Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to catch Dredded Carp

How to catch Dredded Carp

After tips on how to catch the dredded carp, Heading to Tenterfield for easter, Have caught them
    before on worms and yabbies is there a more productive method?

This is for the kids while I'm chasing Murry Cod and Yellow Belly.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Stephen

Re: How to catch Dredded Carp

Mate you hit the nail on the head, WORMS. I find garden worms are by farm the best choice, other then that you could try bread .

Teeka

when fishing on holidays in Jerrildrie, we found (by accident) that batter was the go. the kind that fish and chip shops use. dunno why. but our results were excellent

I use to target these critters down in Victoria. Found the best bait was dough made at home with flour and water and alternatively corn kernels.

Fraz

Agree with frazzel burley up with corn kernels and thread same onto the hook and away you go! Good for the kids as it stays on the hook a bit better than dough.

Cheers and Beers

"Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

at less than a buck a can,,,,,,and a squillion baits,,,,corn kernels here also,,,,,,i can recall whilst on hols in shepparton vic as a kid,,, we noticed that after flicking a smoke butt in the water that the carp would rise and mouth it then spit it out,,,,,we tried this on the end of a hook on many occasion and caught heaps,,,,dont recommend it though for the young folk,,,,surgeon general wasnt even born then when i done it
    can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

at less than a buck a can,,,,,,and a squillion baits,,,,corn kernels here also,,,,,,i can recall whilst on hols in shepparton vic as a kid,,, we noticed that after flicking a smoke butt in the water that the carp would rise and mouth it then spit it out,,,,,we tried this on the end of a hook on many occasion and caught heaps,,,,dont recommend it though for the young folk,,,,surgeon general wasnt even born then when i done it
    can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

I live in south brisbane and used to head out to the albert river chasing them...I dont know what sort of tree it is, but there is a certain tree that lines some sections of the bank on the albert and it has a purple berry that grows on it.

We found these were excellent baits, as the carp were always under these trees just waiting for one to drop. squash a treble into it and you are ready to go.

they worked that well we even tied flies to match these berries and had a ball on the good ol' 6 weight. but we did find they didnt work while the berries were still green (not ripe). had to find the purple ones. These berries were about half the size of a golfball.

Just past Beadesert we were fishing in only 2 foot of water in a small river. About dusk we could hear a very strange sound which turned out to be the carp using their lips to dig into the far river bank(Only 12 or so feet across from me.

The carp were trying to dislodge insects etc. Using a big worm and no weights we cast onto the bank and let the worm fall into the water. BANG!

Between us we filled two eskies with carp all over 5 kilos. I don't lke the bones in them but for my fishing mate they kept his family fed for months...

Phil

I reckon the esky would have tasted better mate

Cheers and Beers

"Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

Ive found that bread in the lard off the BBQ works a treat. We've always thrown them into gardens and stuff never considered eating them. What are they like to eat, I would imagine like chewing on an thong that has been worn on numerous trips through the mangroves.

Nick

I have no info on carp, if you asked me a question about them i couldnt answer it, so i dont know them at all, period. But i have seen pic's of them in some fishing magazines and they can get up to a reasonable size cant they? Any good on the plate?

TinarooTriumph s
    TT

scotty

mate they are illegle t5o put on the [plate

ILLEGAL! really? Whys that mate? told you i dont know s*** about em' haha
    TT

can i have some chilli sauce with that esky? lol