-
First timers experience at a m&g - Straddie.
Every time I see a m&g post I think I am going to this one. Inevitably as the event gets closer and the trash talk begins I chicken out. Obviously all these guys know each other, will I be treated like an outsider or welcomed? Well it was time to find out. So last Thursday night I told my wife that I wished to spend a night on the Gold Coast with random people that I found on the internet. After some strange looks and SWMBO reading the Ausfish thread I was granted a leave pass.
The weather looked good on Saturday afternoon so I loaded the boat with a few rods and bait(escape plan should the m&g not go well) and beer in an esky.
I headed off for the Weiman Ck boat ramp for the first time and found it to be really good. Headed down to Tipplers via the Canaipa passage and arrived about 1630. I anchored a fair way from the Ausfish flag in case I made a tit of myself anchoring up but that all went well. I wandered over and after being bagged about the ETEC I was introduced to everyone. First problem, everyone except Lucky Phill and Chong used their real names. I had only ever related to these guys via their Ausfish names. Anyway I was helped reanchor closer to the tent and unloaded the esky and chair. The plan was to drink slowly and bail to go fishing before I was over the limit. Second problem, who can drink slowly with these guys (except for teetotaler Muddy Toes). So settled in and soon enough the fire was stoked up and the BS and jokes began. Most people reverted to their Ausfish names after a few drinks which made life a whole lot easier. The night went quickly and before I knew it I was out of beer and trotted off to sleep it off on the boat.
There are more elaborate descriptions of the activities of the night documented elsewhere on Ausfish.
So who should go to a m&g:
1) anyone interested in fishing/boats (some seriously nice rigs to look at)
2) if you are not offended by a bit of swearing (approximately every 4th word or every word if you are Chong)
3) sick of political correctness (definitely none of that PC stuff there)
4) don't mind a drink or twenty (if drinking is not your thing you can join the white beanbag gang on the beach)
5) interested in meeting a great down to earth bunch of guys and girl
Verdict:
Wish I went years ago. i will definitely be back for more.
Thanks for organising a great outing Marty and thanks to everyone who made me feel welcome (even if you did bag the ETEC all night!)
-
Re: First timers experience at a m&g - Straddie.
Was good to meet you brendan, you should have said you run out of beer, there was plenty of joy left....
-
-
You should have seen me earlier in the day I could have given you a cuppa tea ;)
-
No turning back now mate, it's gets even better if you can get up to the breaksea spit or 1770 m&g , hope to meet you in the future. Cheers MM
-
6) stay away from any drink called "Joy". Old mate camping near by, Tony (I think), came told some jokes, had a swig of joy and went running home jumping over anchors lines as he went never to be seen again!
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
TREVELLY
You should have seen me earlier in the day I could have given you a cuppa tea ;)
I arrived as you up anchored. Very distinctive boat Trevelly.
-
You need to come to 1770 brendan, its the same but for 7 days...
-
It was a good weekend and you got to meet a lot of the regulars, your not a stranger now and I expect to see you on a few fishing trips!!!Dont take any of the etec bashing too serious...apparently I am known as Dremel now....
Marty
-
Thought about going to one of these myself but don't actually know anyone. I quite enjoy the odd beer and a bit if bulls@&t and really love looking at boats so I might have to bite the bullet aswell. Waking up with your eyebrows is always a bonus.
-
To be honest guys, I think you will be surprised at the calibre of people that are your Ausfish Folk. Come along you will enjoy it, very easy going blokes and quite cunny funts too!
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Captain Seaweed
It was a good weekend and you got to meet a lot of the regulars, your not a stranger now and I expect to see you on a few fishing trips!!!Dont take any of the etec bashing too serious...apparently I am known as Dremel now....
Marty
You ain't dremel, Jim is!. You will have to ask Macca why Jim got the Dremel tag. I near choked on my joy when he came up with that.
-
You'd swear that some of the guys are related to each other, they look that similar, but yeah as Marty said very nice people.
-
1 Attachment(s)
Was an absolute pleasure meeting you Brendan or Brendon or who cares how you spell it really!!!
Can't believe you went to bed because the esky was showing empty!!
Three things you should never have to ask at a M&G are......
1. Permission to board?
2. Should we make this fire bigger?
3. Is there any spare booze around here!!!!!
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
cobiaman
You need to come to 1770 brendan, its the same but for 7 days...
Somehow I doubt my liver could take it. Besides I would have to do some fishing as the kids keep asking where the fish are?
-
Was great to meet you.
The only reason we all know each other is we turned up to a M&G and said g'day. That is it!
The refined country gentlemen travel quiet a ways to go to these and we would not know any of these city folk if we never went to a M&G. In fact there are times I reconsider that original decision, but most of the time you get a real good bunch of blokes and sometimes their family. At the end of last year, we did a M&G at Somerset dam and it was a family affair (not as in Giffos joke) and I brought my family including two little girls. Others brought their wife, GF, BF and kids and we dragged tubes around the dam all day and had a BBQ and language/behaviour was fine.
You don't have to be a drinker (Muddy is a non drinker) nor a blokey bloke. Just need to love boats/fishing, enjoy a relaxed time, not be too serious and appreciate honesty and a laugh, because you will get plenty. In general, if you have a problem, these same people will be the first to put their hands up and help. Then joke about it relentlessly on the forum and at every M&G for the next few years.
So next one - turn up for a few hours, days or weeks. It is all good.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
mull dog
Thought about going to one of these myself but don't actually know anyone. I quite enjoy the odd beer and a bit if bulls@&t and really love looking at boats so I might have to bite the bullet aswell. Waking up with your eyebrows is always a bonus.
Mate that is exactly the position I was in and why I posted this thread. The pre trip banter can be intimidating but it is a great time and the guys are really friendly
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Still_Dreamin
Somehow I doubt my liver could take it. Besides I would have to do some fishing as the kids keep asking where the fish are?
If your serious about coming for a day, two days, week, two weeks.......bahahahaha!!!!! An Etech wouldn't last two weeks!!!!
Then put up in the Agnes M&G thread and see if anyone has a bed, floor, garage to crash at and come on up!!!!
-
Seriously MT you need therapy for this ETEC phobia. I suggest two weeks at 1770 fishing everyday should cure you.
-
Gees MT you sure like the dislike button. Don't like ETECs. full of hate aren't you. Not cuddled enough as a kid?
-
Thanks for the insight Brenden. I'm about to embark on my first m&g but at least I've met a few of the people so I shouldn't be too intimadated, although Muddy seems downright scary threatening to shoot me if I didn't give him my rego number.wtf ! I was too nervous to send it to him thinking I might get it wrong and he'll find out and go for his 45.
Macca's going to give me a bottle of sambucca at the big m&g and I think I'll have to drown the lot before I set eyes on that Muddy character, neverlone the rest. One thing I've got in my favor is that there's no white donk on the back of my boat.
-
Yep good to meet you Brendan. As everyone else has said get up to Agnes mate. Great fun and the fishing can be great. Most don't indulge quite as heavily as Saturday night up there apart from Cobiagetmeanother5litresman.
-
Gee, Apollo's post almost brought a tear to my eye:'(. I can imagine how hard it is for a newby to crash one of our get togethers but I am yet to see anyone who turns up who was not welcomed with open arms (and eskys). Most of us like a bit of a laugh and the chance to wet a line or have a beer with like minded fishos. You won't find a better bunch of people to get to know.
The Agnes M&G is the highlight of the AF social calendar but there are plenty of other opportunities to get to know the team. A day or two in M&G camp can forge friendships that could last the rest of your life (unless you have an Etec)
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Still_Dreamin
Gees MT you sure like the dislike button. Don't like ETECs. full of hate aren't you. Not cuddled enough as a kid?
he's bound for glory!
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
thelump
Cobiagetmeanother5litresman.
It was very appreciated when you dropped off that 5L of shine today! Thanks for keeping my alcoholism alive...
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Captain Seaweed
To be honest guys, I think you will be surprised at the calibre of people that are your Ausfish Folk. Come along you will enjoy it, very easy going blokes and quite cunny funts too!
aww shucks your making me blush
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Still_Dreamin
Seriously MT you need therapy for this ETEC phobia. I suggest two weeks at 1770 fishing everyday should cure you.
This is where the issue arises.
I'm not exactly going to pay out the Yamaha owners am I?
Last time I pushed my luck with a Honda owner Phill changed my avatar pic.
If I tried to pay out Jim's Verado that cheeky bugger will out wit me everytime!!!
So what's a man to do?
-
We're any of you blokes left there on Sunday at lunch time?
I pottered over there but didn't see any Ausfish boats.
I did manage to make a fool of myself as usual. Three blokes were having a laugh and a beer and one was a younger bloke of Asian origin. He had a smile on his face that my imagination puts on Muddy Toes when I read his posts.
So I asked. 'You blokes aren't from Ausfish are you?'
They clearly hadn't heard of Ausfish but luckily the name doesn't sound too bad... (Who wouldn't want to be mistaken for a Aus Fisher) so I was able to escape gracefully.
Didn't stop my missus and daughter putting crap on me for being a goose though..,, :)
So were any of you big kids still left over there are lunch time Sunday?
(Using Tapatalk on iPhone so can't easily 'thank' or 'like')
-
2 Attachment(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by
thelump
Most don't indulge quite as heavily as Saturday night up there apart from Cobiagetmeanother5litresman.
You sure did raise a little rat bag.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Apollo
So next one - turn up for a few hours, days or weeks. It is all good.
Apparently you can't attend for a few hours without being labeled a "part timer"
Next one I get to I'll stay a little longer.......and all you blokes will be saying "geez, I wish he was here only part time.......":-?
Some of the attendees I already knew (some I wish I didn't), but it was good to put faces to names and make some new acquaintances. ;D
Has anyone mentioned how impressive Yamaha Row was......875HP of awesomeness.::)
G
-
Good to meet you mate!
I only joined AUSFISH because I was renting a holiday house next door to some members at a 1770/Agnes M&G..... that brief encounter was enough to get me interested in this bunch of fishing mad blokes who enjoy a drink and a laugh and the odd adventure too. Definitely get along to the Agnes/1770 M&G if you can. You won't be the only etec there!
-
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
fish'n'chippy
Apparently you can't attend for a few hours without being labeled a "part timer"
Has anyone mentioned how impressive Yamaha Row was......875HP of awesomeness.::)
G
I see you are part-time in the 100's of Yamaha awesomeness ;D
But in all seriousness Grahame I could afford to go fishing often in your neat bay rig - not to the shelf in the others ;)
-
My first experience at an Ausfish M&G was at Agnes a few years ago. Tim and I went up knowing absolutely no one and booked a place at some friggin eco resort thingie about eleventyeight million K's away from everyone else.
Went out to have a fish the day before it officially kicked off and caught a few so we decided to weigh them in at Roz's and Phill's place. Met Phill and Roz.Phill was on his way out to grab his shirt from Murf and told us to tag along to do the same if we wanted to. We did that and before we even got in to the house Apollo and Trymyluck introduced themselves to us and made us feel at ease by including us in to their already ongoing fishing conversation about a swains trip they had done.
Bla bla bla.............on to the first official day of the M&G and I'm fishing off Lady Musgrave, getting towards late afternoon and my motor wouldn't start. Along came Robtarr and Fishfeeder who offered their assistance first which I declined as I thought we might have had a chance of fixing it ourselves. Roll on another hour or so still with a busted engine and now a busted radio (don't ask!!) Rob Tranter and his merry men came along to offer assistance and a tow in to the lagoon. I declined the offer of a tow but took him up on his offer with the radio to which he then called the VMR and told them of my plight. He then very kindly monitored his radio and spoke with the VMR until they arrived some hours later as they were unable to talk to me.
Bla bla bla..........
All on the same week,,,,
-got a dinner invitation from Phill and Roz
-repeatedly got phone calls from Marty and a few others offering me spots on their boats
-took Phill up on his offer for a trip on the last day
-numerous offers of help to diagnose my motor issues
and met random Ausfishers at the ramp and the Tavern through out the week.
So folks if your thinking that coming to your first M&G might be intimidating try being the stooge that breaks down 65k's offshore on the first day and can't fish for the rest of the week!!!
This little story is what happened to me on my first M&G..............you could not find a better, more helpful bunch of like-minded blokes and ladies to spend a day or a week with.
-
Nice one Trev,
"I'm only little"......but it's about the size of the fight in the dog, not the size of the dog in the fight.
Was even thinking of a name change after they couldn't catch me......
"Going Hard"
"Slippery when Wet"
"Gingerbread Man"
"GLASOS"
75 pure bred ponies of sheer awesomeness mate, and someone who's not afraid to use them ;D
G
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Gee, Apollo's post almost brought a tear to my eye:'(. I can imagine how hard it is for a newby to crash one of our get togethers but I am yet to see anyone who turns up who was not welcomed with open arms (and eskys). Most of us like a bit of a laugh and the chance to wet a line or have a beer with like minded fishos. You won't find a better bunch of people to get to know.
The Agnes M&G is the highlight of the AF social calendar but there are plenty of other opportunities to get to know the team. A day or two in M&G camp can forge friendships that could last the rest of your life (unless you have an Etec)
I also had a tear in my eye until you mentioned Etecs...this is a fishing site, not a love in! screw Etecs, wheres Macca?
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
WalrusLike
We're any of you blokes left there on Sunday at lunch time?
I pottered over there but didn't see any Ausfish boats.
I did manage to make a fool of myself as usual. Three blokes were having a laugh and a beer and one was a younger bloke of Asian origin. He had a smile on his face that my imagination puts on Muddy Toes when I read his posts.
So I asked. 'You blokes aren't from Ausfish are you?'
They clearly hadn't heard of Ausfish but luckily the name doesn't sound too bad... (Who wouldn't want to be mistaken for a Aus Fisher) so I was able to escape gracefully.
Didn't stop my missus and daughter putting crap on me for being a goose though..,, :)
So were any of you big kids still left over there are lunch time Sunday?
(Using Tapatalk on iPhone so can't easily 'thank' or 'like')
Apart from Myself, Phill and Marty sitting in the circle when you came over the rest had already flown the coupe.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Muddy Toes
This is where the issue arises.
I'm not exactly going to pay out the Yamaha owners am I?
Last time I pushed my luck with a Honda owner Phill changed my avatar pic.
If I tried to pay out Jim's Verado that cheeky bugger will out wit me everytime!!!
So what's a man to do?
How about you stand on a table at the Agnes tavern or on a table or chair at the cook off and say very loudly - Hi my name is Anthony and I once owned a Mercury outboard motor.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
how about you stand on a table at the agnes tavern or on a table or chair at the cook off and say very loudly - hi my name is anthony and i once owned a mercury outboard motor.
and i've got the vmr rescue receipt to prove it!!!!!
-
Brendan, it was good to meet another 2 stroke outboard owner and I'm sure you'll have a great time at 1770 if you get up there. It was also a pleasure meeting the newer faces to these tidy little events - Graham (Graeme, Grahame), Trev and family, Jim and wife, Mark, Steve and 'the package'....and the regulars.
See you all next time.