Thread: Sinker Moulds

Ausfish Gold Member

Sinker Moulds

Does anyone know where I can get a sinker mould for tractor tyre sinkers (can't remember what they are called but thats what they look like) . I've looked in just about every tackle shop around Brisbane and they reckon they can't get them. I have most of the other moulds but this is one I'm having a problem finding. Thanks
    Cheers Luke

Ausfish Gold Member

Re: Sinker Moulds

Yep they are hard to find. Might have to try making up something myself

fatman

Hi Luke,
    You may wan't to try CoriCo Tackle Supplies down here in Sydney, he has all maner of stuff like that.

CoriCo Tackle Supplies
    Unit 2/14- 16 Albany St
    St Leonards, NSW, 2065
    Australia Ph: (02) 9438 4244

Sorry I can't help with something closer
    FATMAN

Ausfish Gold Member

Thanks Fatman,
    Reddog is looking into it for me down in Newcastle and is heading up to Brissy next week so maybe there will be some joy there. If not I'll give them a bell. Thanks agian
    Cheers Luke

Cremated_Reddog

Hey Luke, your in luck buddy. have got hold of one mould for you at one of the guys I buy gear off.. he only has the smaller one of the 2 which is aboutthe size of a 20c peice, which I think that's what you wanted....

Cheers Reddog

Ausfish Gold Member

Thanks heaps Red,
    that is the one. Give us a buzz when you get up and I'll fix you up for it and we'll go throw a few lures.
    Cheers Luke

i make all my sinker moulds out of plaster of paris (let it dry for a week before use other wise the molten lead will splater)
    Robbie

Ausfish Gold Member

Thanks Blaze,
    I might give that a try for some original designs. Never thought of that but works ok hey? Seeing lead doesn't need a high melting temp and cools reasonably quickly shouldn't hurt the cast? How do you get them hot enough to pour the lead and do you cool it in water after?
    Cheers Luke

Hi Luke
    i use a lp gas blow lamp to head the lead , i first cut the lead into smaller pieces and put in a tin with a handle to enable the the lead to be poured, pour the lead into the mould, it cools quick(also Shrinks) remove from mould and drop in bucket of water. i make mainly star type and bend stainless wire and pull them from the mould with a pair of pliers. radiator repair shops a good source of clean lead ( solder)

Ausfish Gold Member

No worries Blaze,
    what I mean is how do you heat the actual moulds or is that what you mean by getting shrinkage with the sinkers because when we cast ours we always heat the cast to prevent shrinkage or setting too quickly before the shape is set.
    Cheers Luke

hi luke
    not sure what you are getting at but i mix a stiff mix of plaster of paris and insert my star sinker untill it is level (a bit of vasaline on the sinker first) and let the mould dry. and when dry i make my sinkers
    hope that helps
    cheers blaze

Ausfish Gold Member

Gday Blaze,
    what I mean is with the steel moulds you have to heat them up with a gas torch before pouring the lead or otherwise the hot lead will hit the cold steel and the lead will set before actually forming the sinker inside the mould.
    Cheers Luke

hi luke
    i do not use steel moulds at all. plaster is easy to work with anf moulds last for years
    cheers robbie

Looking for a sinker mould the ones to make small sinkers
    and anywhere i can get lead in brisbane for cheap or free any ideas thanks!!

Ausfish Gold Member

I can get you the lead mate. Heaps of it at work. Sinker moulds at most tackle shops. For the small sinkers you are better off buying them as they are cheap and working with lead is pretty toxic. I only make the bigger ones because they are so expensive.
    Cheers Luke