ugly prawn, the owner is a member on here. CYA. SEAN

Black crickets are a top bait - if you dont mind bait fishing that is.

small spinnerbaits can be effective - 1/8 ounce, with a single colerado blade for shallow water or a willow leaf blade for deeper water.
    skirt colour depends on the conditions, e.g -
    > water colour
    > weather conditions

On the other hand, small soft plastics are always a favourite.

good luck.

elleburra

Get yourself a small or large hula popper. a bit expensive but they are dynamite on surface smashing bass.

Use same technique as above for torpedo but use a hula popper.

These ones have a little rubber skirt on em and when you twitch they have that twitching kickback that other lures dont......especially torpedo

The little twitchback makes em look so lifelike.

Used this technique on Maroon Dam, Boondoomba bass and Brissie River bass, have caught Brissie River bass in middle of the day

Budgebass