Thread: Cooking Shovelnose

Cooking Shovelnose

G'day Ausfishers!
    I caught a shovelnose yesterday and remebered someone saying they are good tucker, so I whacked him in the esky. I have cut off two nice looking fillets, and just have to skin them now. Does anybody have any good recipies for cooking them?

Lunatic.
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

Re: Cooking Shovelnose

Had one last sunday for brekky cut into small pieces, barbequed with salt and lemon and dunked in sweet chilli sauce with some little rice creation Carl put together (had peanut butter, coconut and all sorts of other stuff in it). Absolutely delicious! The one we kept was a great eating size too, only about 3 foot long. Enjoy!
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

BAR_UP

I reckon they should be released!

mitch_05

I would ask Kingtin.From what i hear he is quite good at catching them

great for wet dishes, tough textures holds together!!

they are OK to eat, but are a bit of a waste in so much as the weight of the fish when caught to the weight of edible flesh, just fillet the "tail", skin and cut off any blood meat, then cook and eat as any other fish, Banjo's are not nearly as good, and return even less meat than a Shovelnose.

um... all this talk about food is making me hungry, just make a curry out them....great

Agree with pedostool. They are the best fish, flavour and texture wise for a good curry.

Will get the Boss to post the recipe in the Recipe section soon