HANDLING BARRA FOR RELEASE, LARGE, or small!

Thread: HANDLING BARRA FOR RELEASE, LARGE, or small!

HANDLING BARRA FOR RELEASE, LARGE, or small!

Some key points to remember when handling any fish, especially larger barra-
    *time out of water is critical when it comes to the survival of any fish. Two,(2) mins out of water is a long time, 5 minutes is way too long! Anything less than 1 minute is a smart and conservative time period to posess a barra destined for release. If planning to take photos, make sure all camera gear is ready to go, as big fish often turn up when one least expects it. 2,3,4,5 minutes can pass by quickly in the excitement of landing a mega-barra!! remember, "time flys when we are havin' fun!"

* most larger barra that are landed come to the boat absolutely exhausted and spent, all energy expired during the fight. Bigger lake barra are often unfit and overweight and therefore stress more during and after capture. They lack the fitness of saltwater barra. Again, time out of water is extremely critical. You don't see overweight and unfit people playing too much footy.

* landing nets are essential for less experienced fishers, and even the inproper use of boaga grips can lead to an almost certain death of any barra, especially larger ones. Boaga grips with scales allow the easy and quick option to weigh a catch which can often lead to permanent damage to a barra's neck if sneakily weighed without the use of a net or sling. We can't deny that people don't do this! I've seen it. Boaga grips allow too much control over a fish from the front end by using the tool as a handle. The front end is the delicate and fragile end.

Support needs to be emphasised and addressed to the mid section of a barra to support it's body weight, and to distribute it over a larger surface area as possible, ie by also using the forearm and hand to support the large 15-20 kg plus fish, and the boaga grip unfortunately reverses this theory by offering too much control over the barra's front end/head/mouth etc, with a large portion of the fishes bulk hanging from this point. Photos in magz will back up my point! An instant head shake from a large fish in this instance, can do MAJOR unseen damage.......possible death 2 days later etc!!
    (Hand and fingers is prefered because of its suppleness and flexible range of joint movement that can soften any kick from a discomforted barra.) A hardened rigid tool like a boaga will do more damage to a barra's mouth/jaw/neck than a thumb and fingers will do. Our hands, finger joints, wrist joints, elbows, shoulders etc all absorb some of the kick. Imagine boagas in your own mouth while you chuck a little wobblie, whilst someone else holds the tool. Ouch! Great tools if used correctly, terrible tools if used as they unfortunately, commonly are.

*At the end of the day, a memorable catch is recorded mentally, firmly embedded in one's mind. Regardless of what length or weight a fish is, the capture and excitement is usually never forgotten. 90 cm ,101 cm, 108 cm, etc is really the last important detail that is required. The weight, well, forget its weight, it is really not as important as the enjoyment of the capture, the challenge, the outing and the environment in which we came to enjoy. The less we have to do to a barra when in our possession, the more chance it has of survival.

*Large barra don't bounce too well, and if you have to, sit on the floor and plonk the fish on your lap for a photo if required. Big barra kick unexpectedly, and can kick free from ones hands, or can kick from seats to deck or can fall to lower points on a boat and also cause irreversible damage. Barra are big, and will only get bigger in years to come. Learn how to handle fish for future success in releasing fish in mint condition.

I too have seen way too many large barra dead on the surface on Awoonga in recent times since trolling has become a favoured option for all new, and also experienced fisher folk. The ease of landing a large fish by using this method has given inexperienced fishers and inexperienced fish handlers the chance to catch and to handle a big barra. Quite simply, there are masses of first time fisherman who manage to catch a huge barra. Lacking is the background knowledge of "HOW TO" and we can only hope that through proper education via topics such as this one, that certain messages can get across to the general public and to all and everyone that fishes our impoundments.

Open/deep water trolling has been happening for many years, and it is only recently that it has become ever so popular, and with this, the disturbing number or large dead fish on the lake's surface. As a recreational fisher catching barra on Awoonga for 7 or more yrs, i have only ever had one fish 'lose the plot' and later die. (this was a fish that snagged itself and the lure on a tree and was recovered 20 mins later).

Fish handling is the major governing factor in fish survival.
    Following certain key points will maximise a fish's chances of survival.
    If a fish seems unfit to release, or it dies in your possession, proper utilisation of that resource is the greatest option. There is always someone willing to take the fish for consumption.
    Mega man hours and dollars are spent to create such magnificent fisheries. A 20 kg barra may well be 7 yrs old, and deserves the proper handling to ensure that its longevity, and the fisheries, is sustained. A strong possibility exists that that 20 kg barra you caught may well have been captured 3 or 4 times at much smaller sizes and released by others. Released in top condition, it will bring the smile to another fisherman in the future.
    Johnny M
    Lake Awoonga
    Attached photo- Supporting as much body weight of a barra over as large a surface area as possible is a sure step towards the survival of released fish. Time out of water is critical. 2 minutes is a long time.

Re: HANDLING BARRA FOR RELEASE, LARGE, or small!

Mate Great writing should be required reading for all going to the dams.
    I too have seen a couple of metre plus fish floating on top after others had released them, and was unable to revive them. Very good point about where the experience really is- photos are great, but water shots should be be made fashionable. If you have the fish under control at the boat, that counts as a capture!! You dont have to hoist it into the boat, or weigh it, approx length will do. (unless you want to keep it)
    Rob.

wouldnt it be better to congratulate the fisherman on his skill or luck ..rather than critisize the way the fish/comment is presented in this Forum.

we have all been guilty of transgressions...and i for one believe that a seperate Forum for education would be a great help...rather than seperated incidents of others enforcing their ideals in various threads.

i notice with some interest on a post ...How To Handle and release Barra

this was more the way i intended my post to go...with educational aspects...not so much emphasis on the critism.....and i appluade A_diff_perspective on his post

DNO40

Johnny,

Excellent.

A must read article for all [s]fishermen[/s] fisherpeople.

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Great information, Thanks for taking the time to educate to novices. But I think that some of the more experienced are guilty of not taking proper care.
    A GREAT READ FOR ALL ANGLERS
    Mylestom
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

one more point that i feel requires attention.....LINE CLASS!!

*the longer a barra is on a line, the more exhausted he/she becomes and the more chance that stress will have its effect. Properly fished drags with 30 lb line, and 50 lb will see fish beaten quickly, hooks removed, etc and released much quicker than lighter lines, and with a great chance of survival. I have been pointed out that some light line classes(4kg) etc have been used recently in Awoonga, in search of records. Records for any line class this year will be broken next year, and the following year. The fishery is not yet saturated in growth potential as compared to the salt environments, so one will be always in search of a new record,,,,annually! Is there really a point in trying for a record at the expense of a 6,7, 8, or 9 yr old fish every year when they can easily be caught in open and snagless water. It is not that challenging.
    I imagine that by using a light line class to fight and exhaust a large barra would have a massive impact on that fish's chance of survival. I was also told that a few larger dead barra found floating coincided with this period of light line usage. Coincidence??,,or totally unrelated. Food for thought!
    Johnny M

I agree with you John. With light lines in open water, the angler basically worries the fish to death while in snaggy territory the fish is often left with a lure and a length of leader to impeed it's feeding and potentially kill it if it can't get rid of it. Let's have a bit of respect for the fish and those who have worked so hard to get them there.
    Ray

ummmmmm,,,i just relpied to my own post so it came back to the top of the page hoping that a few more people may read it, and learn something from it. I hope it is not a rude thing to do.
    johnny M

Well I reckon it deserves a sticky, at least for a while.
    [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

A lot of old timers seem to forget that proper fishing ettiquette and fish care , as with fishing skills are not usually inate.
    I know I have in the past (regrettably) killed a fish trying to remove a hook when I had fully intended to release the thing . In those days I didn't know that is was better to leave the hook in place if it was too far down.

Good onya Johnny. There are a lot of new chums that read this site, so a few more "back to basics" posts are well in order.

Owen
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Good topic Johnny.... Just bumping it up front again just in case it got missed by some fishos.... There is still a lot of seasoned impoundment fishos you could learn from this post. Meet a lot of people with good intentions for the care of Barra..... but are still doing things like plonking fish on hot surface in boats like seats etc..... Aluminium seats can get up over 60*C in the summer and the carpet can also get very hot . Touch the seat with a bit of sweat on the back of ya hand and see how long you can hold it there.... Imagine how the fish feels ? And i still get off side plenty while chipping fishos for lifting Barra up by the gob without suporting the rest of the fish.... Other thing that i have learnt recently is that taking photos of Barra at night " Flash etc "could be harmfull to the fish and it can contribute to the mortality rate. Now..... i still take the odd photo of Barra.... night or day! But keep it to the minimum and they go back in the drink ASAP and a big % get released while still in the water.

Cheers Les

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."

great post...and deserves to be back on top of the list....i read it with interest again

thi s is an old post! good one though.

along these lines, i saw a device for releasing fish back into the deep on this site a while back.
    kind of a weighted, barbless hook that the fish could shake off once it got to the bottom, or maybe the angler gave a tug on the line. there wasa a link to a video of it in use.
    anybody know of such a thing, or was i dreaming about it?
    standing on a bridge
    watching water rushing under-
    neath it must have been much harder
    when there was no bridge just water

Good on ya JM stick at it mate, I love this topic and I feel very strong toward the safe handling and release of the wonderful fish.... Top stuff

The weighted release thingmejig is used a lot for large pelagics like kingies, samson and AJ's, particularly when pulled from deeper water.
    Dont know about using it on pond barra, as most come from less than 20 foot of water (most not all).
    Interesting thought though.

Well done on going back to research an older thread Sparky, it's a goody. I forgot all about it mate.

Nath i like that Matt mate, saw one sorta like that landing a 17foot great white for tagging the other day...

Cheers Lyndon.