Colour wise ???

Macca

Zeeke
25-07-2004, 09:02 PM
green

agnes_jack
26-07-2004, 07:26 AM
Gday Macca
Depends what I'm chasing, but general purpose-motor oil golds, greens or a bit of red or pink over white for the flatties.

Regards, Tony

Squizy
26-07-2004, 08:33 AM
The "Squidgie" Blood worm or the Pumpkin Skin "Slider" have not let me down yet when chasing bass and Yella [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Rebbasser
26-07-2004, 08:58 AM
I'd have to say watermelon red flake-kind of a medium green with red glitter. I use a lot of different colors of soft plastics, but that is the most consistent bass catching color I have found.

basserman
26-07-2004, 01:35 PM
purple

26-07-2004, 04:36 PM
I think I have had most success with gold glitter squidgee curl and shad tails in 50 and 75 mm for my main target which is flathead.

Codswallop
27-07-2004, 07:02 AM
Black-gold Squidgy fish for me! Have caught a lot of fish on this color, as a SP or as
a soft tail on a spinnerbait! ;)

beefaman
27-07-2004, 08:29 AM
Watermelon and plum [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Chrisso
27-07-2004, 10:38 AM
Pink 60mm Squidgey Fish with a shad tail. ;D Worked yesterday. ;)

Rebbasser
27-07-2004, 10:48 AM
I'm going to ask whay to y'all might seem like a dumb question: What is a squidgy?

Being a south Texas bass fisherman I'm not familiar with some of the lures and terminology y'all use, but I'm learning fast ;) ;D

Zeeke
27-07-2004, 12:46 PM
Squidgys are a range of soft plastics designed by 2 of Australias most well known lure fisherman, Steve Starling and Kaj "Bushy" Busch

this is a website showing the range of soft plastics they have designed
http://www.squidgy.com.au/

Hope that helps

Rebbasser
27-07-2004, 09:05 PM
Thanks, Zeeke. I'm real familiar with that kind of bait, but here in the States there really isn't one major brand like y'all have. The shad type works great for me on a leadhead, but I really only use the curl tails as a trailer on a spinnerbait. I'm just not familiar with the terminology y'all use, so thanks for the information!

Zeeke
27-07-2004, 09:26 PM
95% of the soft plastics in Australia being used today are American made.. we have all your common plastics like Atomic, Gene Larew, Slider, DOA, Terminator, Zoom, Berkley and so on, but Squidgies are probably the most common of the aussie made and designed soft plastics we use.. they'd probably work exceptionally well on your largemouth and smallmouth bass, aswell as many saltwater species you have and then most of your freshwater fish like Crappie and trout and such.. they are a scented and salt inpregnated soft plastic which is a true money winner ive heard for freshwater fish.. hence why your big brand plastics are also salt inpregnated

gunna
28-07-2004, 05:48 AM
I used camoflage the other day & it worked a treat. Not one single fish could find it.

I fish mainly bass minnows and in those I like pearl blue & watermelon.

Rebbasser
28-07-2004, 06:07 AM
Tim, believe it or not one of the best scents here in the states is Garlic. I have no idea why, but largemouth bass really like the stuff. I never throw a Zoom soft plastic without putting some garlic scent on it.

Gunna-I've had days like that. guess that's why they call it fishing instead of catching ;) ;D

Zeeke
28-07-2004, 07:31 AM
Reb, guess what mate, same here too!! Spike-IT Garlic Dip and Spike-IT Pens are some of the top dip scents here aswell.. and have accounted for some very big fish, including our own species of Bass!

Rebbasser
28-07-2004, 09:32 AM
I reckon it is the same all over the world. One of my favorite soft plastic colors is green pumpkin dipped in chartreuse Spike-It.

Which leads me to another question-do any of y'all use a bait called a Senko or one of the Senko knock-offs? They are one of the hottest baits in this neck of the woods.

aussiebasser
28-07-2004, 05:51 PM
Just a slight correction, Squidgies are not made in Australia. As far as I know the only Aussie made softish plastics are some of Rio's Shrimp and Fish patterns and the small popper.

As for colour, it depends what I'm fishin' for and the time of the year. For Bass a 2" White shad on a beetle spin is pretty hard to beat at Maroon, but not so effective at Hinze. The greenie Mudeye coloured Slider works. For flathead, Pink and Red/White Shads have worked for me. For Bream, anything coloured similar to blood worms works, but Honey coloured Kalin's are OK too. If your poaching some friendly fish from a pontoon where they're reguarly fed bread, a white 2" grub can be deadly. Just watch out for the feeder of the Bream, some of them get pretty attached to their pets.