View Full Version : which Baitrunner
Mortalkombat
30-07-2004, 02:42 PM
I am thinking of getting a bait runner but cant decide between the 4500 and 6500 (Shimano of coarse)i want to load it with 30 lb braid, floating pillies for snapper and so on, the rod it would be going on is a ugly stick 1706 bws
any thoughts guys
Nick
30-07-2004, 05:14 PM
I have a 4500b that I use with 25lb platipus platinum mono for floating bait for snapper. If I was running braid then I would probably go 20lb.
My fishing is only between 10 ot 15 metres depth. If you are deep fishing then probably consider the 6500b, but if shallow then the 4500b is more than enough. Not that I know squat.
If you are loading 30lb then probably more suited for the 6500. Again,, not that I know squat.
I have 20lb on my tss4 under recommendation from others on this site. You could probably go 30 on it and the tss4 is probably closer to a 6500 than a 4500.
But then,, I have never had a monster on the 4500 so never really pushed the drag to the limit, so for all I know, you may be able to run 30lb to it's max on a 4500.
See,,,, told you I know squat.
30-07-2004, 06:27 PM
The 4500 will handle any snapper you would care to catch & other fish like spotties etc
30lb broaid would be its upper limit though. For the 1706 BWS, the 4500 would be a good match.
ken4159
31-07-2004, 04:57 AM
Nick, I have a 6500 with 30lb braid & find it to be the perfect match.
Ken
Tony_N
31-07-2004, 05:39 AM
G'Day Nick
I have the 6500 on a 8ft 8-10 live fibre using 20 lb mono. The 6500 is a surprisingly heavy reel and in retrospect I think for running out floaters in the burley trail, a 4500 would have been the more balanced choice for the rod.
As it happens I also have a rod the same as yours - a BWS 1706 Ugly Stik (+Daiwa Emblem pro 5500 +30lb fireline) which I use as a spinning/jigging outfit. This is a much more beefy rod than the LF and your post has lit up my little globe to change the reels over on the rods.
I think the 6500 on your ugly stik (and mine) would be perfect, but I really strongly suggest that you take your rod in to your reel supplier and feel both reels for balance.
wrt using braid for floaters - the jury seems still to be out. I have heard lots of people say that using the baitrunner drag and when you get a take, locking into to full drag on main drag causes a lot of hooks to be pulled out of fish - ie need the stretch of mono to prevent so many losses. I guess its just a matter of loosening off your main drag and tightening it up as you play the fish. However, I like to have my drag preset and tested before I go out to around 3kgs (20lb line) so that I don't have to adjust it and run into trouble if a tuna or cobia take the floater- so I prefer mono for this type of fishing.
FWIW
Tony_N
31-07-2004, 06:04 AM
Just checked the weight of the 6500 = 870 grams
daiwa 5500 pro is 690 grams
my TLD 25 is only 695 grams
don't have the weight of the 4500 - but Shimano only list up to 20 lb as line capacity. From this I would reckon that 30lb is overkill.
blue_rogue
31-07-2004, 06:18 AM
Black and Blue
Was out fishing on Saturday and was in the company of my mate with a 4500 baitrunner with 16lb fireline. He hooked two 6-8kg mack tuna, and a 10kg cobia. The reel was beautiful, though the mack push it to the limit early in the runs.
I just bought a 6500 baitrunner this week off ebay of U.S$118 out of Maylasia, a bargain.... Am about to spool it with 30lb braid, and can't wait to bash something with it this weekend......
I have seen the big 6500B in action and they are awsome. If you run into some serious fish, it is always nice to know you can keep them away from the bottom. They are tough reels and you can lock the drags up very tight...
Tough call, but you won't sorry buying the baitrunner of any size.
Goodluck
lukebrooksby
31-07-2004, 07:46 AM
I have personally gone for the 3500 baitrunner with a 7.0" Ugly Stick rod, but in my instance i am fishing with 10lb platil millenium braid. I tend to fish with lighter tackle. It sounds like your combos will be deadly, so either way you will have a good set-up.
philip_thomson
01-08-2004, 01:49 PM
ii bought a 6500B at christmas time and love the reel they are truely awsome. it depends where and what depth you are fishing in. if it is in like moreton bay then the 4500B is sufficent. offshore you might wish to go for the 6500B. i have 20lb platinum on it and it is great. strong reel.
when i bought mine there was a $5 increase from the 4500 to the 6500 and so for the extra $5 i got the 6500
cheers philip
blue_rogue
06-08-2004, 05:20 AM
Black'n'Blue,
Used my 6500B baitrunner for the first time on Sunday. What more can i say. Absolutely awesome. First fish was a 6 kg snapper. The fish gave a little stick though the reel loved it. Sucked the knobbie straight of the bottom and to the surface.
For the extra comfort go the 6500b. If you want to one cheap, go to ebay and look up 'Shimano'. When you see the baitrunners, then go to the sellers shop. You can get the reels out of Malyasia for about $160-$180 Australian. You will have the reel in your hands in under 4 working days. Much cheaper then any of the tackle stores. I bought mine, the new model and it is beautiful. 3 years warranty and all, straight out of the shimano factory.
Senf me a PM if you want any more info...
You can get any shimano reel at a big discount....
Dominic (Blue_Rogue)