Geez! Nice boats. They beat my little B LineWallaby canoe. Im not going to complain though it hasnt stopped my fish catching ability. But those look so comfortable.
I have a stessco 4.2m catcher. this rig cost $8000 and i use it in lenthalls for bass and barras as well as running around Hervey bay.
another angle
Bought a 480 Hornet Trophy this year and love it. Would have liked the deck raised a little but other than that have found with a few slight mods it's been awesome. We've moved the console back about 2 inches and now fit a 40ltr Engel in just nicely in front of it. Great for keeping your drinks icey cold whilst barra fishing! Heaps of room for 2 people to fish comfortably out of. Have been on the dams in some pretty wild weather and can't fault the stability of the Hornet. If you can afford a Quinny, go for it... you'll never ever regret it! I guess our only regret is not going for an e-tec. It has an 80hp Yamaha 4 stroke on it which just isn't quite fast enough!
Hi Gismo nice boat.
What speed do you get on a 4.80 with an 80 yammy on it?
Top speed etc as it's hard to get honest info from dealers as many havent been out on many different types of boats with different set ups etc. A few friends are looking for some relevant info for future purchases etc.
Solas props have been great up the sunny coast way if you want to give them a call - it might give you an extra 10+km/hr as they think more than half the props sold are the wrong ones.
A family member had props changed and the dealer didn't put the same one back on - he lost 10km geeseee.
Cheers SeekingBarradise
Hey SB, We get about 28MPH so it says. It was 30MPH when we first got it but seems to have reduced. Once you go over about 4800 revs you can watch the fuel gauge dropping rapidly! Going to look at another prop shortly (need a spare anyway with the dam levels the way they are!).
I bought the Blue Fin Wildcat 4.35 & Yamaha 60hp/2 stroke at the Sydney Boatshow in August. We had a second console (for she who must be obeyed) & a bimini fited prior to delivery. Purchase price (with a modified trailer) was around $22,500 (same price with 50hp/4stroke).
My previous tinnie was a Sea-Al & I have many hours experience in Brooker & Quintrex hulls through involvement as a rescue driver/sailing coach with a local dingy sailing club.
We found the Wildcat very attractive because of the 3mm plate (allover) construction, and comprehensive standard fitout. ie: 60L underfloor fuel tank, 90L plumbed live tank (mounted under rear of front casting deck), port-side bow extention for elec.motor mount, etc.....
We have (so far) used the boat on Sydney Harbour, Pittwater, Cowan Creek & the Hawkesbury River. The ride in a 2foot chop @20knots is drier and more comfortable than I would have expected from any tinnie (the hull weight is approx. 335kg).
When pushed hard it will launch (fuly airbourne) over wash and chop, and lands in a balanced & predictable manner.
The dealer fitted a 17" prop for running in which returned 31.7knots at 6200rpm, this was swapped (no charge) for a 19" prop at the 10hour service. Current performance is 33.2knots @6000rpm. With this prop fitted, if you can hang onto the controls, the engine will push to 30knots regargless of conditions. I already have an electric jacking Plate that will be fitted once I get a few more hours on the motor.
I would have preferred a 4.5 metre hull but was restricted by garage parking. Overall we have no regrets over our choice of purchase. The Blue Fin range for durability & standard fitout cannot be overlooked when shopping for an aluminium hull.
Any prospective purchasers in Sydney could do a lot worse than having a chat to Joe at Inpependent Outboards in Blacktown.
In case the above comments aren't clear, I am (obviously) yet another satisfied Blue Fin customer.
Wooly,
The best bass/barra boat is the one that your currently fishing in!
My little 4m stacer with a few DIY mods
Matt C
Aussie built Labsport XT a little bit slow but a very stable fishing platform.
2nd choice 480 hornet 75etec.
When the wife said i could get a lab i think she meant a dog.
LABSPORT XT 200H.O. etec
Front Deck
LABSPORT XT 200H.O. etec
Rear Deck
LABSPORT XT 200H.O. etec
That is a serious boat, i am admittedly envious, one hell of a platform. Unfortunately the motor is now way too big 4 lenthals.Originally Posted by bassace
Wooly Bugger,
I have a Bluefin Predator. 4.75m Side Console. Great in the creeks, dams etc and if the wind is 10-15kts I can go out to the Moreton Island Reefs fishing or take the kids snorkeling. Great boat and everyone who has been in it agrees.
I reckon you ought to take a few of the contenders out for a spin and see what you think. Nothing like a spin on the water to see exactly what you get for your buck.
Good Luck with what ever you purchase.
regards, Mick
Good to see heaps of boats in heaps of price brackets for you to choose from. I used to sell boats at a fishing/tackle store once, and the one thing I told everyone, What ever size boat and motor you think you want..... buy the next size UP!! ... inevetebly you say"gee I wish I had a bigger boat or if this boat was just a bit bigger we could go.....!! That my only advice, I am actually guilty of the same problem with my own boats!!!!
For the record I am in the process of getting a 5m Makocraft Frenzy with 90 Optimax and all the lovely extras that go with! cant wait!!! It was a toss up between that and a 455 TABS territory Pro. They are also a well built boat and look great. Just couldn't seak it in under my salary cap!!!!
good luck boat hunting mate