Thread: Dams Near Gatton

Dams Near Gatton

Young fellas moved to Hattonvale, tells me it's a few minutes outa Gatton in Qld.
    We're goin up there for a week at Xmas and was trying to decide whether to tow the boat the 6 hours or not bother.

Someone told me it wasn't far to Somerset or Wivenhoe from there. Can anyone give me a travelling time?
    Am i better of looking at Somerset or Wivenhoe?

Also need to know what permits/licenses i need besides my NSW fishing licence and where do i get em.
    Afew tips on where to start looking for fish in the dam and how to target the fish that're there?
    Believe the main target are Bass?
    What else would i expect to catch?
    What are the Bass hitting at this time of year? Softies. spinnerbaits or hardbodys?
    Surface lures worth a shot? (love my surface fishing)

Any other thoughts are welcome too.
    Thanks people

Re: Dams Near Gatton

Hey, I go to uni at Gatton, and can tell u that wivenhoe is around 45min drive, but u can only use electric motors. Summerset is around an hour or so, and can use any engine. You will need a stocked impoundment permit, cost $7 for the week, can get from fishing and camping store in gatton. as to the rest of ur query, have a look at the freshwater section.

BTW, around chrissy will be chockers up there

Somersets the go Punkin. Unless you have a leccy for the Webster. Somerset is pretty much like Glenbawn only the bass are smaller.

caught-ya

Gdday Punkin,
    As the above guys said,
    You wont find much around gatton.

You the Punkin from that NSW site I used to frequent?

Quote Originally Posted by caught-ya
    Gdday Punkin,
    As the above guys said,
    You wont find much around gatton.

You the Punkin from that NSW site I used to frequent?
    sorry to confuse ya there punkin but that was me putting up a post when my young fella is logged on

Gotta stop doin that, Ill have 2 computers again soon anyway.
    The Rainbowrunner
    Peter Hansler
    phansler@hotmail.com
    Click here for my webpage
    Click here for my videos

Give a man a fish, he'll eat it and fall asleep.

Teach a man to fish and he'll endanger an entire species

Yeah, that's me R/R.

Gotta bowmount on the Webster, but can't see meself takin the petrol motor off. That's not required, is it?

Thanks gunna...Smaller but more plentiful?

Is that the dam that has a good result on surface lures?

Hey There Punkin

From Hattonvale
    Somerset - 1 hours drive, best chance of hooking trophy bass
    Wivenhoe - 45 mins - electric only but can leave motor on - lots of forkies in summer, entertain you for hours - good chance of catching trophy bass
    Cressbrook - 1 hours drive - Mixed Bass/Yellow good chance of surface bass but will need to camp overnite. Gates close at sunset.
    Moogerah - 1 hours 15-20 mins - Low water level for sometime but slowly recovering not really an option for surface bass
    Maroon - 1 hour 20-30 mins - best chance of surface bass but lots of small bass. Not a big dam but good dam for lure fishing - all types. Dark Moon 31st Dec should be OK for night surface fishing as well.

Good Luck any more questions just let us know
    Budgebass

You're a champion Budge

Just what i needed to know.
    Just gotta figure out the best way to get to Somerset and where to launch etc. Then where to fish

Travelmate shows me heading back down the highway then chucking a left and heading north on another h'way. Looks like it'd be heaps quicker if i could just cut thru the back. Is that possible?

Checked a couplea somerset posts out here y'day and looks like there's a couplea places to launch. Not sure at this stage whether we'd do an o'nighter..probly not though?

Hey There Punkin

Back again. Depends on where at Hatton Vale u r.

Option 1 Head to Fernvale via Tarampa and Lowood. Then turn left at Fernvale head to Wivnehoe and take Split Yard Creek Road to Somerset.
    If you drive over the Wivenhoe Dam Wall u have gone too far.

Option 2 Head to Coominya, then to Esk, go thru Esk and turn right to follow the signs to Somerset.

Best tip for Somerset make sure your sounder is working. This will help you locate the river bed. The river bed runs pretty much up the middle of the dam and then u can pretty much fish the edges of the submerged river banks all the way up the dam.

There are a couple of open bays that are working well at this time.

The best point to put in is the Spit, but you have to dodge the water skiers. Kirkleigh is at the back of the dam and is probably the better camping ground but water levels are very low at the back.

Budgebass

Thanks Budge, youngfella said i can get thru the back way to Fernvale, so i guess i'd go that way.
    Sounders a Raytheon bluewater unit so shouldn't have too much trouble following the riverbed

What do the forkies (catfish?) take in the way of lures?

Probly won't be camping, but may make a sparrows fart start at some stage to try the paddlers, Is the Spit open all hours for launching?

Gidday Punkin

Just a couple of things the forkies are in Wivenhoe only and they eat anything. I have a gold rattlin spot which is now silver.

Any deep diver will be OK.

And at Somerset the gates only open at 6.00 am, the Ranger will be there to help with the Permits.
    $7 for the weekly Freshwater permit and $15 for a weekly boating permit (this one is only for Somerset and Wivenhoe)

Budgebass

Thanks Budge, got my fishing permit on-line on the w'end...didn't know about the bloody boating permit too!
    Leaving thursday so should get out there after the fat fellas been...

Thanks for the help