Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Perfect poached egg

Gorilla_in_Manila

Re: Perfect poached egg

Quote Originally Posted by rod_m27
    post some pics of her eggs Gorilla, just want to see what u missed out on for 3 years.
    Rod,
    What have I been missing out on for 3 years? Not much going on this mornings effort.
    Hope she doesn't read this.

All went a bit pear-shaped this morning.
    Had the pan on, fine bubbles just forming ... ooops, no vinegar.
    Turn off pan, go get some vinegar.
    Turn pan on again. Get camera. Hmm .... low battery, ok might get a shot or two out of it.
    Hurry up says I to wife, low battery.
    Wife gets stage fright (coz I told her everyone in australia is going to be looking at these pics ) and with the added low battery pressure from me, egg goes in too early before the water had heated up enough.
    Gorilla goes to take picture and finds camera has shut down. [smiley=dunce.gif]
    Result Bumnut1: sinks to bottom of pan, flattens out and looks just like a fried egg without the grease. see left hand egg below.
    Bumnut2, wife cracks it into small bowl and breaks the yolk. Don't blame her for this coz there is more pressure than performing for American Idol at this stage.
    Result Bumnut2: Egg tipped into a cup ... proceed to BackupBumnut2a. I think #2 sort of got thrown in at some stage later when I wasn't looking and some of the remnant yolk can be seen on the top left of the right hand piece of toast.
    Bumnut2a gets cracked into the bowl, yolk in tact ... a good start.
    Gorilla, checks water is starting to simmer, issues stage instructions to wife, checks stage lighting, check makeup and sound level, gets poised with camera, turns camera on, yells ACTION! Camera takes photo but didn't have enough time or power to get itself focused, and action shot of tipping the egg in comes out looking like Bumnut2 looks in its cup ... all sort of vague blurred yellowy bits.
    Result Bumnut2a: not too bad, see right hand egg on right hand toast. Not up to Benedict of Jakarta's standard, but there is potential.
    Camera battery managed to find it's last reserves for the the results photo.

Wife has gone for a lie down to get over the stress, camera goes to have a well earned drink from the charger, Gorilla feels obliged to eat the results of the Poached Egg Disaster of 25th March 06, wondering if it it wise to post the results.

Probably not real wise, but since it has seldom stopped me before ... here you go.

Jeff

Jeez

I hope it wasn't my wishing it wasn't going to work in my last post that caused all that drama. Great post Jeff, what a hoot, and they look pretty good - not as professional as the u-beaut, mind you, but as you say there is certainly potential there.

tony

Ok Tony,

You need to have poached eggs for breaky as I wanna see what the you beaut model (teflon) job turns out.

After reading this this morning I went and made two eggs for beaky (fried in cast iron Frypan using spray oil) but I love poached eggs and allways order them when I travel.

Steven

Steven

My wife did poached eggs benedict this morning... turned out super. She did the vinegar trick, but broke the eggs into a cup first and then added them one at a time, also made the hollandaise sauce:

3 egg yolks
    100 g butter (melted and bubbling)
    1/2 tsp lemon rind
    1 tablespoon lemon juice

You just wip it up in the food processor. It was an awesome breakfast, that with the ham on fresh muffins and she did mushrooms and spinach as well!

Gorilla_in_Manila

Tony,
    Yep life is a hoot. If it's not, you are going to peg out unhappy! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    Spent the afternoon at the Manila 10's rugby, so life is pretty damn good right now, and eggs are the last of my worries,
    But will get back to the ausfish camping eggs as soon as I sober up.... promise! .... maybe wednesday. ha ha ha
    I might even not get sideways 2morrow during the finals, just 2 tackle the eggs for camping chat.
    Gotta get your priorities right!!!

(2nd attempt)

Quote Originally Posted by Hi-Yo
    Ok Tony,

You need to have poached eggs for breaky as I wanna see what the you beaut model (teflon) job turns out.

Steven
    OK Steven, here you go: 3 pics.

I have to say that this mornings cooking session wasn't hiccup-free. Like Jeff's missus, Ithink I mustof got stage-fright. the eggs were both big double yolkers and were a bit much material for the small cups, so a bit of spilled egg-white on the cup-holding tray. Then I overboiled the water and covered the eggs in bubbling boiling water and then in all the excitemet I forgot to cook the toast. glad i didn't take the boat out this morning - she'd be sunk by now

Pic1 Starting to cook

pic 2 - they're done

pic 3 - no toast

Where are the nipples?
    Cheers Freeeedom

CHRIS_aka_GWH

GARNISH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

christ ...

whats happened to Hard-Men camping

cooking animal flesh & eggs in beef dripping or the lard of a fat pig on an open flame until its black and crunchy !!

the vast amount of lubricant used to cook negated the need for fibre in a man's diet ....
    things just slipped through.

our camp cooking is beginning to reflect cowboy films of late [smiley=cowboy.gif]

its looks great Tony !

Nice work Tony,

Have you got your own chooks mate or what. Havent seen a double yoker for about a year let alone two.

Going away for a week tomorrow down to Melbourne for work, hope that have poached eggs on the menu for breaky.

Steven

Steven

GORILLA,

IVE SEEN BETTER EGGS IN A SPERM BANK!

TONY,

NICE PLATE UP....U WON ME!

Cheers Graeme, ( Oops Capitals)

Quote Originally Posted by Gorilla
    Trouble was you had to put so much margerine in the cups to stop the egg from sticking to the bare aluminium, that you may as well have fried them. The newer teflon coated ones are better.
    Jeff
    Even with the teflon ones, I found that a little spray of extra virgin olive oil before putting the eggs in, though not an essential part of the processs, does help them release from the cup thingy. This is NOT as bad as frying them, or even bad at all. First, a smidgin of olive oil never hurt anybody and second, the BAD of frying is the conversion of good oils to bad oils at frying temperature which is considerably higher than 100 degrees C (the boiling point of water, ie the poaching temperature of the oil). At this temperature the oil stays in its "good" state (Wow, this bloke has the technical jargon down pat) You might just have to take my word for that - but if anybody really wants a source for that info, I might be able to find it. I think it might be in Cabots "The Liver Cleansing Diet"

Thought I'd better fess up to using the oil

As both Szopen and Chris have suggested, this board is about camping and the device is really a bit BMW for that - but I got more carried away with the topic heading: "The perfect poached egg"

Gorilla_in_Manila

Quote Originally Posted by wewak1111

GORILLA,

IVE SEEN BETTER EGGS IN A SPERM BANK!

Cheers Graeme, ( Oops Capitals)
    Mate, don't know what sort of sperm banks you normally hang around, but if they are keeping eggs there, they might want to call themselves an egg bank.

Tony,
    Yeah bit of poetic licence there about the amount of marg, and obviously not as bad as fried. The point was more about the sticky old bare aluminium cups.
    Might have to have a go at the ladle method sometime soon ... reckon it will benefit from a light spray of oil or wipe of marg on the spoon or ladle, but guess most oil will just float off in the water.
    Jeff
    PS square plates and garnish ... you camp at the Hilton or what?

I don't know. Using the steamer with the little cups to make 'poached' eggs is a little bit like using worm pliers to catch beach worms - not the real deal!
    Cheers Freeeedom