Thread: bass poppers

bass poppers

hey guys,
    im heading bass fishing on friday, im keen to try some poppers, it looks mad fun. got any gun lures i should know about, i was thinking of getting a river2sea 35mm one, or maybe a skitter pop, but im very open to suggestions. also long as there not to exotic that u have imported from china, that a guy makes in his back shed, and only make 4 a week, and to get one u ahve to prove urself worthy buy climbing mt everest. i just looking for a accessable, relatively cheap, and effective popper.

cheers.

baylistic

Re: bass poppers

have you tried making your own it gives you something to do (and drives ya misses crazy) and you can make it to suit the place you are fishing. the best part is when the lure you have just made gets smashed 4 the first time, its the biggest rush and you get that satifaction of knowing that you did it all and it works (the lure that is)

the fella next to me on the weekend got a nice 48cm bass on a shore catch popper i think those are cheep
    figjam :wink:

Any ideas on where to look at getting some info on making your own lures?????

for bass poppers, i heard the heddon torpedo were good, and the zara spook by heddon. any one use these before???????

Quote Originally Posted by baylistic
    for bass poppers, i heard the heddon torpedo were good, and the zara spook by heddon. any one use these before???????
    I very rarely use poppers on bass....haven't for years. I tend to use lures like the zara spook as they are very versatile. Bass aren't GT's so there is no need to make a huge commotion on the surface. Just some twitches and a little bit of noise will do.

And pause...always pause your retrieve.

Other lures to look at are any fizzers or jitterbugs

Mate I reckon the Rapala skitter pop is a great popper. Cast under overhanging trees and try walking the dog with it. They are fun to use because there are many ways to make it work.

Goodluck

Pete.

im abit of a noob at walking to dog, are the skitter pops easy to do it with??, i heard the zara spooks were relatively easy, but some lures just don't like to play along

first fish i caught on a surface lure was a bass caught him on a Heddon crazy crawler, didn't pause at all just did a slow retrive, just enough to get the blades to work

Brandon.

I agree with Thommo, subtle over bloop anyday. I've been having fun lately with a pencil bait, dog walk style lure. It's a Jap one, can't remember which make, it's a bit random. It's attracting lot's of hits, but doesn't have as good a % hook up rate. The trebles seem OK, but I'm gonna change to some owner stingers and see if it improves. Like Pete said with the skitterpop, some of the cup faced poppers can be used in a number of ways. Gobo's are superb, they can be walked. And if ya wanna stab the rod tip down they give a nice tight little "pop", rather than an almighty bloop.

if ya looking for cheap, check out the berkley popper, used them quite abit and work a charm. 35mm seems a little small to me for bass unless you know they are small... I must also agree with all of above that subtle retreives with many pauses work a charm! Quite often if there is lots of surface action but i am not getting hit, I willl leave the lure floating for over a minute before I twitch it at all!

how are you getting there shitzke????????????????

I tend to not bother with poppers for bass too much. yes it is fun and sometimes is the only way over the tops of weed beds. alternatively i use buoyant hard bodies and upon landing allow it to sit on the top completely still for sometimes 20 -30 seconds(sometimes i cast and then repostion the canoe and then start my retrieve) then a twitch a couple of times before diving my lure. Best of both worlds this way as you get your surface strike and then the extra fish that you wouldn't have picked up on a popper.

the same way you are matty. u better get ur license!! u still getting ur spin outfit this arvo?