Metre Club- have you joined it yet. - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Metre Club- have you joined it yet.

Re: Metre Club- have you joined it yet.

woohoo got mine 1st attempt last night at awoonga!! Can i join?

Quote Originally Posted by TonyM
    Nahh Bob - there has to be at least one tree around the Dam

Just kidding You've caught enough metre + Barra to be on the executive of the Metre club I reckon

I haven't got my metre fish yet (my pb is only 93) although I didn't have an impoundment boat until recently so watch this space

Am off to Monduran in a few weeks and I know how to get em so mightn't be too long now
    You have to be joking, Tony....No metre barra yet????? But then whykickacatalong can't manage one, either......... [smiley=end.gif]

haha No Bob not yet mate

I imagine I'd have gotten one by now if I didn't find trolling so boring (I really do fall asleep trolling). When I get my big girl it will be in amongst the snags, and I'm sure there's a good chance I'll lose a few more big ones before I get there.

I believe Master once said: Sometimes the journey is more important than the destination Grashopper

Quote Originally Posted by BobbyJ123
    Any chance of being a member????
    114 cm
    no bob 110 cm club for you and me mate

Ausfish Platinum Member Awoonga's Avatar

Ok this is a Faust Barra.... 128 Those brag mats aren,t big enough
    Kids need models, more than they need critics."
    "In youth we learn; in age we understand."
    "I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand

Was almost there....got a 91 cm then 40 min later got another big one, got her in the boat and on top of the esky to measure. I was at the tail end and looking at 106cm.. then mate goes " slide 'er forward mabo"....damn 96cm. Funny thing was the 91 went way harder than the 96. Both caught and released in the Roper River, NT Gulf country, nice yellow fin salty fish.

mabo.

no but i plan to soon going up to awoonga in the first week of november

hopeing to join the club..................?

bronson

Just got back from Awoonga, our best was 108cm. We heard in the camp the next day that on the same night (sunday) a Barra was caught and released that topped 148cm !!! I didnt see it, or know who caught it, but that was the talk in the camp at Willowgrove. Have to say as a first timer to that place that there are certainly some BIG fish lurking in that dam and without a doubt, I'll be going back.

Quote Originally Posted by bigdan123
    [quote author=BobbyJ123 link=1159350965/0#12 date=1159934399]Any chance of being a member????
    114 cm
    no bob 110 cm club for you and me mate

Dan[/quote]

I'll bet that Al is a tad jealous....if he is game enough to see decent barra, hey?? [smiley=oops.gif]

Steve_B

Shooting deer in a zoo!! how many zoo's are the size of awoonga or monduran. Then put the deer under water and try to find them to shoot them.......well you get the idea!! if old mate thinks its that easy, try going up in winter and catching them. DEER me it's not that easy!!! (now that was bad!).

Here is a 118cm fish called rudolph.

I think a wild caught saltwater barra at 120cm is worth a freshwater at 130cm? should there be different classes, as I've caught saltwater at 120cm and freshwater to 118cm.

Croweater

Never caught a Barra let alone one a metre long!

Caught a KG Whiting 72CM long off Tumby Bay once

I’m yet to qualify, I’m 3cm too short. I do like Mylestom idea, a metre long barra from each impoundment is a good target to set yourself. If you get that you deserve a trophy more than a sticker.

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Good fish folks, its great to start a topic and see where it goes.

Just back from Monduran no metre barra this trip. Small ones around the 75cm mark and quite a few bass up around the 50cm. But the water still a bit cold and a bit windy.

Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

I'm in - but Trev (Awoonga) will have to vouch for my credentials. I didn't have the brag mat on my boat.

first trip too - i was very happy with myself