-
Qld Rec fisher changes in the air
Recreational fishers of Queensland are in for changes, again.
Apart from the ever lingering prospect of a saltwater fishing licence hanging over our heads, it seems there is a strong possibility that mandatory catch reporting is on the cards. This would be done through new technology via an App, for your phone. Initially, I am suggesting the reporting be voluntary / elective, but there is no doubt, it will become compulsory and this will then be legislated and just another way for any Governments to collect money from us via fines for NOT reporting. The current commercial fishers in Qld are absolutely smashed with paperwork and reporting systems, it really is a crime. Recreational fishers have long been skeptical of virgin bio-mass and catch rates used by Fisheries Scientists to provide management outcomes. By us not wanting to pass on our catch rates to fisheries, for various reasons, the end result is that they will find a way to make it compulsory, and mandatory reporting via an app will be their weapon of choice.
The FRDC in association with other research entities can hand over a $1,000,000 to find a way to get recreational fishers to report catch rates, but I am sure those monies could be better spent on the actual fishery they are trying to manage. The Queensland Government is spending small fortunes on failed management protocols and the department is bleeding dollars with no result to the fishery. Millions spent on research into a better way to manage the fishery all for nought. Every time the result is the same. Reduce bag limits, seasonal closures, slot limits etc etc………. all failing by their own admission.
The land farmers do it right, plant a seed and grow a crop, breed up stock, nourish the land, crop rotation which are simple and time tested methods of sustainability. Qld fisheries just implement tighter controls. Never have they tried to replenish the habitat or breed up stock, they simple allow harvesting. I am not saying it is their fault, but when you are given limited tools to do a job, the end result is substandard and in the case of all Queensland Fisheries, failing. Failing to address the real issues.
Every Queenslander that owns a fishing rod knows there are problems and most know how to fix it. You know why they know…. Because they are not hamstrung by Government interference and vote garnering agendas. Wild Stocking, Artificial Reefs, Green Zone Rotation are very simple, easily managed, cost effective and economically viable options that are NOT on the table under current Queensland Fisheries Management protocols. Why not ? That is a question for the Minister and Director General. Our Queensland fishery is accelerating into an abyss of legislative bungling, poor management and eventual collapse all because of short sighted Governments.
A point in case is the new found possible fishery of North WA Mudcrabs. Fisheries identified ( used recreational data via trolling social media pages and more ) a Mudcrab population worthy of commercial harvesting. Why ? Why find this species and try to commercialise it to a point that will no doubt lead to new restrictions on recreational crabbers and eventually on the commercial guys. Restrictions mean more policing, more management, more funding required, and to put it simply, it is just “ jobs for the boys “, a continuous circle of finding ways to keep them and their mates employed. Just because it is there, there is no need to exploit it.
There are many ways to bring Queensland back to a fishing tourism mecca and some of those ideas have been implemented on other States, but it seems we are behind the eight ball and the only way around is to include new tools of management.
LP
-
Re: Qld Rec fisher changes in the air
No matter what happens only a few would hand over there catch results I know how the fisheries lied about the log books for the professional fishermen.
Let see Steve Morgan say now who shares wins.
-
And finally the "Reds Under The Beds " Appear :)..
-
I think licencing recs needs to come in.....mandatory reporting will need to be painless and glitch free.
Apps are probably the worst avenue for reporting these days with such a high rate of data theft around these days.
I have been reducing my exposure to data theft a lot this year.....I think everyone needs to pull back from apps.
-
-
While I agree with everything you said Phill. You know intimately how bad the RRFF review was back in the day. Their models are bogus and that comes from crap data in = crap data out. I was a proponent of the mandatory catch reporting. It’s not that hard to implement. My biggest concern now is the flip flopping from the scientists. When their current models don’t show alarming declines or seriously low “biomas” estimates they simply find a new model that does. We saw this recently with the Spanish Mac biomas debacle. This is just a fact that even the ardent fisheries defenders can’t argue with.
So now even if I got my earlier wish of mandatory reporting so we actually had good data, I’ve lost all faith that fisheries will do the right thing with that data. As you said, it’s “jobs for the boys” and it’s one of those jobs where if they actually did their jobs well they’d put themselves out of a job. We can’t have that now can we.
-
Just say NO
Don't put the boat in for a month, 2 months, 3 months.
The trouble is 90 percent are sheep.
Just look at the recent harm done to the sheep.
The reds have always been under the bed.
We know the commies are in power when the directive "dob in" is in their propaganda.
"Just say NO
Don't put the boat in for a month, 2 months, 3 months"
Argh, but who does that hurt? Small buisness, Docaster.
Yes, and you know what, that's exactly what the globilists want. And Australia's market share of outboards is nothing. This has nothing to do with fish stocks, it's about our ability to avoid their poisonous processed food.
No protein equals no brain. Plenty of evidence to support that.
Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
-
What might be better is to make it known that "NO"" to all Comrade Candidates in all elections by or large.
-
Amazing what goes through peoples minds ::)
You would have to be kidding yourself if you believe that fish stocks are not in decline . The only recovery we have seen in the last 20 years is by the implementation of tougher laws , reduced bag limits , closures , marines parks etc .
Add to that the quantum leap in marine technology - boat's , motors , electronics & apps - this decline in fish stocks will continue specially with the improvement in fishing efficiency added to boaties venturing further afield.
Ask yourself why do you venture further / wider etc to catch a feed of fish - be honest & you will have the answer to why we need to have to go down this pathway.
Many fisheries have been virtually wiped out & have only recovered with the assistance of tougher laws / bag limits etc.
As for jobs for the boys ..... I doubt it.
-
Fair Nuff Chris but what has that to do with Rec Fishers being imposed to keep records via App or whatever!!??. Al the reductions you mentioned like bag lmits closures etc , arent they enough if stocks are in decline ??..
Maybe the added baggage this Gov is carrying wont be Happy till all Fishing , Logging , Mining , Burning Fossil Fuels and breathing Air is STOPPED.,.
Could add more but waste of time me thinks ey..
-
Maybe fish stocks are in decline. Maybe different down south.
In the north I'd argue one doesn't get a huge increase in crocs with no food supply. In the 70's crocs were as rare as hens teeth, i wonder what they eat now. And sharks, can't kill them either. Flake was common in fish and chips shops. The grey suits can take a share of everything caught, they're a bigger problem imo.
A major problem is releasing undersized catches, perhaps a proven device should be mandatory.
And should no take species that carry ciguatera#be released. Any studies done on that option.
Maybe I'm naive on how many fish are caught, but what's the rule, only 10% of fishermen catch fish. I certainly don't catch enough to justify the expense.
And as far as an app goes, like that wouldn't be used to spy on people would it. Report a good trip, and bang, there's a knock on the door inspecting your freezer.
I don't have a problem with most things, but what's the point of the massive green zones that are never changed. That in itself puts pressure on areas. Are any studies done on this?
And while I'm on a rant, plastics. Are they actually plastic, don't they kill fish, clogging up their systems? Seems stupid to me to complain about plastic in the oceans when the fish get fed it. Any studies done on what then gets fed to us. They reckon microplastics are now in our blood. Anybody know?
-
I have mixed feelings about a rec fishing app....but agree that there are more people that are better equipped at catching fish then ever before.
Sure accurate numbers should be used to make more accurate stock assesments but even knowing that, many would not fill it in honestly, and we still face the conundrum of pressure from conservation organisations and infiltration of left wing Uni students into fisheries and national park positions as well as a left wing state and federal government.....
Many of the blokes up my way that catch the most fish are very distrustful of government, fisheries and national park changes and motives in general.
if the Spanish mackeral assesment showed us anything its that the truth doesnt matter but more so the agenda of those that make the decisions...
and that just reducing bag limits of one of the most popular freezer fillers will just put more pressure on other species....
As I have stated before, Pro catchs should be reduced before that of Rec guys who put their blood sweat and tears into owning their own boat and gear and are willing to go out and hunt down a feed...
I believe we have a greater right to the stocks then those who just pay for seafood to the detriment of stock numbers and the associated by- catch killed by Pro's.....
I know the inshore GBR fisheries will see a big improvement once the gill nets are phased out...hopefully no stupid rec rules will be changed until we see the results of those changes.
and yeah some solution needs to be sorted in regards to increasing shark numbers in GBR waters ...perhaps marketing Flake should really be pushed as the main takeaway item for fish and chips...I remember it used to be when I was a kid...
-
Also how much of a difference would it make if we were to stop feeding the rest of the World with our stocks??.
-
The greed factor will stop plenty of people from giving catch data to the government correctly if at all.....they will not want to have tighter bag limits or increased minimum length or closed seasons.....
Then you have the large part of the population that are share farmers that will never give any data up.....yes it is a large percentage of the population.
-
-
I might stay out of this one, I made my feelings/thoughts clear before and got toasted………
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Share farmers?
Crab pot raider’s
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Recreational fishers of Queensland are in for changes, again.
Apart from the ever lingering prospect of a saltwater fishing licence hanging over our heads, it seems there is a strong possibility that mandatory catch reporting is on the cards. This would be done through new technology via an App, for your phone.........
LP
I must be the only person in the country who does not and will never have a mobile phone.......
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
banshee
I must be the only person in the country who does not and will never have a mobile phone.......
How in the world do you manage that? I envy that. I will admit the convenience and safety aspect of having a mobile phone is good. We used to have a landline, being rural though, telstra could never or didn't want to fix anything. The line was that bad we couldn't hear properly.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
The greed factor will stop plenty of people from giving catch data to the government correctly if at all.....they will not want to have tighter bag limits or increased minimum length or closed seasons.....
Then you have the large part of the population that are share farmers that will never give any data up.....yes it is a large percentage of the population.
If people were selling fish within the community on the black market then sure thats greedy and wrong and should be reported but people that just want to be able to feed their family fish and throw a couple to the neighbors ..then why is that greedy..?
probably its different in your highly populated SE corner of the state but you seem to be privvy to info that I dont see in my small regional area in FNQ...
and what do you mean by sharefarmers and they are a "large percentage of the population"...?..
I'm curious to understand what this country mouse is not seeing that you are..?
edit..ah Ok..yeah thieves are a problem everywhere...not too sure what that has to do with rec changes or bag limits though...
and you really dont get why many people are distrustful of government these days...?...hell you dont even need to have any affiliation with the tin foil hat brigade to know that the agendas involved in politics dont neccessarily align with what the science says and if there is no real science they seem to just pluck out numbers that suit them...
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
banshee
Even I have one ..I just dont know how to use it and have never made a text in my life..there is no credit on it to make calls either...
Cant even justify it for emergency calls nowadaays with owning a Garmin inreach..
I hate how people are so available to just answer a mobile 24/7 for even the most mundane and unneccesary calls..tradies and machine operators are the absolute worst....This used to irk the hell out of me when I was running landscape jobs..
But it annoys the hell out of me in car or boat when a bigmouth jumps on the phone blabbing about crap that could easily wait till he is back home that night...
The policy on my boat is no calls unless its too the missus to put more beer in the fridge on the way home from a fishing trip..
I do use my phone for taking pics and for spotify...
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Amazing what goes through peoples minds ::)
You would have to be kidding yourself if you believe that fish stocks are not in decline . The only recovery we have seen in the last 20 years is by the implementation of tougher laws , reduced bag limits , closures , marines parks etc .
Add to that the quantum leap in marine technology - boat's , motors , electronics & apps - this decline in fish stocks will continue specially with the improvement in fishing efficiency added to boaties venturing further afield.
Ask yourself why do you venture further / wider etc to catch a feed of fish - be honest & you will have the answer to why we need to have to go down this pathway.
Many fisheries have been virtually wiped out & have only recovered with the assistance of tougher laws / bag limits etc.
As for jobs for the boys ..... I doubt it.
we’ve been seeing these tougher laws for years though. It’s not like these massive restrictions on most species came in yesterday. Every species has a management regime that sees it impossible that a fishery is “wiped out”. On almost every popular species, we have had significant regulations that, going back in time, should have been bearing significant fruit by now. Ie the stocks should have been rebuilt to some respect.
Take snapper as a perfect example: sexually mature between 2-3 years of age and a MLS of 35cm means they potentially spawn for several years before being legally caught. Now only 4 fisher per person with 1 of them being over 70cm. 2 over 70cm per boat. 42T TAC for commercial fishers. The move from 5-4 and only 1 over 70cm came at a time when the stock assessments were saying that the fishery was sustainable but that they were “growth overfished”. Meaning not a lot of larger fish were in the biomass. Yet further restrictions and including a closed season implemented.
Then you have Spanish. Deemed sustainable under the old monitoring system, then they come up with a new model to calculate the biomass and bang, over fished. The new model applied to the previous stock assessments showed massive discrepancies between what we were told back then and what we are being told now. So effectively fisheries are telling themselves that this new model is “best practice” and it means that what they were telling themselves previously was best practice was complete and utter bumpkin. Why should we or even themselves believe the new model holds any water at all?
What I want to know is and no one has ever been able to tell me. If management regimes are effective then it ‘should’ mean that on the aggregate we all catch more fish, right? Either CPUE improves, or in another way of looking at it, we either catch our bag easier or for those that don’t have a lot of trouble catching our bag, the bag has a higher kg/size in it. So the question is, would this been seen as management measures are working? Or when the data is plugged into the model and reverse engineered to output the % of original biomass, would the model assume there are less fish remaining in the fishery? Because from what I could see in the previous assessments, the extrapolation of tiny amounts of Rec catch data, which make huge assumptions on Rec take based of boat registration increases, all means that the models assume larger and larger Rec take and therefore a diminishing biomass. But very little in the way of assuming the previous management measures were having a positive impact. It’s all biased towards showing that further management measures are required.
why should we or anyone for that matter have confidence in this. Especially when my own anecdotal evidence suggests that the fishery in SEQ is getting better.
-
Meanwhile in Vic, they actually have programmes to encourage kids to get into fishing. Terrific stuff.
https://vfa.vic.gov.au/recreational-...er-kit-project
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Volvo
Also how much of a difference would it make if we were to stop feeding the rest of the World with our stocks??.
Firstly , We import more seafood than we export
What we export is mostly high value product like lobster & tuna - live fish (coral trout) ....... stuff that the vast majority of Australians don't buy.
Would you like to see our commercial fishery shut down ?
Did lobster prices come down with the China import bans ...... nah
We jump up & down about this oversight because we just want to protect our own interests ....... yeh it gets up your nose a bit when here in NSW you have to let your second jew go - but hey you've already got many kgs of tasty fish in the boat.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
I have mixed feelings about a rec fishing app....but agree that there are more people that are better equipped at catching fish then ever before.
Sure accurate numbers should be used to make more accurate stock assesments but even knowing that, many would not fill it in honestly, and we still face the conundrum of pressure from conservation organisations and infiltration of left wing Uni students into fisheries and national park positions as well as a left wing state and federal government.....
Many of the blokes up my way that catch the most fish are very distrustful of government, fisheries and national park changes and motives in general.
if the Spanish mackeral assesment showed us anything its that the truth doesnt matter but more so the agenda of those that make the decisions...
and that just reducing bag limits of one of the most popular freezer fillers will just put more pressure on other species....
As I have stated before, Pro catchs should be reduced before that of Rec guys who put their blood sweat and tears into owning their own boat and gear and are willing to go out and hunt down a feed...
I believe we have a greater right to the stocks then those who just pay for seafood to the detriment of stock numbers and the associated by- catch killed by Pro's.....
I know the inshore GBR fisheries will see a big improvement once the gill nets are phased out...hopefully no stupid rec rules will be changed until we see the results of those changes.
and yeah some solution needs to be sorted in regards to increasing shark numbers in GBR waters ...perhaps marketing Flake should really be pushed as the main takeaway item for fish and chips...I remember it used to be when I was a kid...
Why is it that it's a left wing uni student that you are afraid of ?
Any logical thinking person involved in fisheries management will come to the conclusion that we cant go down the current path & we need solutions ......... A rec catch log is just one means of collecting data.
It doesn't matter what government is in ...... change is inevitable like it or not .
Distrustful fishoes are just the types that want to protect their turf ........ they just want to go out & slay as many fish that they can - if the mackerel are on , they want to fill their esky. I get it but it doesn't take away from the fact that it's just about greed.
As for those sharks - if they are so good to eat , why aren't the rec fishoes embracing the glut of sharks that we have ? .........
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
we’ve been seeing these tougher laws for years though. It’s not like these massive restrictions on most species came in yesterday. Every species has a management regime that sees it impossible that a fishery is “wiped out”. On almost every popular species, we have had significant regulations that, going back in time, should have been bearing significant fruit by now. Ie the stocks should have been rebuilt to some respect.
Take snapper as a perfect example: sexually mature between 2-3 years of age and a MLS of 35cm means they potentially spawn for several years before being legally caught. Now only 4 fisher per person with 1 of them being over 70cm. 2 over 70cm per boat. 42T TAC for commercial fishers. The move from 5-4 and only 1 over 70cm came at a time when the stock assessments were saying that the fishery was sustainable but that they were “growth overfished”. Meaning not a lot of larger fish were in the biomass. Yet further restrictions and including a closed season implemented.
Then you have Spanish. Deemed sustainable under the old monitoring system, then they come up with a new model to calculate the biomass and bang, over fished. The new model applied to the previous stock assessments showed massive discrepancies between what we were told back then and what we are being told now. So effectively fisheries are telling themselves that this new model is “best practice” and it means that what they were telling themselves previously was best practice was complete and utter bumpkin. Why should we or even themselves believe the new model holds any water at all?
What I want to know is and no one has ever been able to tell me. If management regimes are effective then it ‘should’ mean that on the aggregate we all catch more fish, right? Either CPUE improves, or in another way of looking at it, we either catch our bag easier or for those that don’t have a lot of trouble catching our bag, the bag has a higher kg/size in it. So the question is, would this been seen as management measures are working? Or when the data is plugged into the model and reverse engineered to output the % of original biomass, would the model assume there are less fish remaining in the fishery? Because from what I could see in the previous assessments, the extrapolation of tiny amounts of Rec catch data, which make huge assumptions on Rec take based of boat registration increases, all means that the models assume larger and larger Rec take and therefore a diminishing biomass. But very little in the way of assuming the previous management measures were having a positive impact. It’s all biased towards showing that further management measures are required.
why should we or anyone for that matter have confidence in this. Especially when my own anecdotal evidence suggests that the fishery in SEQ is getting better.
The NSW Kingfish fishery was nearly wiped out due to commercial practices - Floating Kingfish traps were banned back in around 1994 ....... recovery has been slow but it's getting there . It was argued by the commercial sector that there wasn't the science behind the ban - If they had waited for the science it would have probably been too late.
The NSW mulloway fishery was going down the same pathway ....... Thankfully the regulations were changed .
If there are concerns about a fishery ...... the concerns are based on something - could it be that the commercial catch rates have been in decline ?
Right now here in NSW it is very difficult to catch slimey mackerel - A species that was common & generally easy to catch - that is until it became a commercial target species ........ do we need science to justify the need to ban commercial netting of slimey mackerel . I dont think so when the anecdotal evidence points to a problem . ( Its a common theme when talking to other fishoes up & down the coast)
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
What we export is mostly high value product like lobster & tuna - live fish (coral trout) ....... stuff that the vast majority of Australians don't buy.
We jump up & down about this oversight because we just want to protect our own interests ....... yeh it gets up your nose a bit when here in NSW you have to let your second jew go - but hey you've already got many kgs of tasty fish in the boat.
Lost my long reply so here's the short version.
We import significantly more than we export. Basically generating money.
Crays aka lobsters were fairly cheap before we found export markets for them then local prices rose to match, yes greed involved.
Coral trout was a regular in restaurants and seafood places until a market for live coral trout was found to be profitable, once again local prices rose. This was one crappy industry, when I used to fish the Swains back in the early 2000's we'd come across dorys with generally Maori people fishing for live coral trout. They were on strict rules, they were paid $2 for a just legal Coral Trout as this was considered plate size and paid the most o/s, anything larger they got 50 cents per fish. We would regularly get offered a whole esky full of fish for some beer which we rejected.
Yes after exports stopped prices did drop, not much as the exporters still wanted their money, a lot like a labourer who is earning heaps of overtime then that comes to a halt when jobs dry up abd then they cry poor as their spending/borrowing habits are beyond their basic wage.
But then we now live in a global community and that is one of the downsides.
-
Rec fishers in the north don't need to eat shark as there's enough reef fish to eat, including the half eaten trout you just pulled in after the tax man took his share. Flake tastes a hell of a lot better then the imported "barra" they flog off down south in some batter, and it would help the commercial fishos.
Watch the latest from Reef Adicts, Josh and the boys are getting flogged by sharks, I've never seen anything like it.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Why is it that it's a left wing uni student that you are afraid of ?
If I really have to explain that to you Chris..then you are part of the problem..;)
I spent 4 years at Uni ..my kids have been to uni and we all see the mindless and sustained indoctrination of young minds by the rabid left wing activists that run the Uni's and that should be there to teach them how to think, research and reason, not just fill their young and inexperienced minds with propoganda and idealism.....
i still remember thinking what an absolute tosser Peter Garret was when he gave a speech at my Uni in Sydney 35 years ago...very ironic to think he actually became Education minister during his political foray..
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
If I really have to explain that to you Chris..then you are part of the problem..;)
I spent 4 years at Uni ..my kids have been to uni and we all see the mindless and sustained indoctrination of young minds by the rabid left wing activists that run the Uni's and that should be there to teach them how to think, research and reason, not just fill their young and inexperienced minds with propoganda and idealism.....
i still remember thinking what an absolute tosser Peter Garret was when he gave a speech at my Uni in Sydney 35 years ago...very ironic to think he actually became Education minister during his political foray..
So in your mind everyone that leaves uni is a leftie ideologist ?
Yes younger people generally are more socially aware ...... but by the same token there are many who are looking for the $$$$$
Generally if you seek a career in the sciences - its more often than not you are not doing it for the money . So does that mean whoever is not out to make a motza is a leftie ?
I know a lot of right wing conservatives see it that way .
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Dignity
Lost my long reply so here's the short version.
We import significantly more than we export. Basically generating money.
Crays aka lobsters were fairly cheap before we found export markets for them then local prices rose to match, yes greed involved.
Coral trout was a regular in restaurants and seafood places until a market for live coral trout was found to be profitable, once again local prices rose. This was one crappy industry, when I used to fish the Swains back in the early 2000's we'd come across dorys with generally Maori people fishing for live coral trout. They were on strict rules, they were paid $2 for a just legal Coral Trout as this was considered plate size and paid the most o/s, anything larger they got 50 cents per fish. We would regularly get offered a whole esky full of fish for some beer which we rejected.
Yes after exports stopped prices did drop, not much as the exporters still wanted their money, a lot like a labourer who is earning heaps of overtime then that comes to a halt when jobs dry up abd then they cry poor as their spending/borrowing habits are beyond their basic wage.
But then we now live in a global community and that is one of the downsides.
Sorry - Cray has never been fairly cheap ..... certainly not in my lifetime
During the 1990s - $50 / cray
Today $90 plus /cray ($111 / kg)
Not talking about those small WA crays that turn up every now & then for $20 & keeping in mind that we are not exporting to China
Do you really believe those guys catching live trout were paid as low as $0.50 / fish ........ So if the mother ship had 1000 live trout at top dollar the catch was worth $2K - lets say 5000 fish @ $10K . .....I t wouldn't be commercially viable even back in the 2000s . A commercial crabber would be making $20/kg for live crab .
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
So in your mind everyone that leaves uni is a leftie ideologist ?
Yes younger people generally are more socially aware ...... but by the same token there are many who are looking for the $$$$$
Generally if you seek a career in the sciences - its more often than not you are not doing it for the money . So does that mean whoever is not out to make a motza is a leftie ?
I know a lot of right wing conservatives see it that way .
I'm not going to get into a left vs right argument...as i have said before the further each way you swing the worse it becomes..
But my original points are very valid..there is a high level of left wing activism at all Universities which is promoted by a high proportion of Left wing teachers and staff....thats simply just a fact...
and I think its sad that so many youngsters develop such hardline views without having really gained much actual life experience...seriously how can you know how the world works if you havent even had to struggle to work and pay the bills yourself.....I personally think every kid upon leaving school should be given a backpack and airplane ticket and told to go explore the world for a year (no not bali but proper third world countries) or a working holiday in new Zealand oe elsewhere....they will learn far more doing that then rushing straight from their parents home and straight into the hands of these experienced professional manipulators at Uni...
BTW we just had 2 American uni students spend three weeks with us that had just completed a semester studying in NZ and, seriously, they were the most annoying and useless humans I think I have ever met...
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Sorry - Cray has never been fairly cheap ..... certainly not in my lifetime
During the 1990s - $50 / cray
Today $90 plus /cray ($111 / kg)
Not talking about those small WA crays that turn up every now & then for $20 & keeping in mind that we are not exporting to China
Do you really believe those guys catching live trout were paid as low as $0.50 / fish ........ So if the mother ship had 1000 live trout at top dollar the catch was worth $2K - lets say 5000 fish @ $10K . .....I t wouldn't be commercially viable even back in the 2000s . A commercial crabber would be making $20/kg for live crab .
They would have been paid by the kg even $2 a kg live is less than filleted price even monkeys would not fish in the baking sun for peanuts.
Even 1000 trout in a trip would be fishing half the swains reef system pros only spend a day to day and a half on a reef as they shut down with noise there smarter than we give them credit for.
And yes lobster thermidor has never been a cheap restaurant item ,the $20 tails in woolies are very small I’ve seen bigger prawns
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Dunno Chris maybe me no Understand , Kapito , Katallaveno and just try suss out the commonsence of it all which seems non existance !??.
And as for lobster ??, can get it now cheaper then ever before, here at Coles n Woolies that is
-
Large lobster I was buying around $60/kg during covid when the export trade shut down.
I'm sorry, I'll need to clarify, the coral trout trade in the nineties etc was mostly dead fish,live fish was in it's infancy. The dory fishermen were basically just cheap labour for the mother ship and they were selling them on for quite a considerable profit. These dirys would fill up a 150 litre esky in a couple of hours a morning, they used bathyscopes to pinpoint them around the bommies and another crew member would handline exactly where directed. Those blokes could pull in fish quicker than we could believe. We would chat to them on a regular basis so knew what was going on. The mothership they reported to certainly weren't flash and grog on board was strickly prohibited.
Live exports is now the major trade with very little going to the local seafood markets.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
I think licencing recs needs to come in.....mandatory reporting will need to be painless and glitch free.
Apps are probably the worst avenue for reporting these days with such a high rate of data theft around these days.
I have been reducing my exposure to data theft a lot this year.....I think everyone needs to pull back from apps.
What's an App ?
:) FYI, I don't take my phone in the boat.... maybe I do. rarely though.
Photos are taken with Drone, waterproof Camera or Go pro. :)
LP
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Volvo
Dunno Chris maybe me no Understand , Kapito , Katallaveno and just try suss out the commonsence of it all which seems non existance !??.
And as for lobster ??, can get it now cheaper then ever before, here at Coles n Woolies that is
I'll be doing our normal run to Sydney fish market next Saturday ( 3am) - been a bit of a tradition for the past 8 or so years .
I'll take some photos & put them up
Lobster will be well over $100 / kg ..... but what will be scary will be oysters ..... $30 / doz I'm guessing
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Dignity
Large lobster I was buying around $60/kg during covid when the export trade shut down.
I'm sorry, I'll need to clarify, the coral trout trade in the nineties etc was mostly dead fish,live fish was in it's infancy. The dory fishermen were basically just cheap labour for the mother ship and they were selling them on for quite a considerable profit. These dirys would fill up a 150 litre esky in a couple of hours a morning, they used bathyscopes to pinpoint them around the bommies and another crew member would handline exactly where directed. Those blokes could pull in fish quicker than we could believe. We would chat to them on a regular basis so knew what was going on. The mothership they reported to certainly weren't flash and grog on board was strickly prohibited.
Live exports is now the major trade with very little going to the local seafood markets.
The live trade target a specific size of fish ..... But they still ice down other trout that fall outside their parameters .
I was just in Malaysia & you could get live trout (Aussie) for around 400 ringgit - about $130 / kg Aussie ........ thankfully Talapia was cheaper & ...... was just as good (if not fractionally better) :o
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
What's an App ?
:) FYI, I don't take my phone in the boat.... maybe I do. rarely though.
Photos are taken with Drone, waterproof Camera or Go pro. :)
LP
phil you and I had a bunch of back and forth during the RRFF review and the Rec fishing body you helped set up. What would you rather? Take a photo of each fish you want to take home from a free app on a brag mat. Or simply cop massive assumptions from Fisheries that Recs take 75% of the snapper based off massive extrapolations from boat ramp surveys and assumptions that snapper catches are increasing inline with boat registrations?
Honest question. Because it’s not until there is solid Rec data that we can even begin to question the science. Until we can question the assumptions made by so called scientists.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
I'll be doing our normal run to Sydney fish market next Saturday ( 3am) - been a bit of a tradition for the past 8 or so years .
I'll take some photos & put them up
Lobster will be well over $100 / kg ..... but what will be scary will be oysters ..... $30 / doz I'm guessing
Surely you have a decent local fish market? Nothing is cheaper/better or fresher at Sydney, in fact, it’s usually much more expensive than a local. I have a great one near me, and a pretty good one quite close, but, you need to pick and choose there. Prawns and Oysters will all come from the same places and be fresh (or fresh frozen) this time of the year.