Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: americanised bass compitions in Australia

Wallis_bassman

americanised bass compitions in Australia

What do you think of the modern style of bass fishing in our countries impounds?
    I feel they are following the American style, as they race off in their $50 000 dollar boats with their 200 hp motors to get to the fishing spot first. Using their state of the art fish sounders and equipment. I believe that they have lost the true spirit of bass fishing. They see it as a job. And now the competitions are just a way for sponsors to get their name out so fishermen will buy their lures. Lures only lure fishermen not fish in my opinion. Many of our countries true bass fishermen are the ones on the river, only for the unforgettable rush and excitement that our native fish dish out. I only believe that the comps are following the American bass comps too closely and that Australia should stay independent.

mikedel

Re: americanised bass compitions in Australia

Wallis, there are all sorts and levels of bass comps. If you don't like the "pro" style of tournament then don't enter, there's lots of smaller comps to choose from. If you don't like comps at all then that's fine, just go for a fish and have some fun.

Hey I love the impoundment comps they encourage bass angler to the lakes...Keeps 'em off the rivers... .

But seriously the development of the ABT comps in bass and bream help drive trends like soft plastics, hell 6 years ago catching bream on lures was something most anglers did by accident. Techniques, tackle and other peripherals like boating all benefit from such comps. They are a social event as much as a fishing comp and they general a fair dollar for the community they are held in.

But as M62 said, horse for course - don't like 'em don't bother with them. Stick to the river and enjoy the fact the rest of the bass fishos are on a dam somewhere.

Seamo

My personal opinion is that it is great. The more time that shows like the AFC get on TV the better it is for fishing in general. When you have a look at how much money a show generates like that and how much advertising in terms of new products and techniques are demonstrated it can only be seen as an advantage. These shows trigger others interest in the sport and encourage people to take up the sport. If you think that this is not the case then you are kidding yourself. I have had people come into work after seeing the AFC series and saying that they want to catch bream on lures. When I ask them what they used to fish for it may have been when they were a little kid with their old man soaking a bait off the local jetty. When you tell them that bream are pretty tough to get on lures why don't you try for some flattys or squire it really opens there eyes as to how they can fish and how much techniques have changed over time. All they want to do is catch some fish on lures and given how these competitions promote catch and release and the adoption of lure only techniques can only improve the fish stocks, little or no fish being killed and no bait being netted. Now all that education comes from them watching the americanised competitions that we have adopted in Australia.

I understand what you are saying Wallis bassman, but how can you not see the take off in impoundment fishing as a benefit for your style of fishing. More people on the dams getting their "Bass" fix hence leaving your "wild" bass fishing untouched. I will also venture to say that some of the so called "wild" bass that you are catching could have possibly come from one of the stockings of a nearby dam.

I am glad that shows like that exist because the amount of non fishing mates that I have who think that when I go for a fish before work, I sit down on the boat soaking baits and everything that I catch I kill which is just not the case. I think that the more air time that these shows get and the more coverage that we see then the better it is for fishing in general.

That is just my opinion

I don't mind them love what they do for the sport don't go much on the ski boats some use but besides that, they are strong ambassitors for bass fishing and i guess the more people to get the fresh water experiance means better ramps and fercilities as the pressure gets more intence as more people spend money to fish more stocking for our impoundments.

I do agree on the one thing as you see the yanks pull those fish in like they are on a bungy cord and seem to lack respect for the fish and we should stay indepent as far as it is a sport and not gear for these great fish should be real light give them a fighting chance.

wonder how they would go if we took the sounders out give them 2lb gear 5 lures and a tinny with a 6 horse? I don't know if i would enter?

TT

Quote Originally Posted by Wallis bassman
    What do you think of the modern style of bass fishing in our countries impounds?
    I feel they are following the American style, as they race off in their $50 000 dollar boats with their 200 hp motors to get to the fishing spot first. Using their state of the art fish sounders and equipment. I believe that they have lost the true spirit of bass fishing. They see it as a job. And now the competitions are just a way for sponsors to get their name out so fishermen will buy their lures. Lures only lure fishermen not fish in my opinion. Many of our countries true bass fishermen are the ones on the river, only for the unforgettable rush and excitement that our native fish dish out. I only believe that the comps are following the American bass comps too closely and that Australia should stay independent.
    Not sure where you are going with this and I must say it is arrogant to suggest that 'true bass fishermen are the ones on the river'. I fish impoundments and conside myself a true bass fishermen. I may have misread your message but I think the American bass tournament seems like an exciting one but as long as there are grass root competitions where beginners and novices feel welcome. To the best of my knowledge without sponsors we would not have competitions.

Raymond

Wallis bassman you are entitled to your opinion mate but you are up the wrong tree if you think Australia’s true Bass fishermen are in the rivers! Wild River Bass fishing is a great experience along with lots of other species!! River Bass fishing is not that hard mate!!! Most fisho's know exactly where there are then all you have to do is get them to take your presentation You do not even need a sounder at all! A lot of impoundment Bass comp fisho’s will still catch Bass without sounders although it gets a bit hard if the fish are out in the open !! 9000 acres of water that’s 20 km long and several hundred metres or more wide in places is a lot harder to fish than most rivers or creeks are!! As for Boats mate!!! They are only fishing tools and the Australian tinny is still going strong!! I am just at home sitting in my Kayak or 10’ punt on the rivers as I am poking around impoundments in my American bass boat with 200HP bolted on the back . As for US Bass fishing style comps…. I think there’s nothing wrong with them at all!! May even fish in 1 one day just for kicks You may change your mind on this one in a few years time as you broaden your fishing knowledge!

Cheers Les

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."

Have you ever fished in impoundments for Bass? Especially when there have been "Pro" or "club" comps in them every weekend for months? It's bloody hard work! But Bloody rewarding when you do nail them. The bass shut down in the dams depending on the activity around and in the more popular dams, you can guarantee there's plenty of activity from boats and water skiers. Impoundment bass fishing (or cod or barra) is certainly some of the best fishing I've ever experienced and as for the flash American boats... hell I would have one if I could to ensure you get to your favourite spot whilst it's still undisturbed. Plus it ensures you get every last minute of fishing in before having to return at the end of the day. How about the killet and fillet brigades or the bait fisho's? They don't kiss and release. The tournaments not only encourage but in most cases insist on catch and release. They also do a lot of research on the fish that are caught. Both of these ensure the fish and the sport we love so much is still around in years to come!

hardb8

G'day Wallis,
    $$$ are what these comps are about.It's not just lures that get promoted and advertised...Boats,Motors,Rods,Reels,Line,And the list goes on.........

Some people are competative by nature and really enjoy these things.I'm sure you understand this,And respect their decisions to compete against not only each other,But the fish as well.

The progress towards the U.S. style comps is here to stay,They (The Americans) have been doing it for years now,And have the organisation side of things well and truly sussed.The ABT and AFC will only get bigger here in years to come.

For alot of guys in the U.S it is their job.They do nothin else but compete on the pro circit,And a couple have earned over a million U.S. dollars in prize money.Ask these blokes if they'd rather be back in their factory/Labouring jobs.Somehow I don't reckon you'd get a yes from any of em.

I personaly don't like to compete.But,I enjoy watching Bassmasters on fox,And the AFC tour over here.It's a good way to learn.

Sounds to me like your a proud Aussie kid who loves his country and Australian Bass.You are entitled to your opinions,And to speak your mind.Don't change for no one m8.

Regards hardb8.

just because they have $80,000 buck boats doesnt mean that they are stealing the show.

in the abt barra comps recently, a 16 year old took some of them out in a 375 size tinnie!!

but hay, who wouldnt like to be driving around in one of them boats?

Wallis Bassman,

I have noticed you have copped a flogging regarding your views on bass fishing, my earlier comments included. I think as a young bloke and a new member we should cut you some slack but be aware that impoundment fishing / tournament fishing is gaining in popularity by the second in Australia and most people think it is a good thing.

If you enjoy your river bass fishing then I think that is great and make sure you keep the posts coming as you have sent some good ones.

Raymond

Interesting topic Wallis Bassman. A few fisho's have been talking about this one lately e.g. the future direction of the comps.

Well said Phatty - some can have "all the gear and no idea" ha a saying that is used in sport a lot. We bet there have been a huge number of comps won in 14ft tinnies in OZ! & good to see.

We just hope that the comps don't charge thousands of dollars to enter in the future which would take a lot of the younger generation out of the sport which would be a shame. We heard kim bain went over to compete in the American comps and she had to spend around $30 000 ish on comp fees. Check 2004 BBB to confirm etc.

Thats the main worry - hopefully this will never happen to limit spots on TV etc. Just get more cameras like the american bass comps have etc so everyone gets a go. Then you can make final cuts like they do etc to limit numbers on final days etc. Basically like golf etc.

However if fees are going to rise everyone needs to be made aware to let people plan to have the time off and save etc. Because as things currently stand people with sponsorship will be the only ones able to compete if fees rise astronomically. eg people with tv exposure fishing certain comps will be ahead of say the barra comp that wasn't televised etc however there were many very good barra anglers there. Especially with the corss over of the bass & bream comps to include barra now!

In any sport you will always come across someone with more cash (doesn't mean they can fish)- if it was the national sport of Saudi Arabia there would probably be pink (Stefan) like race boats with 2000 Horse Power fishing the comps ha rocking up in Yellow Monster trucks ha.

Each to their own (boatwise) but lets fight the elitist brigade to keep entry fees down so dreams can come true like the 17 year old Taylor boys winning the Barra Comps. If the comps cost too much to enter this dream would never have come true. Well done again boys & Ruben(camp cook-cleaner-chauffeur).

See you on a Dam one day - Cheers SeekingBarradise

Quote Originally Posted by gismo75
    They also do a lot of research on the fish that are caught.
    G'Day Gismo, I dont know about that one. Except to say that, as a long standing member of fish stocking groups, I have surveyed the waters around release sites the days "after" comps & have found some numbers of dead fish. I guess that counts as research.

On the original topic
    I've been a vocal about pro style comps in Oz since their inception here. My main concern was that the fisheries may suffer as a result of a comp being run on any given lake. I must say that the ABT, after some initial issues, now are leading the way in giving some financial support back to the fisheries that the comps are run on. I must also say that there are others around who dont do such a good job in supporting the fisheries they are exploiting, shame on them!! We are deifinately better off without the no hoper, cardboard box comps on lakes that have been created, developed and maintained with public & private monies, be dedicated volunteers.

There is definately a place for pro comps & still a place for family based comps. The fisheries in our many great lakes have been developed with the community in mind. I would ask everyone to respect each others style of fishing & encourage everyone to play an active part in maintaining their local lake's fishery, ie support or join your local fish stocking group.

Fitzy..
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

I respect your opinion, but these ABT events are extremely good for our waters mate... Chance to meet new people and fish amongst some of the best fisho's Aus has to offer, Educates other anglers (Importance of C&R, Environets etc), and most importantly they give back to the Fisheries as Fitzy said. Also it's a big learning thing... We are all still learning, we always will be - With all this new gear on the market, and different techniques etc. Brings out the best in your game too, fish hard and reap the results as far as Im concerned.

Fishing for Fun is always good, it's what gets us started, but for those of us who have a competetive streak, and theres plenty of us out there, this is paradise.
    TT

Ausfish Gold Member

I personally like the "American style Comps". Just got back from a Barra comp on the weekend and had a ball. I also do some of the Bass comps and have learnt a lot and met a lot of great people along the way. I also agree with Fitzy and Tinaroo Triumph in regards to giving back to the sport of fishing. I'm not sure what type of gear you use or the style of fishing you do, but I'll bet that a competition angler somewhere in the world help to develop that rod that you use, the line, the reel and so on.
    And as for river fishing for bass being harder, I can't say. At least with these impoundments being stocked its taking the pressure of presitine waterways like the Upper Noosa River to enable the wild native bass to be sustainable. That is one reason why so far there isn't to my knowledge an ABT planed for any rivers. And I have to agree with the statement about the fishing getting toughter with the pressure of all the comps on certain dams. But fish still have to eat, it just improves ones angling skills. These comps aren't really people competeing against each other, its fisherpeople competeing against fish. I for one am all for comps such as the ABT and Bassin QLD series. Helps to educate and develope our sport. And keeps the natural water ways from being raped clean by those who don't beleive in catch and release.
    Billyboy