-
Re: People going ape over fuel prices, how are u baring the cost?
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Dignity
And they breed, my daughter was a teacher at a large rural high school where some of the kids could barely read or write, how they got through is a wonder but the system allowed them. These were third generation Social Security kids. When she said how are you going to fill out the forms to get the dole if you can't write and they said "they'll do it for us Miss". Unfortunately it IS a way of life for many now.
Im offended by that Digs. My mum worked from 16 up untill 3 years ago she worked her entire life and she is illitrate, i was illitrate untill i was 20 years old couldn't read couldn't wright left school in year 8 at that time i was writting part words at a time i had 15 jobs but couldn't hold any
Don't put everyone in the same basket because you and your kids could read and wright from a young age and had educations.
-
not everything is targeted at you garry
back to the fuel thing
just got a Tesla model 3 and a 10.5 kw solar system so no fuel for the next ten years for every day use
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
gazza2006au
Im offended by that Digs. My mum worked from 16 up untill 3 years ago she worked her entire life and she is illitrate, i was illitrate untill i was 20 years old couldn't read couldn't wright left school in year 8 at that time i was writting part words at a time i had 15 jobs but couldn't hold any
Don't put everyone in the same basket because you and your kids could read and wright from a young age and had educations.
Wasn't thinking of you Gaz nor putting every other Social Security claimants in the same basket, just stating fact that she was teaching third generation Social Society kids, it's the way they are brought up, their parents never worked nor their grandparents and they are quiet happy to just take money.
You at least try and do things, these kids don't and don't want to, although sometimes I wonder if you bother to read past the first few words due to some of your responses.
-
-
Yeah i kind of took it personal as i wasone of those kids that needed help filling out the forms to apply for center link, i had to get help to open my first bank account that i still have today i didnt know how to do anything
My first job at 17 the boss gave me a form to fill out i had no idea how to fill it out i overheard the boss say to another worker "he doesnt know how to fill it out"
I went to a new age apprentiship place when i was 24 to apply for a carpenters apprenciship i called up to make the booking the receptionist said i had to pass a short reading test so i went in on time sat in a small room with 3 other kids than i was handed a long mathes test i wanted to walk out i knew fa about mathes so i pretended i knew and started doing the mathes test i failed miserably i felt so ashamed i never felt i was able or capable of even getting a apprenticeship it was a terrible time i beat my self up about it
Most of my jobs that i have worked i've been sacked from not from lazyness i was at work 10mins before all the jobs started
Its not a choice to be sitting on center link i cant do shit cant even get a home loan which buying a house is the biggest thing i want just an old shack in the country but its so hard and near impossibly being on center link
Some guys on here think its a luxury being on center link couldnt be further from the truth the boordem just eats away at you
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
stevej
not everything is targeted at you garry
back to the fuel thing
just got a Tesla model 3 and a 10.5 kw solar system so no fuel for the next ten years for every day use
What is your average daily commute? Will you be charging when the sun is up? Do you have a home battery?
Sorry for all the questions but I I'm 12 months out from replacing my work daily and Tesla is in the equation. Already have a similar sized solar set up.
Cheers Matt
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
shortthenlong
What is your average daily commute? Will you be charging when the sun is up? Do you have a home battery?
Sorry for all the questions but I I'm 12 months out from replacing my work daily and Tesla is in the equation. Already have a similar sized solar set up.
Cheers Matt
Yeah I have the same sized system too and we get screwed in QLD as we get so little credit for input..
Unless you can charge and use high power usage things (cars, air con etc) while the sun is shining then you wont get much benefit as you will have to produce about 3.5 times the amount of electricity as you actually use....when the sun is down you are just buying at retail price from the grid..
If you were to work day shift and need to drive too work and can only recharge at night then you are stuffed..
Battery storage is the answer but the cost is still prohibitive..
I hope Steve does all the sums so we can get a real take on the true cost...if the commute is short then it might work out OK..but it also comes down to how much excess power is left once the household is accounted for..
-
It’s the wife’s car tbh and she does a 100 km round trip five days a week
atm with covid she’s working from home with occasional office trips
we have the included charger which is 10 amps and puts 15 km per hour into the car at 2kw per hour when charging
so around 6 hours to charge for that daily trip
we just had a Tesla 32 amp charger installed which puts 55km per hour in for 7kw per hour to charge
while shes working from home we just charge it during sunlight hours at a lower amperage to keep under the solar output
when going to work it will get two hours before and two hours after work of solar
its a bit to manage and will have to buy power but hopefully that’s offset by what we generate as well
-
1 Attachment(s)
It just takes a bit of fiddling around to learn how to best use what you are generating...
Here is a bill of ours....I just noticed our purchase price has actually dropped a couple of cents per kw though the price they pay for our own generated power is still 7.86c..
We did just get a $198 cheque for the excess we are generating which is good...we dont have air con though ...
Attachment 125099
Steve, does the car use 12 kw to travel that 100km's..?
-
1 Attachment(s)
Do you get a choice of provider in the deep north? We only installed our system in May and were getting 6 cents feed in but I changed in July so now get 13. We are now in credit at the end of every month.
Attachment 125101
-
We have no options..Just Ergon...
So you get twice the price as us for your feed in....I'm really jealous..
-
And my previous provider asked why I was leaving as the buy tariff was very similar.
Do you have 3 phase power to your property
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Dignity
And they breed, my daughter was a teacher at a large rural high school where some of the kids could barely read or write, how they got through is a wonder but the system allowed them. These were third generation Social Security kids. When she said how are you going to fill out the forms to get the dole if you can't write and they said "they'll do it for us Miss". Unfortunately it IS a way of life for many now.
THIS NOT DIRECTED AT ANYONE - IT IS FACT
I was a COP in NSW for over 30 years. I remember not long after a joined I was transferred to an area which had an entire suburbs (several) of Housing Commission. I obviously had a sheltered childhood as I’d never even heard of housing commission. Anyway, I initially felt sorry for these people being in a position where they needed government assistance, but spending large parts of shifts in these suburbs I quickly found that the vast majority could not give a hoot as long as they had their hands greased every fortnight and got everything they needed for nothing.
Then one day I had cause to go to a house where a young girl 19 or 20 lived with her three (yes three) children. I got talking to her thinking she was doing it tough, but when I asked her where she lived before here, she quickly told me she grew up in Mount Druitt and when she and her sister were old enough they got their own housing home.
Unfortunately they believe its away of life and each generation will get their own free house and a fortnightly payment.
Very sad, but I feel it’s the government’s that allow this by just giving, giving, giving.
There is no incentive whatsoever to fend for yourself.
True Facts
Shakey - If only I lived near the coast
-
People going ape over fuel prices, how are u baring the cost?
Quote:
Originally Posted by
gunna
Bit like when I have crossed the Simpson. Last fill point on the western side is Mt Dare Station. They certainly didn’t miss with the prices.
I paid $2:45 per litre at Innamincka nearly ten years ago. At the time fuel was scarce so they upped the price and we had to pay for it or not get to where I wanted to go.
-
Since we’re giving stories regarding Housing commission etc. and certainly not directed at anyone…..;)
I grew up in a Housing commission community along with my mum, brother and sister after my deadbeat dad left when I was 6 and never paid a dollar to raise us.
I started my Carpentry apprenticeship at 16 and left home a year later and after 35 years as a chippy, I’ve never had a Centrelink payment or any government handout including that Kevin Rudd stimulus package he was throwing out to anyone.
The cycle of “Houso” can be broken if someone is motivated to do something with their life. My two adult kids are both working. One in upper management, and my son is also a qualified chippy heading into supervising large projects.
Just a different view that not all of us follow in the footsteps of circumstances put upon us by no fault of our own.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Ducksnutz
Since we’re giving stories regarding Housing commission etc. and certainly not directed at anyone…..;)
I grew up in a Housing commission community along with my mum, brother and sister after my deadbeat dad left when I was 6 and never paid a dollar to raise us.
I started my Carpentry apprenticeship at 16 and left home a year after and after 35 years as a chippy I’ve never had a Centrelink payment or any government handout including that Kevin Rudd stimulus package he was throwing out to anyone.
The cycle of “Houso” can be broken if someone is motivated to do something with their life. My two adult kids are both working one in upper management and my son is also a qualified chippy heading into supervising large projects.
Just a different view that not all of us follow in the footsteps of our circumstances put upon us by no fault of our own.
Totally agree my friend. I was just talking about an experience of mine. Yes some need the assistance through no fault of their own, but unfortunately not enough prepared to better themselves like you. Well done.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
shakey55
THIS NOT DIRECTED AT ANYONE - IT IS FACT
I was a COP in NSW for over 30 years. I remember not long after a joined I was transferred to an area which had an entire suburbs (several) of Housing Commission. I obviously had a sheltered childhood as I’d never even heard of housing commission. Anyway, I initially felt sorry for these people being in a position where they needed government assistance, but spending large parts of shifts in these suburbs I quickly found that the vast majority could not give a hoot as long as they had their hands greased every fortnight and got everything they needed for nothing.
Then one day I had cause to go to a house where a young girl 19 or 20 lived with her three (yes three) children. I got talking to her thinking she was doing it tough, but when I asked her where she lived before here, she quickly told me she grew up in Mount Druitt and when she and her sister were old enough they got their own housing home.
Unfortunately they believe its away of life and each generation will get their own free house and a fortnightly payment.
Very sad, but I feel it’s the government’s that allow this by just giving, giving, giving.
There is no incentive whatsoever to fend for yourself.
True Facts
It's a sad reality - I grew up in St Marys (adjoining suburb to Mt Druitt) - One side of my street were housing commission & the other side were private . My first place I lived when I moved out was Mt Druitt ....... so I got to see life at the bottom end . There are a hell of a lot of people who are just lower income earners , lots of single mums ...... & then you have the dead shits - those that either do not give a hoot - wait for their hand out , let their kids run feral (out all night / skip school etc) ...... I saw it first hand as I hung out & grew up with some of these . Unfortunately , I used to hear that many were hanging out to get the dole when they left school ..... no drive , no ambition . That said ... one of my clients came off the streets of Mt Druitt & is now a very successful businessman .
What may surprise you - this doesn't just happen at impoverished suburbs like Mt Druitt (btw the suburb just recently had a $2m house sale :o)
Go to a place like Cronulla & check out the surfie dudes who share houses / pool resources just to surf. I also lived in Cronulla & experienced more theft / breakins than when I lived in St Marys & Mt Druitt.
-
-
Hey Col,
It’s a similar situation in Victoria (Moe and Morwell Victoria) where I grew up in Housing Commission. Some great AFL players came from the Gippsland region.
I played Aussie rules until I was 34 and for me the footy club was my “stable” family if that makes sense? It gave me values, discipline and father figures that helped guide me in the right direction.
Sport is a fantastic, understated recreation that should not be overlooked in developing under privileged kids from all backgrounds.
All in my humble opinion of course.
-
Vote Labour at the next election..
They are actively campaigning to "fix" the welfare problems...::)
https://www.alp.org.au/petitions/its...ease-newstart/
Typical Labour policy...throw more money at it and ,like magic, the problem is fixed...;D
They are also campaigning to spend billions on upgrading social housing...
https://www.alp.org.au/repairsocialhousing
A fancier pad and larger dole check will certainly help fix generational unemployment...not...:(
-
Struggling is not having 10k and thousands year on year to spend on boats cars and so on
struggling is a aged pensioner getting pneumonia because they can’t afford heating and poor nutrition
struggling is a single mum leaving an abusive relationship and not eating every day to put two kids through school
I know and help a couple of friends who are in the above situations by no choice of their own
what would help them ? A public housing house
are any available even for a short term to get back into their feet ? Nope
unfortunately the lazy bludgers take funding that could be used to help true need
life’s tough and unfair and will always be that way, i can buy a new rod or some groceries for a mate charity isn’t always a government thing to fix
-
-
For me I think unemployment benefits, especially for those under 30 should only be used for short term unemployment. If you are under 30 (an argument for all ages can be made easily I think) and have been unemployed for more than 6 months. Then to keep receiving benefits you should have to be enrolled in some sort of training programme. Whether that’s computer skills, trade skills what ever it may be.
sooner or later some of these dead shits that don’t want to work will get to a point where they understand that they are competent enough to be earning a good living in what will become something that is not hard for them to do. I can imagine it’s a daunting feeling being unskilled and trying to be in the workforce. But if you’re being forced to spend 6 hours a day, 5 days a week learning to type or work with Microsoft Office products. Whether it’s Welding or fibre glassing etc at some point you’ll realise you could be earning over $1000 a week doing the exact same thing.
-
1972 - 1982 I lived in Blacktown. Only Aussie in a street of foreigners. Most of them couldn’t speak or write English. But they did whatever was necessary to earn a living. Whether it was cleaning or labouring or similar menial jobs. Being on the dole was beneath them. They took great pride in carrying their weight and not relying on the public teat. Great bunch of people.
-
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by
gunna
1972 - 1982 I lived in Blacktown. Only Aussie in a street of foreigners. Most of them couldn’t speak or write English. But they did whatever was necessary to earn a living. Whether it was cleaning or labouring or similar menial jobs. Being on the dole was beneath them. They took great pride in carrying their weight and not relying on the public teat. Great bunch of people.
My parents were from that stock - Imagine ( this is true)
Walking 1km to the station at 5am ... carrying your tools (chippie) - getting on a train .... travel to Sydney - then on a bus out to Diamond Bay (Vaucluse) to build these in the 60s Attachment 125104
That was 5 hrs a day (travel).... for 3 years
I'm still in awe of what he did & sacrificed ..... 22 years before he bought a car - spent the money sending the 5 kids to a private school instead.
There was definitely something about those post war (displaced people) who came to this country ..... the ones that were called wogs
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
My parents were from that stock - Imagine ( this is true)
Walking 1km to the station at 5am ... carrying your tools (chippie) - getting on a train .... travel to Sydney - then on a bus out to Diamond Bay (Vaucluse) to build these in the 60s
Attachment 125104
That was 5 hrs a day (travel).... for 3 years
I'm still in awe of what he did & sacrificed ..... 22 years before he bought a car - spent the money sending the 5 kids to a private school instead.
There was definitely something about those post war (displaced people) who came to this country ..... the ones that were called wogs
By the way - those units sell for around $1.9m today
-
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
blacklab
I'm more disturbed to the fact that you were private school educated Nagg
;D.........
Na, those early post war migrants, bleed blood with there attitude towards work, it's what kick started Aussie in all honesty.
Col
Yep - Catholic schools ...... mum & Dad didn't want their kids going to public schools .
There is no way that I could have kept up with my father ..... but as he saw it - he never wanted the kids to have to try .
-
2200 km done in the Tesla
$0.00 spent on fuel and electricity, so far solars managed to cover 200 percent of charging
will see how that goes through winter
from my now limited knowledge of how not works and some dodgy road to marine conversions
for boats to have 300 hp worth of electricity to cover 150km of marine range will require a 440kg battery pack plus 100kg of cooling and charging equipment
that’s if they could make its safe
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
stevej
2200 km done in the Tesla
$0.00 spent on fuel and electricity, so far solars managed to cover 200 percent of charging
will see how that goes through winter
from my now limited knowledge of how not works and some dodgy road to marine conversions
for boats to have 300 hp worth of electricity to cover 150km of marine range will require a 440kg battery pack plus 100kg of cooling and charging equipment
that’s if they could make its safe
Your summers usage may balance out the rainy, stormy, short winter days so if your getting free travel now i reckon on a yearly scale it would pan out next to nothing, my sister is getting a tesla and i calculated the power cost to only be $25 there abouts a charge