Thread: Best SP's for Trout....Shads or Curly tails?

Best SP's for Trout....Shads or Curly tails?

Hey all - had a ripper session on the Redfin over the weekend using a Curly tail grub, but then saw two huge Brown Trout cruising the same area, obviously not at all interested in the same lure Have yet to specifically chase Trout with soft plastics, so this has left me wondering whether to stick with the Grubs, or maybe try shads/fish for future Trout fishing trips. Any ideas?

Re: Best SP's for Trout....Shads or Curly tails?

I've been using shrimp, yabbies(tsunamis) and smaller shad plastics and have had reasonable success with them although i'm just starting with them as well, tried the grubs no good. Just be patient and change yr speeds and retrieve patterns, A slow jerky retrieve seems to be the go in my area but we have a high populations of shrimp and yabbies so i spose it match the hatch to get the right retrieve

salmo_man

never tried sp on the trout at eucumbene where i fish but i use whatever lure or fly looks closest to what there eating. i always take a trip to the dunny on the first night before fishing i get two things done there .one of them is looking at the fluro lights to see what the food source is then find what looks like it best. to get those fussy browns.cheers john,o

Obi___Wan

Tim_oz_WA,

Mate, years ago i had a lot of sucess catching large browns between Oberon and Bathurst on wonder wobblers in the redfin colours, (yellow and red and brown). This lure obviously mimics a small fish. My cousin has told me that someone tried soft plastics at his place and the rainbows went ballistic. I can't remember which plastic he said was used, if i can find out i will let you know.

If i were in a trout fishing climate these days i would give the Berkley 3" Power Minnow in Pearl Watermelon a work out, i have a feeling that they would work very well. They certainly work very well on a large range of species in the salt water.

May The Fish Be With You.

John.

Obi___Wan

Tim_oz_WA,

Another idea, i saw a DVD, one put out by Berkley, Featuring Mad Dog that may be worth a look. I seem to remember there was a segment in it on trout.

Good luck and let us know how you go.

May The Fish Be With You.

John.