Thread: Wet day what to do?

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Wet day what to do?

Well down here in the Mid North Coast NSW we have a really wet day.

What to do.

1. Check out Ausfish.
    2. Service fishing gear.
    3. Sort out lures.
    4. Work out how you can justify more fishing gear and more lures.
    5. Check out Ausfish.
    6. What the heck who needs a reason, if they can buy shoes and dresses at a whim, then guess a guy just has to have more fishing gear.
    7. Ran out of shed space, so had to have a new one built to contain the gear.
    8. Now have to fill it up as well.
    9. Check out Ausfish.
    10. Off to the tackle shop for a browse.

Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

Re: Wet day what to do?

What a mongerel day,

I think its my fault that it's raining so hard as I took delivery of my new bike yesterday......................bl@@dy typical, spent all yesterday arvo running around gathering paperwork, so haven't even got out of the 60 zone yet.

Rite, just what I needed.
    Someone else to blame.

Around here its always my fault, as there is only my wife and myself.

Got no one else to blame.

Thanks for taking the heat.

Trev

The_Walrus

Come to queensland and have a holiday at Somerset Dam, we need the rain

hey i live on the south coast of nsw i havnt seen any one but you and a couple of people on this website lol all qld ppl hows fishing up there?

f1sh_boy

No worries Trev, I dont have the wife problem.

We have had heaps of wind & bad sea, but no real rain, until today, & it has come down in buckets, I would gladly send it on, forcast says we get 2 more days yet.

Fish_boy, I live in Ballina, far north coast. I reckon we have the best of both worlds up here, great weather most of the time ( I like to tell ppl that GOD himself holidays here), but we're not in Qld.

Fishing was great last week.
    Flathead to 95cm (Released)
    Tailor to 5lb
    Long toms to 97cm (Released)
    Bream and Luderick.

But the rain over the last couple of days is over 4ins.

Coming off the land and putting up with 11 out of 13 years drought, it is all meant as tongue in cheek.

Just talking to my daughter up in Brisbane and they have had a couple of inches. Also brother in Ipswich says that they have had nearly two inches.

Hope it starts to fall in the catchment area.

They are predicting down here that it will get out west.

Hope all the people who need the rain get all they want.

Leave a little over for the some of the catchments.

Been watching the radar all day and the rain band over the top of NSW was very consistent.

Still pissing down here at the moment.

One of the TV (Nuala on 7) says that Crystal creek was peaking and Bellinger was flooding.

Well Crystal creek is a long way from the Bellinger.
    Can see the Bellinger out the lounge room window and no sign yet of flooding.

Trev

Whats a "wet day"?
    hold on grandad says he remembers what they are .........

Guess what another wet day.

Yep thats rite i am a granddad so can remember quite a few.
    Will give me something to talk about to the young whipper snappers (grandkids) in the future.

More gear maintenance.

Might just get the gear ready for the trip to Monduran the first two weeks of October.

Have packed and repacked the lures.

1. Hard body 1m,3m,5m and 8m,
    2. Soft Plastics
    3. Poppers.
    Oh that just the barra lures.

Bass
    1. Fizzers and surface lures.
    2. Hard body
    3. Jackall
    4. Soft Plastics.

Now will have to look a the rods and reels. Boy the things you have to do when planning a trip.
    Guess a wet day aren't so bad

Trev

S.S.

Trev, you can come up to Brissy and do my washing, ironing, dusting, cleaning, vaccuming, mopping the floors, cleaning the bathrooms and toilets, detail the inside of my car, shovel some cow poo for me (in between the breaks in the rain... you'll have time ), write a couple of articles, make sure my other half is fed, do my grocery shopping, hose the verandah off (it's okay, it's tank water), wash my windows (it's okay, they're under cover and you won't get wet), and perhaps do my Monday to Friday job on top of it...... oh god... the fishing gear!! I really need someone to sort out my lures, oh, possibly change some of the trebles on my Classics i'm taking to the territory next month and my Feugos need to be re-spooled AND put the final touches on my powerpoint presentation for the Brissy Boat Show this weekend.

Just to be kind because I know you blokes have a limited pain barrier, I'll still get my waxing done myself

Thanks for the offer LeeannP but as an ex farmer have had enough of shovelling cow poo.

The rest of the job description doesn't impress me to much either.

Think I will stick to boss that I have and stay in retirement and enjoy the fishing, Fishing and just for a change some more Fishing.
    Just changed some of the lures to Owners and only another thirty to go. Boy what a chore, but I guess someone has to do it.
    Rather be fishing though.

Will be quite happy for the rain to stop here and let it go to someone who really needs it.
    The flooding in the Bellinger is now expected to peak at 4.3 m about 6 to 9pm tonight.
    Where we are is above all reported flood heights so we just observe out the lounge room window.

Trev

Just found both carbs on the new toy are shot, so it can rain all it wants.
    Bugger.

Guess the bike will be in the shed till the carbs are fixed.

Even to wet to go fishing here.

Has not really let up all night.

Radar shows about the only rain must be here.

Another day in the shed working/plotting the fishing gear.

Trev

mitch_05

what to do on a wet day:

1. go fishing

2. go fishing

3. go on ausfish

4. go on ausfish

5. did i mention ausfish or fishing??

Yep dry day today, so went to the tackle shop.
    Bit much fresh in the river to fish after the minor flooding.

Guess its back to fishing when the river clears.

Trev