Thread: Split shot with lures?

Split shot with lures?

G'day everyone.

Weather looks shocking outside, and it doesnt look much better for the weekend, so it looks like a 'test' weekend, where i take heaps of my gear, travel down to the local waterwhole and test some of new gear out. Great way of improving casting, techniques and retrievals.

Just got one question today to ask : Spit Shot sinkers with luring. Has any1 tried it with much success?. I personally have never tried it anywhere in my life, and i just brought a pack the other day. Seahorse Split Shot in 0 Size just incase you need the details. I will be using them to further my casting whilst luring, but by the look of these buggers they will just fly off during airtime!. Is their anyway i can secure these things to my line/leader? I think thats about it fella's, a reply in the near future would help as i am going early 2moro morning (while im testing, i may aswell try for a few sooties).

Cheers Fellas. Have a great mothers day weekend. Catch plenty, but only take what you need, not want.

TinarooTriumph
    TT

Re: Split shot with lures?

I am not sure exactly what you are asking but to put split shot on a line is easy. Position the split shot and squeeze it on using a pair of pliers. It will never fall off

Phil
    Is this what you are asking?

Use splitshot all the time to add a bit of extra weight, position it along the line at various distances to change depth and action of the lure, dont need much though!

Cheers Wrip and Feral! Thats exactly what im after! I never knew/heard you crimped them with pliers back to the bottom of the class . Bloody fool i am.

This afternoon i grabbed a peice of line, sat at the table and put 1 or 2 on the line and they fell off, and i thought to myself how the bloody hell do these bastards stay on haha now i know.

Looks like i will be playing around with them all day 2moro id say.

Cheers fella's. Thanks a million

TinarooTriumph
    TT

Ah. now I know what you are asking just be a bit careful. Use enough pressure to just crimp them onto the line. If you squeeze too hard the line will lose its strength.

Years ago pliers were considered too high tech and we used our teeth (In my case, these days, gums). Use the really small ones in preference to the large ones to spread out the weight and don't even think about trying to get them off again because you will ruin the line.

Split shot and floats go together and should be set so that the slightest pull by a fish will sink the float.

Geeze! now I feel like going fishing again and I have uni exams today.

Oh well

Phil

Another product you can try is "Sticky Weight" you can break small portions off and stick it under the bibs of lures for neutral boyancy or extra casting weight etc.

Cheers fella's. Went out this morning for awile, gee it was cold. Really really cold. But tested a number of new lures out and worked in a few new reels of my mates. I am rather happy i purchased them, they impressed me this morning. Its abit embarrassing actually, 4 years of relatively keen and smart fishing without even touching a split sinker until the other day . But they worked well. Improvement in casting, deeper running depths (if you want them), and they just worked well i thought.

Cheers again

TinarooTriumph
    TT

Cold? THAT's not cold. I am from England - I used to cut holes in the ice to fish through. It was so cold I used to have to snap off my pee.

It was so cold I was unable to shout at my fishing mate because the words would freeze and belt him round the ears.

The fish used to come out snap frozen.

Phil
    Ah! now I remember why I live here!!!

The_Walrus

I often use flies as lures and to increase the casting weight, add a split shot 20 to 30 centimetres in front of the fly. You can do the same with plastics when you don't want to use a jig head.

On some of my smaller surface lures, I remove the front hook and crimp a small split shot on the wire loop to maitain the balance of the lure.

Quote Originally Posted by TinarooTriumph
    Cheers fella's. Went out this morning for awile, gee it was cold. Really really cold. But tested a number of new lures out and worked in a few new reels of my mates. I am rather happy i purchased them, they impressed me this morning. Its abit embarrassing actually, 4 years of relatively keen and smart fishing without even touching a split sinker until the other day . But they worked well. Improvement in casting, deeper running depths (if you want them), and they just worked well i thought.

Cheers again

TinarooTriumph
    Mate this morning (Saturday), 6am at the Lake it was in order of about 6/7 Degrees. At 8am it was 5 degrees. FREEZING. The wind was hammering the place. I didnt even expect it to under 10...

And i said before in a previous post on a diff topic, in 1988 they had Minus 16 where i am sitting right now. -16 on the ground, in the shade, and up a post. -16 all round. Everything was dead. Last years worst was -5. And we camped out that night. I swear my a$$ is black i really do, cos i practically spend the whole night sitting ontop of the fire.

TinarooTriumph

TT