Thread: Permit for Lenthals

Permit for Lenthals

Do I need a permit for Lenthals Dam?

After reading some posts on this sight I am a bit confused, the posts indicate that you do need a permit.
    I am reading a popular monthly fishing paper that indicates that you dont?

I am heading up there for Christmas and dont want to get stung without a permit!

PS, Thanks to the bozo's that have ruined my chance of fishing the dam as the sun comes
    up ( best part of the day). Top work!!! You people just keep looking
    out for yourselves and Australia will become a better place everyday!!!!

Stephen

Re: Permit for Lenthals

Yes mate you need an SIP ( Stocked Impoundment Permit ).

Thanks Big Unit, I will pick one up off the net!!

One of my workmates got stung a few weeks back when he bought a fishing licence on the net.
    The silly bugger didn't read the page very carefully after googling "fishing licence" he went through all the steps and paid for a brand new shiny Victorian fishing licence.............except he wanted a NSW one

Now he's got afew days left on his Vic licence.....was thinking about making a special trip south to use it........but being based in Tweed region Northern NSW seemed like a stoopid idea for the sake of a $17 licence fee

Enjoy your christmas [s]on[/s] Near lenthalls. I hope to check it out myself soon. may have to wait till i get a canoe tho as the boat has 50hp on it, and i dont want to upset the applecart.

cheers, roo.

have noticed a few clever fishos that are still camping at lenthalls but they are leaving cars in car park loading gear into boat and camping on other side of dam near waters edge. also camping outside dam area before you go through the fence onto the bitumen.

hope you enjoy your trip.

Quote Originally Posted by bassace
    have noticed a few clever fishos that are still camping at lenthalls but they are leaving cars in car park loading gear into boat and camping on other side of dam near waters edge. also camping outside dam area before you go through the fence onto the bitumen.

hope you enjoy your trip.

wont be to clever if eddie gets hold of them (the local farmer who land it is)

I have just spoken to the Wide Bay water corporation, and
    the man I spoke to who is looking after the Security for the Dam has told
    me that any Boat with over 6hp motor will be refused entry to the dam!!

Keep that In mind if you are heading that way!!!

Stephen

Quote Originally Posted by LCC
    I have just spoken to the Wide Bay water corporation, and
    the man I spoke to who is looking after the Security for the Dam has told
    me that any Boat with over 6hp motor will be refused entry to the dam!!

Keep that In mind if you are heading that way!!!

Stephen

Except if your a tournament pro fisho with heaps of sponsors and cameras following your every move

The_Walrus

If the 6 hp is going to be enforced, that'll take Lenthalls off my list.

Unless I paddle my canoe.

Anyone exceeding the speed limit should be hit with an instant $1000 fine and escorted off the water.

Thats crap hey, i bet the Bass Pro boys still have there motors on when they fish the dam next, as long as you stick to the speed limit i can't see it being a problem! [smiley=thumbsdown.gif]

now i'm very confused i understood that lenthalls dam was in state forest, crownland and a area controlled by widebay water. i believe that there are certain parts of these areas which have been granted grazing leases. from what forestry says you my traverse or camp on these areas with the correct permits (fees paid) the grazing lease holders have no rights to expell you if your permits are current there only right is to graze stockin there alloted lease area. There leases don't extend below the high water mark. in monduran dam lease holders have had to pay a extra lease fee to sunwater to have stock graze in the dam area.

Hey here's a thought if theres a security guy on the dam and there a farmer on the dam and guides on the dam, why have there not be more fines issued? is there going to be a camp ground there with hot water if there is well who ever runs it should also have a marshall station to issue on the spot fines, and rego of boat and car take and banned from the dam forever, as you guys said the so called pros will be there with big thumpers on there boats.

I love Lenthalls and wont stop to fish there no matter what, and the idea of electric is fine with me, but for the guys like me who struggle to get away let alone afford and electric outboard should not miss out on this water way. My idea might not hold water but there must be some way around the problem?

TT