braid for barra - Page 2

Thread: braid for barra

Re: braid for barra

i use spider wire 20lb and have caught dozens of jacks and murray cod etc. and the line is 12 years old i have reversed it once on the reel and it is still going strong. different types and brands of braid respond totally different to knot strength 'BE WARNED' bimini twists over 12 turns in fused gsp weakens the line,but plaited line is different.uni to uni knots are stronger than bimini twists and doubles in most situations. try it for yourself and be satisfied

I have had good success with tuf line xp in both 30lb and 50lb

Obi___Wan

G'Day Matt & Les,

Being one of the people that recommended the use Of Fins braid and seeing your reports on failures with the Fins braid i decided to do a little research on the topic as i have had no dramas as far as knot strength, abrasion and user friendlyness.

I have been informed that in the past that one particular person had a few concerns so the tackle store sent the braid for tests, the results proved the braid to be OK. However it is understood that there was indeed a bad batch of Fins out there at one time. If you are one of the people who unfortunately received some of this i suggest you take it back to where you purchased it. >

I have also been informed that they have had problems with mono line at times breaking well below that which it should, so the problem is not just with braid and it seems that it is possible the get a lemon some times.

When people ask for advice you can only recommend that which you have had outstanding sucess with and of course you do this in good faith.

I guess this proves that Q.A. does not work all the time. >

At the end of the day you should use what you are comfortable with, not that which others use if you are not happy with their suggestions.

May The Fish Be With You.
    John.

Hey john,

yea i gues thats what it must have come down to. i trust mine. i my Fins is rated to 20lb and i have put it under alot more than that. It really just comes down to testing out the line before you use it for just the bit of reasurance when buy new braid/mono, and if it doesnt take it back. i sure it hasnt only jsut happened with Fins, but also other brands at some time.

You should jsut go for what your comformable with as you said.

matt.

Obi___Wan

G'Day Matt,

Yeah mate thats it, as i said i have had no trouble with the Fins and for me its been very good, i use 50lb with 80lb leaders for the barra and believe me its copped a bloody hiding. As you say it must happen with others brands, i believe it has, for an example i had a bad bit of fire line (8lb), i don't think it had been fused properly, it frayed up very badly and at times just snapped under a very light load. That has now been replaced with a different lot of fireline and to date no worries.
    With braid my choice is Fireline up to 20lb and Fins 20lb and up.

John.