PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 What's your favourite lure for fresh?
I'm relatively new to this fresh water lark, and pretty much use 3 lures now on the troll when fishing Wivenhoe. A brown Manns deep diver, a Jackall TN60 and a killalure as seen in the attached pic. I had expected to see bass on both of the latter lures as they have got me solid bass in the past, and the Manns, well the catties seem to love it lol. It was a pleasant surprise to get a few nice yellas on them both as well. I've heard a few locals talking about spinner baits, but never had any luck with em, SO, cough it up! What's ya fav lure for bass and yellas?
Used to have great success using stumpjumpers in the chrome colours, gold and silver. Also liked the halco polterghiests 50mm in purple or ozfrog. We mainly fished rivers where water depth was rarely deeper than about 4M but also fished Wuruma Dam a bit and did well with them up there too.
Ah yes, the viper, almost forgot about that one. Every bit as good as the others I mentioned but gets a little more depth on the troll, came in handy quite a few times at Monduran. Also used that one in purple.
Gday Canoedle
Mate I think spinnerbaits work best casting but I have seen them with winged sinkers on them , I'm not sure if it was being trolled because i found it stuck to a stump up the bank about 20 feet.
It was a good find because a few weeks later I put in on for a cast around a rocky loggy area and nabbed a nice 27lb cod.
wamjam
Would have to say my favorites would be Jaysea patriot 80's, halco poltergiest 5m, barra classic and smiling jacks deep 15. Wish I could add soft plastics to the list but I truely suck with them. Have tried hard with jackalls and other bibless crankbaits but don't have the knack with them either...
I have had good sucess with imitaion lipless crankbaits, especially with the likes of reddies and yellows, so as I see it as long as you are using the right colour to suit the water you are fishing in you dont have to spend a fortune to catch fish?
I do not put down the benifits of Jackells and such lures, but they cost heaps and losing one is tradgic, so if a cheaper one works good!!
Myself i fing trolling Jackels the best ever for bass, as well as spinnerbaits mainly SMAK spinnerbaits with the smaller gum tree shaped blabe on the back, (think its called willow blade).
Then with yella's i think the brown mann's 15+ and the No. 3 Gold with red back stumpjumber the best by a long shot.