Thread: bass----do they all migrate in winter?

Re: bass----do they all migrate in winter?

elleburra,got a mate who lives about a km upstream and in the last decent flood strung a net up against his fence and caught sh** loads of all different fish,his house misses the water but 20m away he gets the backwater which may change 2m in 1/2 hr.the're only doing c&r just to see what would come up.
    We're not in as steep as country as you are though,

akman, our house is up a steep rise about 100m above the river but down in front is a gully that banks back up for about 100 metres during a good flood. On a good flood it is probably about 15metres wide by about 3 metres deep in the centre.
    I've been tempted to throw a net across just to see what's there but have not because a fair bit of dead grass and other rubbish runs in and out of the gully plus I am a bit wary of harming anything caught in the net.

There is another spot closer to the river where the river backfills into a big gravelly hollow, I'm thinking of cleaning the undergrowth and rubbish out of this hollow and wait for a good flood and toss a few lures around there.
    The old locals around here often fish these backwater areas during floods. Another trick they use is to hang a dead chook over a likely spot, when the chook is really off and the maggots start falling into the river then the locals have a ball. Another of their tricks is a live frog tied to a hook, can't say I like that one as the fish tend to get gut hooked and I must say I do like frogs.

gday all
    its been a while since i was on here since i have moved to sydney n all.
    i used to live on the orara river before i moved to sydney. when i lived there i fished the river during winter and it would be crystal clear through winter with upto 4 meters visibility...that was the deepest hole i fished... i could see the bottom. and i never saw a single bass in the river big or small in 4 years, until late august or early september. i was around coutts crossing. although i did see a few Eastern Cod and catfish. when the mullet and herring started to move back upstream is when id start seeing/catching the bass.
    phil.