View Full Version : What line weight?
Fellas,
I have a Abu Garcia ambassadeur 6500C3 Reel.I currently running platil millenium braid of 8kg.
I use it for the bay/broadwater and for trolling in the Timbers for cod & barra.
Do you feel that the line weight capacity might be a bit to heavy for this type of reel.
Ray
Fishinmishin
10-03-2005, 07:01 PM
Depending on what your catching or aiming for- I think it's a good choice although I've never caught a barra in my life so don't know what's suited to them. ::)
devocean
11-03-2005, 05:28 AM
No way especially if you are casting amongst snags
I may have not been that clear. I was refering to the line weight for that type reel as my mate thinks that i should use a heavy weight line on the reel, But I feel that the reel is at is weight limits now.
8kg is the heaviest line capacity that use on any of my rods/reels combos and 3 kilos being the lightest.
devocean, yes you may say that I live dangerously and I do tend you loose the odd good fish but I do manage to get decent barra out of the snags as I head up north each year in pursuit of them or the big cod out at Glenlyon dam.
I always think fishing should be a more even contest.
Sh++t I have just written the magna carter :o :o :o
devocean
12-03-2005, 06:33 AM
I agree but after I have got a few in the esky then I give em a sporting chance. I own a 2 kg rod with 6 pound braid which i use in the creek for sps and cant beat it for fun.
12-03-2005, 07:11 AM
Remo,
you will be doing bloody well to get more than 2 kg of drag from an ABU 6500. So if you want to fish more than 6 kg line (to its limit) you will need to use your thumb etc. That said, the heavier line will give you more abrasion resistance, even if you aren't fishing it to its limit.
What do you fish for in the broadwater? 8 kg line would be over doing it for anything in the broadwater IMHO, unless you are fishing some heavy structure.
12-03-2005, 07:20 AM
if you want more than 2 kg and cheap.. get some leather gardening gloves shape washers up out of them and replace the dodgy ones the abus come with, rub some grease into the leather to, i can get 4-5kg out of my abus that way but replace them as they thin. very smooth setup.
Jeremy87
12-03-2005, 10:18 AM
You can buy drag kits for most reels. Dad has replaced all the drags in his abu reels and his old 7000 holds up to about 3.2kilo's of drag (tested with an accurate spring balance) which is good for up to about 20lb
caveman
12-03-2005, 03:52 PM
jack eskirnes in cairns sells the kits for about $20, i don't know about the 2kg drag i put 30lb braid on mine for my last trip up north and set the drag at 12lb using a set of scales and that reel was strait out of the box
Daintreeboy
12-03-2005, 04:15 PM
Remo Devo is right. You really can go much higher with that reel, especially with thin Braid. I'd go 20 lb minimum. Do not worry about the max drag rule as you have to thumb fish out of snags often. Then you let the drag do the work afterwards.
You really need the extra breaking strain for that first 2 to 5 seconds plus abrasion resistance. I have 30 lb on my calcutta.
Cheers, Mark.
aussiebasser
12-03-2005, 05:48 PM
At Faust 2 years ago I fished 50lb braid off my 5500 2 speed. I currently fish 30lb Bionic off my 4600C4 and 50lb Bionic off my Pflueger Trion. The Pflueger has just had Jack's Carbontex drag washers fitted. It is well worth the small cost of sending your reel up to Jack and having the drag upgraded. For around $30 your reel will be transformed. I prefer to fish heavy to give the fish a better chance of survival.
Daintreeboy
12-03-2005, 06:18 PM
I prefer to fish heavy to give the fish a better chance of survival.
I prefer to fish heavier line to give me a better chance of catching them [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Moffy
12-03-2005, 06:42 PM
I prefer to fish heavier line to give me a better chance of catching them finally ::)
wuss.
Daintreeboy
12-03-2005, 06:58 PM
B*stard
fellas thanks for the input as like Gary I didn't know about the 2kg drag setting.
I'll look in to upgrading the washers.
Jeremy - I have used the term "broadwater" as the general area but not specificly. Jacks and jew are the target with the 8kg in that area.
Ray