View Full Version : Daiwa Millionaires

Jeremy87
14-11-2004, 06:28 PM
How do they compare in quality/price to other baitcasting reels. I'm looking on spending some money on getting a good quality reel that will last me for the next 5-10 years. Was looking at the CV-X203A or CV-X253A for bass, yellows, jacks etc. Can anyone better explain the Magforce-V Anti-Backlash System to me, I've heard its a waste of time. Anyway any comments appreciated.

spinner
15-11-2004, 02:28 AM
Hi Jeremy,
The Daiwa millionaires are a top class reel which will last longer than a lot of others out there. They are not cheap,but
are good value.(poor man pays twice)
The magforce feature is definately not a waste of time if you don`t like backlashes.
I`ve had a lot of baitcasters in my time and my ABU6500c3 mag (post on this page) is by far the easiest reel to cast that I`ve owned,with overuns a thing of the past.
The only thing I`m not keen on is that the Daiwas have an internal adjustment for the mag control.This means you have to take off the side plate to adjust for a diff` weight lure.
An external adjustment makes life easier.
Cheers,Reggy

Jeremy87
15-11-2004, 04:08 PM
Thanks reggy, had a look at one today at work probably will pick one later this week. Just wondering what anyone has to say about similar shimano baitcasters between the $300 and $400 mark.

15-11-2004, 04:37 PM
i own both a daiwa cvz and a shimano calcutta200 and they are both very good reels. the biggest differance i notice between the two is the amount of drag i can wind up on the cvz as opposed to the calcutta.(about 50% more)This is very handy when tackling the JACK :)

sixer
15-11-2004, 11:21 PM
could u plz help me i.ve owned a millionaire 6rm for the past 15yrs and i.ve just stripped it for the first time in 10yrs to deep clean the gearage and i've come across a problem. my problem is i need to find out in which order the drag washers etc are re-asembled as i dont want to just guess and take the chance of damaging it

p.s this reel has served me really well and has minimal maintainence and quite frankly i would be gutted if it went belly up by any mistakes re-assembling it.......a diagram would be handy..thanks a "million" in advance!!!!!!

Jeremy87
16-11-2004, 03:43 AM
Another question guys, its a bit specific so i don't really expect an answer but what the hell. My new bass rod can easily cast lures as light as 6 or 7 grams, if i get the 253 size will it be to large and compromise this or am i better off going down to the 203. Also i will be wanting to swap between 10lb and 20lb braid (10lb for bass and yellas in the sticks and 20lb should i want to tackle some jacks). The spool in dads shimano baitcaster can be easily removed and swaped with another spool. Can I 1. do this with millionaires and 2. buy a seconds spool.

spinner
16-11-2004, 04:08 AM
Sixer,
You should be able to view a parts diagram at
www.guffster.com/reelprts.htm
for your 6rm

spinner
16-11-2004, 04:41 AM
Jeremy,
For casting lures that light, I would be looking at the new
FEUGO or SOL models. The lighter the spool, the better for
casting light weights. Hope I haven`t thrown a spanner in the works, but best to look at all options before you buy.
Good luck. Reggy

sixer
16-11-2004, 06:07 AM
that was a big help
cheers reggy mate

Jeremy87
16-11-2004, 12:03 PM
Yeh reggy it did a little bit lol. The more I look the more options I see. Most of my lures are over the 10 gram mark, its just a case of keeping as many options open as possible should I want to through round some light poppers accurately instead of using a spin stick.

spinner
16-11-2004, 12:54 PM
Jeremy,
Keep in mind, you can throw both heavy and light lures with the lighter reel and spool, but you will find it difficult casting very light lures with a medium to larger reel.
It may be just me, but I`ve also found a reel with magnets
makes life easier, especially with lighter lures and braid.
Reggy

Wild_Side
16-11-2004, 02:24 PM
Hi Jeremy87, in reguards to your first Quest. I would have to ask how often do you Fish? Both the CVX-253 and the similer shimano calcutta are both very nice reels, but the CVX's gears stand up to a lot more, while the calcutta is a bit smoother. I personal have a few of each. I use my cvx's for stopping larger barra where as, I prefer the calcutta when flicking lures. I think you should maybe look at either a calcutta 50 or 100. Hope that helps. :-/

(P.S. a calcutta is a top little reel I've had one for years and it has coped a flogging and its still go'n) 8)

Wild Side [smiley=evil.gif]

Jeremy87
16-11-2004, 04:23 PM
Now schools nearly over and i have a car and a job i'm hoping to get out once every 1-2 weeks. Even if i'm not bass fishing it will get used for flathead and the like when i go to the pin. The main attraction in the daiwa millionaire is we stock them at work and i can get staff discount. Next reel i get after that will be a shimano so i can get a comparison. Thanks for the advice i'm getting guys its appreciated.

Strewth
17-11-2004, 08:41 AM
I have a CVX-100 and found it to be very durable and a good casting reel for 7 g lures and up. I fiited mine with a gigas spool so it can also throw lures down to about 4g http://www.plat.co.jp/english/bass/daiwa/goods/gigas.htm, as well as an external brake adjustement plate http://www.plat.co.jp/english/bass/daiwa/goods/mag_dial.htm

The brake plate is a godsend when you are changing lure weights and/or casting in windy conditions. Wouldn't be without it.

Strewth

Glind
17-11-2004, 09:15 AM
I would go for the CVZ or X in 203 size. I have been throght the same scenario and found the 253 too big to cast all day. Actually ended up buying a ABU4600C4 with beefed up Erskine drag etc. It is a honey at half the price and is as tough as. This size, 4600 or Diawa 203 holds heaps of braid for the intended work.

Girella
17-11-2004, 11:39 AM
Reggy
The ABU600C3 sounds like a must have.
What sort of lure weight and line strength are we talking ?
And what's the retail price ?

PK

spinner
17-11-2004, 12:48 PM
Girella,
The model I have is a ct(no levelwind) it is actually a long distance surf casting reel that I bought in London 4 years ago when they were not available in oz. I use mine with 6kg mono or 10 kg fireline for casting 20gm to 30 gm slugs and also pilchards.
If I was using lures for bass, barra, etc., I would get the 5500cs mag elite
model. This has a levelwind, narrower and lighter spool
and I could use 10-14lb mono or up to 10 kg braid with lures
from about 10gm up.
If I wanted to cast even lighter lures I would get a Daiwa Feugo or a spin reel. but for me, if it`s a baitcaster, it`s got to have magnets.
Last I heard, the mag elites were about $250.00 from Steve Barrat in S.A.

Jeremy87
19-11-2004, 03:36 AM
Gonna go buy one this evening so its your last chance to persuade me to do otherwise