View Full Version : Which Reel for Offshore Fishing?

Needmorerum
20-10-2004, 03:23 PM
Well it's shopping time again, I'm in the hunt for a new rod and reel. I've been looking at something along the lines of the TLD20.
I want to use it for a bit of trolling for Mack, jigging, although I have only just started to do this, and wreck/bottom fishing. I know I am trying to do alot with one rig, but I have an ABU 7000 which is great on Mack, and I'm not real sure what I want to get to go with this. I also have one of the old big Dolphin overheads as well, this is great for bottom bashing.
I would be looking at putting maybe 50lb braid on whatever I get.
I had a look today at one of the Tekota reels as well. So many choices. What are the suggestions from those that have some of these reals.
My old man has 2 ABU 7000's, 2 9000's a 10000, and has just recently got a TLD20. He has been catching small Marlin and Pelagics off Mackay and Gladstone for over 40 years and hasn't had any problems.
So, what advice can you guys give me? If a TLD 20 is the way to go, would it be worth going for a 25 instead?
Corry

snappa
20-10-2004, 03:43 PM
corry

offshore i use penn 114h reels and have no trouble with them...
but i bought and im willing to part with it at the same price i paid.
tld30 two speed spooled with top line mono with a live fibre 15-24 kg rod
cost me and sell for [b]$400. :o
i used it only ONCE.

bobby777888
20-10-2004, 03:43 PM
TLD 20 is definatley the way to go, and is well worth the extra money. My cousin owns a chater boat off townsville and he only uses 25's. The good thing about these is that there really hardy and will last a fair while.

bobby

bobby777888
20-10-2004, 03:48 PM
sorry 4 the typo, i meant tld 25 in my first sentence

dfox
20-10-2004, 04:15 PM
corry - tlds are the way to go, which one to use varries a bit depending on a number of things, the 20 and 25 are vertially the same just the 25 has a wider spool, unless you really need a lot of line id go the 20 because its narrower and more stable to retreave. With braid it also is benificial to have a narrower spool, and the 20 is slightly cheeper. If money permits the 20 two speed is far superior again its not just a 20 with an extra gear but an entirely different reel built much stronger and the low gear comes in handy fighting large stuborn fish. But at current prices the single speed20 at roughly $200 is unbeatable bar none grab one it will do most jobs and is reliable...foxy

yockman
20-10-2004, 05:43 PM
G'day Corry,
Don't reckon you can go far wrong with a tld. I've got 4, 2 x 10's, 1x 15 and a 25. The 10's and the 25 are all 14 years old now, get flogged every year, cop a pizzling from the saltwater and still perform flawlessly with completely smooth drags. Can't ask for more than that. personally would go the 25 myself.
Yockman

HamzaLH
20-10-2004, 06:03 PM
I just bought a TLD25 <chek afart, they are less than $230 now> ... I'v only used this reel 3 times, but its GREAT ... My dad has a Tekota 800, its a smoother reel and has a level wind, but a the end i dont think it compares to a TLD ...

banshee
20-10-2004, 06:14 PM
Adding to what has been writen about TLD's,they are the simplest of reels to strip down and service.

Payneful
21-10-2004, 04:39 AM
If your running braid go the 20 ... if mono go the 25 ... basically what foxy said.

Sam

isaac
21-10-2004, 05:33 AM
The TLD 15 is $195, TLD 20 is $215 and TLD 25 is $ 220 at the mart at the moment, I bought the 25 as I plan on using 20 kg mono. Couldn't go past it at that price. Cheers Isaac.

21-10-2004, 06:16 AM
Pete is thet deal fairdinkum? I might have a buyer.

sominc
21-10-2004, 12:41 PM
i can sell you my tekota 800 only used about 3-4 times spooled with 30lbs pre-test and a top shot of 30lbs fireline. thats if ur interested

snappa
21-10-2004, 01:35 PM

YES
i would sooner use the 114's

Kiktz
21-10-2004, 04:54 PM
Corry,

I went through this same exercise about 12mths ago. I went with the Diawa (SLD) Sealine Lever Drag. I asked alot of questions from a lot of different people and at the end of the day it was extra on the money but I beleive I was buying a new an improved TLD( Sorry guys ) I have found it to be fantastic with no exception. The TLD's are rock soild and you will be hard up finding any faults with them.

At the end of the day ask alot of questions and get what is going to do the job you require and what YOU will be happy with.........

Volvo
22-10-2004, 02:04 PM
:)And before you do anything , Just have a squizz at the Tica ST558 ;)...

SeaSaw
22-10-2004, 06:25 PM
I use both a Shimano TLD25 and an Okuma T20L. Both are good reels and to be honest I can't tell them apart in terms of performance. Okuma seem to have developed their reels as a direct take off on the Shimano TLD range and IMO really have matched Shimano in terms of quailty. I do say matched as I would not rate it as a better reel, but it is $100 less.

I actually use the Okuma more than the Shimano mainly because the Okuma has a level wind and the shimano doesn't offer this, presumably because they are often a point of failure. I like the level wind particularly when using braid - it keeps your fingers away from that razor-like line when there is a sudden run from a BIG fish. I have given both these reels a fair work out over a couple of years and not had a problem with either.

agnes_jack
23-10-2004, 06:07 AM
Corry
With the current prices on TLD's as they are, they are a damn good way to go.

Regards, Tony ;)

PS- Love your website mate :D