View Full Version : GOLD BOMBERS
fisho
29-08-2005, 05:34 PM
I hear so much about this lure. How much will one cost me?
mattooty
29-08-2005, 05:41 PM
10-15 bux. Varies from place to place. Good all round lure.
keen_as_mustard
29-08-2005, 07:32 PM
Gold Bombers are probably the most popular Barra lure in OZ. However, don't discard the Reidy's B52. For starters it is Australian (Bombers are US), usually a couple of bucks cheaper (sold in retail stores) and have stronger trebles (for Barra most people upgrade the trebles on Bombers, but this is not necessary on B52's).
I was in Weipa last year - I fished B52's and my mate fished Bombers - I caught more fish on lures that he did, so they definitely work!
CHRIS_aka_GWH
29-08-2005, 08:37 PM
schoolies in the rainbow take 'em - good time of year for them.
I think to B52 is a better lure than the Bomber but one thing the B52 is not Australian. It is marketted and maybe designed by Reidy's lures but is a Chinese lure. Have a close look at the package next time.
The thing about the B52 verses the Bomber is that the B52 has two hooks which is a bit better setup for the heavy hooks. The Bomber can have troubles with the three hooks tangling.
29-08-2005, 11:53 PM
Barra guys, how do the Halco's stack up? They are Australian made with good hardware and are miles cheaper but have they got the same action/bouyancy as a B52 or Bomber?
OzChris
30-08-2005, 08:46 AM
I swear by the halco scorpion with the gold/orange colour when trolling near the dam wall at faust...3 metres plus should do the trick just nicely.
wheezer
30-08-2005, 08:51 AM
some of you obviously haven't seen the price that bombers go for up north. Last time i was in cairns I picked up a few on special from a tackle shop up there for $8 each!! regular price $9.99 I've never seen a B52 or any decent barra lure for that matter that cheap. Besides, the way bombers shed their skin, you need to keep a bucketload on hand if the fish are on or you bounce them off snags alot ;D
SquareBear
30-08-2005, 10:39 AM
Had success with the Gold Bombers in Darwin on the Barra, and gave 'em a swim in my local estuary ... is now my 'go to' lure for Flathead! ;) ;) ;)
SquareBear 8-)
MickEddy
30-08-2005, 04:42 PM
g'day
big queenies love em as well, so do most other pelagics now i think of it.
mick
keen_as_mustard
30-08-2005, 06:55 PM
davo is right - b52's are "made in China to Reidy's specifications" or something like that...but Reidy's are an Aussie based company, so at least some monetary portion of every lure they sell stays in Oz?
Halco are also Australian owned (not sure were they are made)! We have to try to support the local guy were we can.
CHRIS_aka_GWH
31-08-2005, 06:58 AM
b52 have a deeper diving bib from memory
wheezer spray your old bombers matt black - straight black is a remarkably effective colour at the top of the water column - i've also caught tailor in the bay using a white sprayed bomber with a red head (but i've also caught tailor on cardboard)
gavsgonefishing
31-08-2005, 08:12 AM
The old black and white checker bombers used to work well on the tuna and the macs on hutchies and around flat. had to upgrade the hooks though
wheezer
31-08-2005, 08:42 AM
wheezer spray your old bombers matt black - straight black is a remarkably effective colour at the top of the water column - i've also caught tailor in the bay using a white sprayed bomber with a red head (but i've also caught tailor on cardboard)
I have thought of repainting them, as I have an ever growing collection of used bombers , mind you though, they still catch fish. I'd like to know if it's possible to recoat the lures in a similair bright gold finish easily and cheaply.
baldyhead
31-08-2005, 08:48 PM
Heres a tip for using a long A 3/8oz bomber. Remove the 3 trebles and fit a 3/0 razor sharp treble on the rear position only. To use this lure cast it to a likely spot and allow the ripples created to disappear. The secret is to have the lure in the strike zone for as long as possible. Once the ripples have gone give the rod tip one or two small jerks without moving the lure too far. The large treble will sink the bomber tail down with just the head/bib outta water and when you work the rod tip you will make quite a disturbance. IF it hasn't been eaten let the ripples disappear again and repeat the process. The strikes are very spectacular and happen when you least expect them. When I fish like this I make sure that the line is very slack from tip to lure between jerks. This usually guarantees 100% hookups and most of the time the lure is down the gullet bib first with the treble points facing out. Another thing is don't give up on a snag too soon either. Most of my bombers are white having lost their gold plating long ago and I personally don't worry too much about the colour.
For dam fishing @ dusk and dawn this method works well as a jerky retrieve back to the casting position. These modified bombers don't troll very well.... hope this helps baldy
landbasedtossa
31-08-2005, 08:51 PM
I won't go fishing unless I have at least two bombers on board. Don't worry about them losing their bark, just draw on a few tiger stripes with a nikko and away you go.
31-08-2005, 08:52 PM
I have thought of repainting them, as I have an ever growing collection of used bombers , mind you though, they still catch fish. I'd like to know if it's possible to recoat the lures in a similair bright gold finish easily and cheaply.
mix up some epoxy give the lure a coat then add gold glitter, use ya finger to make sure it lays flat.
CHRIS_aka_GWH
01-09-2005, 07:07 PM
jeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeez,
a double quote box - that's flash rob - real geek stuff ! ;)
sort of stuff a 3.5x103 post member can do I guess.
Smithy's comment about the Halco Laser Pro is worth adding to. I have a few and found them less effective but that was the old three hook version. Halco have released a two hook model is it's latest revision. I must get one to try up at Mackay in a few weeks.
The other barra lure that has been so effective for me is the River2Sea Sea minnow 12cm. Again it's a two hook lure and I've found it as effective as a B52 but without the price tag. I started using River2Sea at Monduran and I've lost enough of them to big fish to say they are good. They were the only lure I could get threadfin on up at Weipa