Awwonga hire boats

Thread: Awwonga hire boats

Awwonga hire boats

Does anyone know how big the hire boats at Awoonga are? and what size engines? We're going up there in Oct, the old man has booked the boats but hasnt asked about the size of the hull and the motor. I'd imagine the standard 12ft/6hp but if anyone knows let me know..

Re: Awwonga hire boats

Yeah they are about 12 footers.
    Last time I was out there they had 5 or 6hp yammies on them.

Owen
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

What do they cost per day?

hey i went up there is january this year and we hired a 4.37 meter boat with a 55hp on the back and with a 6hp yamaha beside the 55hp for trolling i tell ya it would take at leaset a couple of hours to get anywhere in that dam with just a 6hp

ive seen the hire boats there they are 3.1 meter tinnies with 6hp yamaha's on the back

we hired the boat of a guy that owns the houseboat on the lake it costed us $400 for 3.5 dayes of fishing

hope that helps you a bit mate

Thanks Fellas,

particularly the tip from Bronson... cheers.. I think I'll try contact the houseboat guy and ask about his boat. Small tinny, small motor, carrying big blokes on a big dam isnt exactly ideal. Wishing now that I never sold my last boat. Was a 4.6 Quinny topender with a 50hp tiller steer honda. Would have been spot on for this trip... anyway... small boats better than no boat..

ShnogDog

ouch. walk the banks or get friendly with other campers.

Ausfish Platinum Member Awoonga's Avatar

Re: Awoonga hire boats

Walking the banks. Not really a option at Awoonga The small hire boats are ok for trolling but not much else...Not cheap....either....
    Kids need models, more than they need critics."
    "In youth we learn; in age we understand."
    "I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand

We know better don't we Awoonga!, you reckon you often see me walking the banks, and, I and many others do on regular basis. plenty of areas to walk the banks that are allowed by the GAWB and many a good barra have even been taken right off the boat ramp it self and adjacent gullys.

John,
    You know as well as I do that a massive portion of the land that surrounds Lake Awoonga is owned by the Gladstone Area Water Board, and leased back to graziers for stock use. Access is limited to a very minute portion of this GAWB land which corresponds to the main recreation areas. Gazzetted roads pass into Awoonga since water levels have risen, yet it is illegal, and frowned upon to walk anywhere else (apart from the Castletower NP region, and on these roads.) The free-range walking on any portion that you feel like fishing from, or the directing of others to do the same is not correct. It is illegal, and GAWB are highly offended by these practises. No one is allowed out of their boats on Awoonga onto these restricted zones, so walking the banks is a very restricted option to only select areas of the lake. You are fully aware of this. Tresspassing is a serious act.
    Johnny

Ausfish Platinum Member Awoonga's Avatar

John, l dont think that l have seen you fishing from the bank .... ever...... more like...... up too your waist in weed .....
    Kids need models, more than they need critics."
    "In youth we learn; in age we understand."
    "I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand

Johnny M,
    Read my post again, then point out where I tell or direct people to free-range walk on leasehold or restricted land that fringes Lake Awoonga.???
    As you know, I'm in a good position to know what the GAWB permits and dosn't permit.
    Anglers have a large stretch of bank containing gullies or inlets along the main Benaraby recreation area, from Riverston bay to just past Catfish bay which is approx 3km of fishable bankside.
    This is also duplicated at the Boynedale Bush Camp area although you will need to wade out into the water along these banks to avoid the weed.

People are not permited to get out of their boats in any other locations other than the Castletower NP or for safety reasons.
    Don't know where your comming from johnny!
    John.

Hi Awoonga,
    I'm told that weed bathing is good for your skin, not bad for barra angling either.
    Also works a treat at Lake Callide if you can find a spot that isn't already shoulder to shoulder.
    John.

Responded to barradise via Private Message.

To everyone else,
    Fishing is only allowed from the bank at Lake Awoonga in unrestricted zones. Check with the GAWB before you begin.
    Johnny M

LOL... I dont intend on walking the banks, but at least now I know..just in case..

mark

No worries Mark, have a great time at Awoonga and I hope you hook into that fish of a life time.
    Don't forget the camera and plently of replacement lures, rings and trebles.
    John.