View Full Version : fireline for flathead
Brenno
20-04-2004, 10:27 AM
i've been using mono line for all my fishing and after reading about fireline on this site i've decide that i'll give it a go.
i've got a 6'6 rod and a threadline reel, i'll be using this combo for flathead around the Gold Coast. most of my fishing will be landbased.
as i've never used fireline before i was wonder what size main line and leader should i use ???
Brenno
20-04-2004, 10:29 AM
forgot to ask.
what type of knots should i use?
SeaHunt
20-04-2004, 10:45 AM
Everyone will probably tell you something different, but for me 8lb fireline, 15 to 25 lb mono leader tied with a Stren knot as shown here should pull up most flatheads. http://www.stren.com/knot11.htm
Zeeke
20-04-2004, 11:05 AM
ill say all you need is 4lb fireline, ive seen it catch flathead upto 86cm and ive caught them to 70cm on 4lb fireline using a 6lb leader.. flathead arent dirty fighters and tire out quickly, no real need to over do it for them..
Brenno
20-04-2004, 11:42 AM
i've got 12lb mono on now. would this be ok as my new leader, with the 8lb fireline as my main line.
basserman
20-04-2004, 12:22 PM
follow timbo advice!
i'v caught big lassards over 90cm long and up to about 5kgs on 6lb fire line and would bet i could of got away with 4lb!
only real time a flattie fights is when he is in a net or boat ;)
but when the bream go off the bite and the tide is running out they are sure fun on plastics ;D
rick_k
24-04-2004, 09:44 PM
g'day Brenno,
you'll do what suits you, but, fireline/braid/gelspunpoly ain't for everyone.
It is expensive (who cares? If we wanted to eat fish we would save $at the most expensive restaurant in town), it has little stretch which is great for trolling but leads to pulled hooks, esp on lizards.
If I were you, landbased/flats fishing, I would go for as light a mono as my existing threadline gear would cope with, with a short (<20 cm) hardish mono leader eg Penn10x 7-10kg or equivalent tortue classic trace.
I WOULD NOT BOTHER WITH GSP EITHER FUSED OR BRAID for flathead unless trolling, unless you think there is a clear advantage from low stretch (pullled hooks) or fine dia (increased lure depth/casting(?))
Rick K
BlitzBaga
25-04-2004, 05:19 AM
Brenno
I use bionic braid, I have found that the salt is too abrasive on 12lb and seems to wear through with the action of the rod tip when trolling lures, the 20lb handles the salt well. In the fresh I use 4&6 lb fireline and the 12lb bionic, I have used the fireline in the salt but it prematurely frays (although bridge pilons and shopping trolleys don't help). No mater which brand of braid you use the feel and sensitivity of mono just doesn't compare, you will go back to mono and feel how doughy it is then you will stick to braid.
Oh yeah, leader material, I use 20 to 25lb mono (any kind i've got) in the salt and 8 to 10lb vanish mono in fresh.
Murray
jazzy_g
27-04-2004, 10:12 AM
wat about around snages and bram fishing of land with braid line and in easterys and briges ???
craigie
29-04-2004, 09:39 AM
G'day Brenno,
Mate, I just run 10 lb or 14 lb Fireline straight to the lure, stuff the leader, have not lost a Flathead yet to a bite/bust off.
If you fish this method, back your drag right off and just leave enough resistance to hook a fish. With no stretch in the Fireline, hooks will pull out of your lizards if the drag is screwed up too much.
Craigie.
beefaman
29-04-2004, 01:25 PM
Flathead you could catch on anything. I use 4lb fireline and 6lb Vanish and have caught them to 88cm. Just have to back the drag off a bit and keep their head below the water so they dont rub you off. I have even walked them into the bank like a dog on a leash at the end of the fight for a photo.
Just use a double uni for leader to fireline and a loop knot for the lure.....
but as seen from above, there is no right class, just what each prefers.
I mainly spin for bream, hence the lighter gear.
agnes_jack
30-04-2004, 08:43 AM
I've always stuck with light line when luring for flatties. I dont see the need for heavier than 4lb in braid or mono. 12 pound leader to a spider hitch double, uni line joiner, no worries! Always back the drag off when bringing the fish close to the boat or into shore. That is about the only stage of the fight where you may come a gutser unless you have snags to contend with.
Regards, Tony ;)
30-04-2004, 04:58 PM
For me, it is all about the drag. The closer they get to the boat the more I start freaking about having too much load. I find they may do one or 2 short runs at the boat when they realise they are in trouble, but that is about it. So if they have little drag they do there little run, don't break off from any damage on the leader, then come happily back to the boat. Less is more. You can always tighten it a bit but after they bust off it is too late.
6lb fireline is all I use for most estuary. Is amasing how strong this stuff is. Why to they call it 6lb if it doesn't break till about 20?
With leaders, I use penn 10x in 12lb. Is strong enough for most things (remember the drag). On a thread about 6 months ago the general concensus was 10x, and now after using it I agree.