View Full Version : new colour bass minnows

Coomeratackle
17-08-2004, 05:54 PM
Any of you guys/girls used the new berkely bass minnows colours yet..? We just got our supply in store ,so naturally I've got to test them out. ;D The blood worm looks good and reckon it will work really well on the sand flats, the bream should love it . Silver ghost has a good bait fish colour to it which i think the jewies will like , but I'm not so sure about the gingerbeer..I suppose only one way to find out.
Been getting plenty of good flathead lately through the Coomera with some fat bream through the top section of the Nerang , also a few small jews up the rivers, bass minnow have been the weapons of choice ,fished slow through the deep holes on the slack of tide. Also picked up three thumping whiting on little sliders (shrimp colour) , generally most whiting have come as by-catch while chasing other stuff, but i think i might have to start targetting them more deliberately. Fussy little buggers that are a lot harder to target than bream, but well worth the challange in skinny water. especially the sight cast. Anyone found any other standout plastics /colours for the little silver rockets.

macca
17-08-2004, 06:25 PM
Gee

Is that the price !!!

I'm sure I've been ripped off buying these somewhere else.

Next time I'm down that way I'll pop in.

Macca

clutter
17-08-2004, 06:26 PM
Steve,

Have to get a few pkts of the bloodworm, haven't had much of a chance to test out the eyeballs lately but hope to change that after this weekend. (end of sons footy season). Catch up this week hopefully.

Cheers Clutter

ba229
17-08-2004, 07:04 PM
Caught my only whiting on a 3' bass minnow prl/wtrmln/shad. Nice solid hook up too.

p.s. thats a good price for the plastics. See them here at $9.95 a packet or 2 packets for $15

beefaman
18-08-2004, 08:47 AM
The ginger beer works fine...bream and flathead love them...
;)

agnes_jack
18-08-2004, 09:09 AM
G'day Steve
Have you had a go with the 4'' power minnow in colors-- glow scales and chartruse/pearl/scales? Had a stack of people buying those lately and doing extremely well on the flatties. A good one for night fishing is the black shad color in the 3'' power minnow grub.

Regards, Tony ;)

Coomeratackle
19-08-2004, 04:02 PM
Clutters the eyeballs should be back in stock real soon. I hope so cause i haven't got any left in my own tackle box.doh.. Dean is away ATM due to unfortunately circumstances, but will be back on deck next week, theboss is filling in for him and i'll be in thrusday morning , sunday, monday ..We are holding a birthday special on the 28th of this month with giveaways, sausage sizzle, discounts and other stuff, which should be good, i'll make sure any ausfishers will get better discounts..

Tony I'll have to try the 4 "inch minnows and give then a shot , they should be a good size for the seaway down here..I'm keen to find out more about the squidgy stick baits , they can't be to far from being released , have you heard any news on them.

Steve.

19-08-2004, 05:03 PM
G'day Steve,

The guys in Sydney have reportly seen the squidgy "flickbaits" at their boat show (read off sportsfish)
N.b Their use of a term "flickbait" ... LOL. Just a marketing profit raising scheme IMO. Will be sold like the entire squidgy range... 6 bucks or so for 6 @ a dollar a pop. Meant to be tougher and better scented than a bassminnow :-/
Unless they start attracting fish from a mile away why wouldn't you just stick to a bassminnow ;D

agnes_jack
20-08-2004, 04:13 AM
I dare say the new squidgies would be released at the trade show at the end of the month, should be interesting.

Regards, Tony

Zeeke
20-08-2004, 04:17 AM
All i can say is.. Bring on the Terminator Finesse Jerkbaits!! then we wont be having discussions like this about plastics being "tougher" or better scented... other plastics wont compare to them ;)

p.s. Not an exceptional photo.. but you can see a Terminator Finesse Jerkbait ;) :o

20-08-2004, 07:44 AM
Looks like a bassminnow to me ;D but a tad sleeker ...

beefaman
20-08-2004, 08:12 AM
Terminator baits are very durable......but very hard to purchase, hard to find a shop with them and in no small sizes ???

20-08-2004, 08:28 AM
yeah .. spot on beefa. looked it up on the net .. 5"inch stickbaits seems to be as small as they go ? They sounds good though.

Zeeke
20-08-2004, 09:07 AM
Wait a lil bit fellas, and you'll be able to get the Terminator Finesse Jerkbait, which is a 4" model, profile of a bass minnow, but doesnt have a forked tail and ofcourse, 1" longer.. but certainly does catch bream!! and... ;D 2" Curltail Grubs... they should be out in the next couple of weeks.. and the 4" Finesse Jerkbait and 2" Grub will be for mostly our southern waters for bream and such, while the 5" jerkbait will be mostly for offshore guys and northern anglers..

duckbill
20-08-2004, 10:54 AM
Just got a stack of those snapbacks from Bass Pro. US$1.99 a pack... The rainbow trout ones look very tasty (no.24) ;D ;D ;D

Main link:
http://www.basspro.com/servlet/catalog.CFPage?pageID=349&cmid=FSC1_cmAB_A

Jerkbaits:
http://www.basspro.com/servlet/catalog.TextId?hvarTextId=44453&hvarDept=100&hvarEvent=&hvarClassCode=7&hvarSubCode=7&hvarTarget=browse

SCOTTYGC
21-08-2004, 09:10 AM
there is a trade only tackle show on at the gold coast convention centre 28th & 29th of august, anyone been invited to attened?
as i work there ill be sneaking in for a look 8)
might be able to get my hands on some info about some of the new SPs
scotty

agnes_jack
22-08-2004, 07:17 AM
Yeah Scotty, I'll be there for sure.
Look for an agnes b&t hat ;D

Regards, Tony

SCOTTYGC
24-08-2004, 04:37 AM
what days will you be there jack?

agnes_jack
24-08-2004, 06:24 AM
Scotty
Sat, Sun, Mon

Regards, Tony

beefaman
24-08-2004, 08:24 AM
Heard rumours that Terminator will be making bream and bass size SP's...cant wait!!! More for the tackle box ::) Just what I need :P

Coomeratackle
25-08-2004, 04:41 PM
Tony i'll keep an eye out for yah, on sunday/ monday. Can't go Saturday , boss have planned a big Birthday sale.
Pretty keen to check out a few new items, squidgy flick baits, squidgy braid , terminators baits, and the much talked about new penn lowprofile baitcaster.

agnes_jack
26-08-2004, 04:12 AM
Yeah should be interesting! I believe there is quite a few new items to check out.
I'll be there from fairly early sunday, got a couple of early appointments.
I'll have an agnes b&t hat on, hope to run into you.

Regards, Tony ;)