Important!!!!!,The furture plan for lenthalls dam - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Important!!!!!,The furture plan for lenthalls dam

Re: Important!!!!!,The furture plan for lenthalls

have fished lenthals quite often outa my kayak and love the place. would love to see it duel stocked both barra and bass. agree with the fellas above, would like higher percentage of bass stocked then barra but at the same time i wouldnt mind if they only stocked bass afterall monduran is only bit under 2 hrs drive if i wanna do some serious barra fishin heres hoping they make the right decision

Hi fisho's this is my first comment on fishing in Queensland, love the site I'm an ex Tassie Trout fisho and freshwater fishing Queensland style is very new to me.

I have read most comments on barra/bass in Lenthell's and agree that this lake has the potential for a great fishery, barra/bass for me.

Duel Fishery for me please!

Ah bugger 'em all, put saratoga only in.

Only kidding. I'm yet to see proof that bass & barra (along with almost every other native fish) dont co-exist in lakes.

Until that day,,, I'll support mixed fisheries. The alternative is single species only locations...... how HO HUM would that be??

Fitzy..
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

duel fisherie for me aswell,but agree with some that if it returns as a single fisherie then keep the bass,i like the lillees to t.p. cheers,gav.m.

hardb8

Hi bigdan,
    I have never fished Lake Lenthalls but it is my next destination.I have the choice of any impoundment in Queensland for my next journey,But I have chosen Lenthalls because of the legendary topwater Bassin on offer there.I have read and been told by friends of it time and again,And I can't wait to get there.Some may think my opinion dosen't matter as I'm not local or regular.But topside Bass fishing is what this lake is famous for.I reckon ya should stay true to ya roots.

From what I have learned it is a small lake with special surroundings.I am wondering if it could cope with the masses of poeple who travel to fish Barra?As it could soon be the Southern most big Barra lake,And the first stop for thousands of people from Victoria and New South Wales who will pressure this small waterway?Nothing against the Southerners the size of the Lake and it's future is my point.Will it be able to cope if an emphasis is placed on Barra?

I like whykickacat's idea with an emphasis on Bass with a smattering of Barra more like 80% Bass 20% Barra to keep ya on ya toes and the locals happy.

From the amount of cover I'm told is present,Sounds like some Jack would thrive there.A truly awsome sportfish that I would choose over both Bass and Barra hands down.

My dream impoundment.20% Barra,20% Bass,20% Jack,20% Toga,and 20% Cod,

Keep your lake that special place,And the legend that is Lake Lenthalls alive.Australian Bass!

Regards hardb8

Hi guys,
    I would just like to say that I attended the meeting last night. I will start by saying that the poor form exhibited by the executives of FCFSA was to say the least was an extreme case of power brokers at thier worst. Here is an extract of my views directly after the meeting last night from another site -

Well thanks to the power brokers* of FCFSA it was a waste of time.

It was absolutely the most disgusting effort Ive ever seen, called off for what ? unauthorised internet correspondence. Bloody joke that is, whats wrong with keeping interested persons informed.

Do those guys even fish Lenthalls ?

Perhaps they had better get of thier dots and get a constitution in place and learn that when you are dealing with public monies that you are accountable and will be made accountable at future meetings.

Simple solution is to get rid of those corrupt persons and thier mates.

For those that dont know the meeting was cancelled at the last minute unknown to the many people who were interested enough to attend. One executive stated that " due to unauthorised internet correspondence the meeting is cancelled "

Ive also heard that a high profile guest that was also in attendance at the meeting was absolutely disgusted by the actions of the FCFSA executives.

It seems that this thread and others like it on other sites are unwelcome by the current executives of FCFSA.

I have to ask, What is thier hidden agenda ?

Why do they wish to make decisions involving public monies that they hold power over without some form of consultation with the public fisher folk who ensure that money is available to them ?

Another matter was the lack of truthful & factual information that the FCFSA executives made available to thier members.

I will finish by saying that I am not a member of FCFSA and in my capacity as a guest last night was dumb founded at how they could possibly exist and function as a body appointed to the stocking of Lenthalls, let alone the correct & meaningful use of public monies.

James

Was wondering what the out come of the meeting was.

Thanks James for your view. Is there a member of the "FCFSA" here to give there view?

I thought this thread was started by one of them and was to be used at the meeting. Then it is canceled due to the internet exsposure. Seems like a funny reason.

FCFSA = Fraser Coast Fish Stocking Association.

Its a shame to see a few bad apples damaging an association that has the potential to be a great association with excellent outcomes for all fisher folk and in particular the welfare & longevity of Lenthalls as a Bass & Barra fishery.

It must be so frustrating for the majority of honest & hard working members to cope with such a sour bitter & deceitful group of executives who have little or no foresight. Most of the members in the FCFSA have visions of a very bright future for Lenthalls in my opinion and that is why I attended the meeting. I honestly believed that a non member who is an active recreational fisher at Lenthalls would have been welcomed with open arms at such a time.

This meeting isnt the first incidence of foul play from the FCFSA executives.

Silly of the FCFSA executives, they should have made it known that they wished to have a badly publisised meeting so that only a handful of people attended and they only had to take into account there own agenda. How dare fisherman, who only contribute money through SIP's and generate economy within the local area, presume to voice an opinion

Question: Whats this crap "unauthorised internet correspondence" ??

So they are saying that only those who are A. able to attend the meeting can have a veiw? B. That by using the internet to get opinions so that you make have a more accurate, informed and researched point of veiw that this is deemed as a bad thing by the FCFSA executives? Wake up fellas, the information era is here and people no longer have to swallow and believe the crap that used to get taken as gospel by those who should be looking after everyones intrest. >

How do these people get into these positions? If its through voting from within the member ranks I think that they better look over there shoulders as I think there are a number of younger fishos becoming interested enough in looking after their sport that things could change. So Dan, you obviously have way too much spare time on your hands, how about taking them on. Dan for PM, "Piscatorial Mate"
    Eat well, drink in moderation, exercise often and yet you still die anyway!

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Would like to know who is actually allowed to attend these meetings. Who is this executive and where do they think the funding comes from.
    All opinions should be welcome and all matters open for discussion. A consensus of opinion from all interested parties is what is required before any decision is reached.
    If they think that only people from committe are entitled to an opinion, then it probably about time that they had a look inwards and realise that they are there to represent the wider fishing community.
    That is those that actually pay for the Sip.
    This in no way degenerate the hard work that the stocking associations have put in over the years.
    However they must realise for funds to be generated for their individual impoundment that you need to keep the wider fishing community on side. Be at least seen to consult and consider the opinions of others.

Trevor
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

tonyp
    i am a member and big unit is not far off the mark
    what has happen will take some time to work out

Al
    Dan for PM?? don't think so

i will get back to the post subject soon when i find out more about the situation

Thanks Dan,

I will pay the $20 to become a member and have my say made usefull. I know from the small stocking group i am part of that people think the fish get in there from the fairies

But the people should be herd because if they don't tick Lenthalls on the SIPS form you will not have money for any fish and this thread would not be happening.

I agree with tony and would do the same. I'll vote 100 percent barra and use my proxy to get a commitee that's up to date with modern trends. Dams are no more than big buckets they can be manipulated to suit any need. Lot's of people think that a stocking of fish is forever but in real terms if they don't breedin freshwater aka bass/barra then they will die. If you see that a species is wrong you can always stop stocking. I would hope the umbrella group of FFSAQ is also up to speed with modern trends in the desire of fisho's wanting to catch barra close to brissy . It would be nice to see the dpi/fisheries also more proactive with their big buckets of water. Their neglect over the years has been nothing short of woefull. Where are the freshwater jack/trevally/mullet/tarpon /jungle perch............The technology is there but the governing bodies are ten years behind in their thinking......I've seen whiting,flathead and bream swiming alongside bass in an indoor privately owned grow out facility ten years ago......The precautionary principle used by the dpi to can these potential fisheries doesn't "hold water" in an oversize bucket aka dam where they won't breed anyway . Any diseases can be removed at the hatchery stage which also makes a mockery of the translocation argument

Just bringing this up again as I think Dan may have some info to share with us regarding FCFSA changes.

James