freeeedom im coming to your place for brekky that looks awesome. good work cheers bdowdy
I did exactly this Rando, and got the PERFECT egg. I can see the point of the vortex but its not necessary.Originally Posted by rando
Now why did I get this old before learning how to cook bloody eggs?
Freeeedom,
I'm a convert for your egg poaching style. Have tried it a few times now. Found the first couple I left 'in the shell' too long for the preheat and had the egg white cooking on the inside of the shell. 10- 15 seconds worked well for me.
Dropping them into the centre of the vortex also works well in keeping the white all together.
Thanks for the good tip.
Joel
Originally Posted by Freeeedom
what a crackup.....
the perfect egg
I tried the cling wrap approached described in SZOPEN's post, it worked for me as well, and the added bonus is that it is also easy to clean up after, just throw the used wrap away, and your left with a saucepan of clean hot water. Brilliant.Originally Posted by szopen
Are you blokes for real! I've never seen so much said about a couple of poached eggs on a chat board and particularly one titled "Camping Chat"
So what do we talk about around the camp fire, "oh yes, I made the most beautiful poached eggs this morning"
The conversation should perhaps be more about "I caught the biggest fish"
PS - you need really fresh eggs for your poached eggs by the way
G'day all, i have read all this,and found it intersesting (SP) now this morning i tried to make some poached eggs, got water boiling put vinegar in, swerl the water and so on, but when i put the egg in. the egg white seperated from the yoke i did this with a few eggs and same thing..........what did i do wrong???? after reading all the ways you guys have been doing it i was thinking, surely cant be that hard..............boy was i wrong................any tips?
thanx
I think you need fresh eggs. Have the water in the pan fairly hot, bubbling,not boiling.
just because you bought the eggs from the shop doesn't mean they are fresh. Take a drive in the country, buy some really fresh eggs. Or better still, get some chooks.
Yeah - agree 100%. If the white separates from the yolk and the water looks like a bowl of milk then your egg was stale. I get my eggs from a local fruit shop that sells free range eggs and they're pretty good most of the time, but I still get the odd stale one.
I had a look at the
http://b3ta.com/features/howtopoachanegg/
web site. Turned me right off - looked like a used condom.
To me it's important that the water be in direct contact with the egg during poaching so that the salt and the vinegar can do their thing during the cooking so that you get that beautiful combination of flavours in the final product
Cheers Freeeedom
ok, got me some new chooks, now waiting for the eggs,Originally Posted by seajay1
PS: how long do i have to wait
I suppose it depends on how big they are. Sometimes when you get day old chooks you have to wait around 5 months for them to lay!
But the ones we got now lay almost every day.
Those chooks laid any eggs yet??
I reckon the sales of cackle berries went throught the roof beacuse of this post
LOL, not as yet J/A, they are a bit young me thinks, another month or two i hopeOriginally Posted by Jack_Ass
What a crazy read,,,eggs!!!!
When I lived on the farm I devised a slightly different way of poaching eggs, which the kids named "drowned eggs".
We had chooks so the eggs would have been fairly fresh.
Using a cast iron frypan, get the pan & lid hot (this was easy on a wood stove), using a very small amount of oil, break your eggs straight into the pan, wait 30 seconds or so, chuck on the lid & pour about 100-150 mls of BOILING water, be careful of the steam. Only takes a minute or so, when the steam is gone your are left with perfect eggs that are still a bit snotty on the inside, much like freedoms pics.
Sounds crazy , but it works,