Thread: Line for an Alvey

CHRIS_aka_GWH

Re: Line for an Alvey

kev,

the rod may be a Butterworth.

I use Berkley Trilene on mine - its a low stretch nylon so not a good idea if you have a tendency to throw rigs when casting - good anti twist properties - virtually nil memory, doesn't go brittle - #but costs some $$$.

A lot of blokes think Platypus is good stuff too.

All this twist & Alveys stuff is such crap. Make sure you use an appropriate swivel - not to big - & make sure the sinker doesn't foul it from working either by leaving a longer tag on the knot between the sinker & the swivel or I put a small colourless bead above the knot between the swivel & the sinker.

Once every 6 trips walk 100m of unrigged line down the beach - wind it in with your rod tip up.

I reckon threadlines put more twist into nyon with their smaller spool diameter & right angle lapping motion to respool.

Line for an Alvey

G'Day everyone

I scored myself a vintage 550a3 reel and 13' 6" one piece rod (make unknown), both in very good condition for a bargain price from my old neighbor. So now I feel obliged to head to the salty stuff for a test run

So, any suggestions on line to spool up with? I've heard some lines are better on alveys.(less twist probs?)

Can anyone give me some idea on the age of the reel and possibilities for the rod- 1piece yellow hollow glass cork grips(wound on type)

Kev

I've always found Platypus Platinum to work well on all my Alveys.

Cheers, Clutter.

hey mate i just use the alvey brand line haven't had any problems with it at all i seem to remember it was under 20 bucks
    cheers jack

I know that the ' recommended' line from Alvey for their reels is Platypus. A nice ' soft ' line for those windy days.

Chris has the right of it - line twist is not a problem if you manage it and it does not take much effort.

I have used Platimum and Trilene and they were both fine. I am now using Mustaad brand mono and it's good too. It's nice and thin for the breaking strain and casts well.

Steve.

klyons,

at one stage I thought that Alvey was an aboriginal word meaning line twist. Most problems stopped when I started using ball-bearing swivels. They are more exxey than the little brass jobs, but make a lot of difference. If you find a line that doesn't twist much the cheaper swivels may be OK. If you find you are getting a lot of twist fork out the extra money for the ball bearing swivels. Most are about a dollar a go, but sometimes you see them around cheaper, that's the time to stock up.

flathead_killer

Platinum for sure.