View Full Version : Sp combo
mattooty
27-05-2005, 03:59 PM
Looking at finally getting a decent sp rod. Looked at an awesome combo today. Shimano Rack Raider and a 1500 sahara. for the combo it is going to cost $210. Does anyone know of any other rods or reels that are around this price mark? What other rods and reels does everyone else use?
Thanks.
flattymattyb
28-05-2005, 05:57 AM
HI Matt,
Heaps of different combos to try but heers a few that have served me well. 7' steve starling squidgy rod ($100) with daiwa 1500 samurai 7I reel ($80) this set up is good for light weights up to around 6-7g jig heads on 4lb string. My old favourite is a daiwa procaster z 6'6" 2-4kg rod (springwood Marine has them atm for $75) with a Daiwa regal z (not sure if they make it anymore but around the $120 mark)reel just a bit heavier I run 8lb most of the time but fishes 4lb fine and has landed some great fish for me up to 1m+ dolphin fish!. And lastly my new favourite shimano Tcurve 7' spin rod 2-5kg($170) and team daiwa advantage reel ($290) not a cheap setup but does the jobs of both the above mentioned rods and the reel is so smooth its unreal well worth the extra money. All prices are approx and retail in Oz have a look on the net and you can cut the reel prices down a fair bit ;). Hope this helps.
Matty
28-05-2005, 07:10 AM
Matt,
I just bought a 7ft Catera 2 piece graphite rod for $95 from Mossops. It's a great rod! I've had a 1000 reel on it which goes really well, and I've also got a Shimano 2500 size reel (Also from mossops $68 ) that will go on it as well. The 1000 for creek/river bream/flatties/etc and the 2500 for out in the bay.
On the 1000 I'm currently running platypus 6lb mono backing to 6lb fireline with a platypus 6lb leader, however am going to change the fireline to 4lb when it needs a respool.
On the 2500 I'm running 10lb (platypus) mono backing to 6lb fireline with a platypus 10lb leader.
I also have a 6'6" Berkley Drop Shot rod which I got for $99. It's a top rod as well. I just find that the Catera is slightly stiffer in the tip which gives a better hook up rate (It strikes a little better) but is still very reactive.
Scott15
28-05-2005, 10:34 AM
hey matt,
Ive got one of those rackraider rods with a 2000 sized reel on it and find the rod is awsome. Havent yet caught anything "BIG" on it but ive found that the rod handles really good. nice and light and sensitve and ya can also put some grunt into it if you hooked somethign decent. a great little SP combo ive found.
Steven78
28-05-2005, 02:24 PM
I just got a new combo.
Shimano Sedona 1500FB loaded with 6lbs fireline with a Studwick Sickstick 6'6" 2-4kg.
I hope to try it out with my new boat this weekend (:
I paid only $182
tangles21
28-05-2005, 02:56 PM
Mate i say go the sahara.I have a 1500 on a 7ft squidgy rod and cant fault it one bit.The rod is light and sensitive and can through unweighted 2 in plastics with ease.And the reel is awsome.I have it loaded with 4lb fireline.
My best fish on this so far is a 68cm flatty.The setup cost $168 as a combo from the store that cant be named.
cheers leigh
aaron_gilmour
28-05-2005, 03:06 PM
Hi Matt,
go the combo. I have the 1500 sahara and the rack raider rod. Top little combo which has served me well to catch everything from 60cm black jewies up north on the reefs to putting the spare spool on and throwing plastics to bream,flatties and bass.
Here is a pic of my brother hooked up to a small jewie in darwin on the combo.
aaron_gilmour
28-05-2005, 03:08 PM
Here is the end result. 50cm juvenile black jewfish. Released to grow into a big 1mt+ fish ;D
mattooty
28-05-2005, 05:02 PM
Wat did you get him on? plastic? I am keen to try for a few silver jew round here around the bridges with it. Mind you, hopefully they are a bit bigger than that but that is an awesome fish.
Thanks for the reply.
mattooty
28-05-2005, 05:03 PM
By the way, wat pound line have you got on it? I was looking at 8lb penn powerbraid. But have been advised 6 would be better. Might get 4 and 8 for the 2 spools.
SquareBear
30-05-2005, 01:38 PM
G'Day Mattooty.
Support Tangles21 100%! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
I too have the Sqidgie rod with the Sahara reel, and it has been up to everything I could throw at it! I have chased bream and bass with it, and have trolled metal lures after big tailor, and the combo managed the lot with ease [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
The Raider series rods are exceptional, however, considering the performance of my combo, I couldn't justify the extra $50. When all is said and done, you have to be comfortable with the 'feel' and action of your combo. Enjoy your new purchase!!
8)SquareBear 8)
NeMo84
02-06-2005, 06:16 AM
hey mattooty, mate i have a 7ft 2-4kg sic stik and i reckon its the $h*T, have already pulled tailor,bream,trevally,flathead,moses perch,grunter and a cod with it, i use 6lb fireline and the reel i have is a shakespeare powerplay 2500. I got them both separate, the reel was given to me, it'd be a cheap one but to be honest has had fish stripping line and has never choked once on me, i love it, but the best thing you can do is just look at as many as you can til you find one that feels right for you, one thing's for sure, once you get your outfit setup you'll have a ball! take it easy mate ;)
Dodgy_Back
02-06-2005, 10:34 AM
Mate
I started of with a Rack Raider with a Daiwa Samurai 2000 ,I found it to be a fantastic combo and not too bad a price.
Idon't think you can go wrong with the raider.