View Full Version : g loomis rods are they worth the extra $

fish_head
21-07-2005, 09:44 AM
buying a new six foot spin rod. contemplating getting an imx or bronze back loomis rod. Is it worth paying the extra money for these rods or would I be better of getting say a samuarai rod or a shimano t curve rod. about half the price of a loomis. Are the loomis rods that good that they are worth paying the extra. would like to hear from people who have used a loomis

Barrymundi
21-07-2005, 12:30 PM
I use GLOOMIS baitcasters, GL2 & 3, 3 of them, I cannot compare to other rods as I have not used other brands.

Al

SimonT
21-07-2005, 01:12 PM
I can't say if it is worth the extra dollars exactly, but what I have found historically is that the better quality rods certainly perform better than the cheaper ones. However there are a number of different brands of better quality rods out there, including Loomis, so it would pay to look around. The Loomis rods I own I really like, and the replacement warranty they have gives peace of mind, but I would assume you are paying for it to some extent in the initial purchase price anyway.

All too often you find yourself going cheap to start with and then shortly after upgrade to the more expensive rod anyway (especially if you get to play with a few), which turns out more expensive.....

DR
21-07-2005, 04:02 PM
Loomis owners will say yes
others will say no...
go figure..

mattooty
21-07-2005, 04:55 PM
DR has a point. Some people will swear by them because they work for he/she but others will find a fault in them that they dont like.

raefpud
22-07-2005, 08:50 AM
i have owned several Gloomis rods in the past - very good rods they are, value for money if you are using them frequently. I agree with what simon T said - u often find yourself upgrading after a while - then again if u only dunk a piece of bait every now and then, an IMX loomis cant be justified for the price. Think about how much u will use it and whether u really need it for the job, oh and some good advice......... hide the price tag from the missus, she will poo herself if she finds u spending $500 on a Loomis. Also be careful because owning expensive tackle can become addictive, I have moved on from Loomis to something much better and much more expensive - my love of fishing tackle has cost me a relationship,a job almost made me bankrupt and given me a reason to travel across the world - I'd say set a budget and spend only what u can affford - expensive tackle doesnt catch more or better fish

whiteman
22-07-2005, 09:33 AM
I've been told Loomis is another name for Shimano these days. Any truth in this?

Dodgy_Back
22-07-2005, 05:09 PM
Giday Fish head
When looking around for a good rod ,I looked for warranty and quality ended up getting a loomis imx very happy with it so much so I just went out and got a loomis dropshot this arvo.
One of my mates said I was a lunatic for spending 600 on a rod he reckons I should have spent no more than 300 or so even that would be too much he reckoned.
My argument was this if I bust my Loomis any which way, all I do is pay a surcharge of $140 odd and I get it replaced no probs , If i brake a rod of another brand with no warranty of around $200 to replace that I need to spend another $200.
So for that reason I thought it pretty good and a great rod to use as well, can't wait to give the dropshot a go tomorrow

damons33
22-07-2005, 06:53 PM
berkley also make a good range of carbon fibre rods which are simular in price to shimano.
loomis these days dont seem to have enought runners- this is probably because-like most companys that "grow", get a new manager then start "maximising profits" by namely moving their manufacting to china, then they use less runners and thinner epoxy coats.
so can a new loomis owner really base his decision on "old" testimonials of quality? and can you justify paying double for it?( as in the compared price of the shimano/berkley/struwick.)
:-/
damon

Steven78
22-07-2005, 06:58 PM
I like my Studwick Sick Stick. But one of my good Friends Mike has allot to do with G loomis its a very good product i wish i could have one my self but my wife said it would have to come with a LV hand bag (:

DaneCross
23-07-2005, 06:26 AM
I've been told Loomis is another name for Shimano these days. Any truth in this?
I do believe GLoomis are made by Shimano. Either that, or they have a close affilliation as the Shimano site has links to the GLoomis site and lists their address :-/

As for GLoomis rods, I can't complain about mine as I trolled it up from the bottom of the Nerang River during last years Flathead Classic - Scored! She's now in top working order ;D

Kevin
25-07-2005, 06:01 AM
G- Loomis was purchased by Shimano a couple years ago As of right now there is no plan to change where or how the rods are made according to some friends with contacts at Shimano American.. The few I have used have felt very nice to cast.. Quite comparable to my favorite St Croix rods..

Goodoochaser
25-07-2005, 06:59 AM
We can all fall victim to advertising and be conned into thinking that we need this or that to catch a fish, there are lots of good rods out there at a fraction of the cost of a Loomis that do the job just as well, if you have bought one for the peace of mind that $140 will replace it and you paid $600 for it new (forgive me if the price is wrong I have never shopped for one and my eyes go funny if price tickets are over $200) thats still an outlay of say $740 for 2 rods (1 broken 1 replacment) but you still only own 1, does not make sense to me. ask yourself how often do you break rods. how often do you fish. I have quite a few rods but to give an example, I have 2 Penn Pinpoint Baitcasters, a 4kg and 8kg, IM6 Graphite, Fuji guides and seats, cork grips, each cost under $100.00 and perform beautifully. I have used a mates Loomis, a lovely rod but for me I could not feel or justifiy the exta cost, but each his own and if I could sell rods at that price I would.

Howard.

lordy
25-07-2005, 07:46 AM
It really is a law of diminishing returns. Double the price to 10% improvement type thing.

So in short
Yes, they are if you have a bunch of money burning a hole in your pocket.

No they aren't if you have something else to spend the money on.

davo
25-07-2005, 01:36 PM
If you want teh replacement warranty then look at Pacific Composite. At least there Aussie made.

I don't own one and will never have one as they are over priced IMO.

I think as far as tackle goes the cheap stuff is exactly that, but for not much more you can buy mid range stuff. Some of the mid range stuff is better than others so you have to look around. Then the expensive stuff, three times the price for not much benefit.

I must admit hating Loomis stuff after finding tackle shop owners who think if you don't buy them then you are not a "real" fishermen.

bazzaman
25-07-2005, 05:49 PM
my love of fishing tackle has cost me a relationship,a job almost made me bankrupt and given me a reason to travel across the world - I'd say set a budget and spend only what u can affford - expensive tackle doesnt catch more or better fish

Cost you a Realationship????wtf, and yup raefpud was right on the money wont catch you more fish!! If you havent got a decent gps/plotter or sounder id be putting money into that first!

Shane

bazzaman
25-07-2005, 05:52 PM
lmfao @ dane! ;D ;D ;D ;D

bazzaman
25-07-2005, 05:58 PM
If the price tag was the same as every other rod i believe you wouldnt feel too much difference! I find that the more something costs it feels as though us humans want it more! This is what i reckon about loomis rods! If they werent so expensive their name wouldnt mean much. All the name resembles to me is the price tag not how good the product is! Yes i have used em before and wouldnt part my hard earned money with one when i can purchase a rod at half the price tag and will do as equal a job as the LOOMIS!........LOOMIS must spend more money on marketing to justify a price tag like that!

My veiw.......Hope you get what i mean!

Shane

mangajack
26-07-2005, 03:15 PM
In my opinion, having used G Loomis, Stcroix, Strudwick and a whole plethora of other lesser named brands, I believe that the quality in the more expensive off the rack rods is good, however they are not perfect by a long shot. The blanks are good usually, the way they are designed and constructed with all the fittings handles and so forth might look glossy and pretty but there is generally always room for improvement.
I am yet to see an off the rack rod that is what i want exactly so i roll my own rods.
Preferences for brands of blank depends on the required use of the rod in the end, i.e. you do not spend 300 bucks on a 2kg 10'6" surf rod when you can buy a Snyderglas MT4126 for 30 bucks. You might however spend up to about 200 bills on a 24kg sabre standup stroker rod blank in high modulus graphite if you want an ultralight ultra strong rod that you are going to be very careful with hoping not to bruise the graphite with an unintentional bump.

For my money the brand names like G Loomis and so forth are just that Brand names that are designed to sell. Someone of notoriety will say they are good and ppl will want them cuz that name is "the Best". Ian Miller rods are a classic example of paying for a name without too much quality. They sure look glossy and pricey, but in my opinion they are just another mass produced rod that leaves a lot to be desired.

Marketing is all about sucking the most money from the buyer as often as possible. Unfortunately the ppl with the money to blow will keep this lousy ploy profitable and the prices way up.

Jack

Goodoochaser
26-07-2005, 04:16 PM
Could'nt agree more with you Jack, Roll your own is the way to go, I forgot that, I have built a few rods myself over the years and it certainly gives you the ability to tailor what you want in a rod and know exactly what went into it. you could build a top rod for the price of a Gloomis and still have change. Think of the satisfaction.

But thats shifting from the original quiry, are they worth the extra $. For me NO. How about a Poll.

Howard.

davo
26-07-2005, 04:56 PM
The comment about a good sounder and GPS is right on the mark. I know a bloke who has more gear than (and that's a lot) and he doesn't have a boat :P He could have easily did his fishing with about 6 rods and reels and spent the rest on a tinny. He has heaps but doesn't go fishing.

reelcrazy
27-07-2005, 03:42 AM
I own two Loomis rods, excellent quality, superb balance between lightness and deep grunt.

One of these is a replacement under Loomis warranty, my own stupidity broke the about 25cm off the top of my 6 year old favorite steelhead GL3, (ocean trout on steroids), so for $50 bucks Loomis replaced it with a near equivalent.

Are they are worth the money? Yes, there is a finesse about them, it shows when you cast, and it also is evident when you've got something with the weight and muscle on the end - remember these are ocean going trout - my personal best is about 6 kilo's, but they can get up to about 14-15kg.

whiteman
27-07-2005, 09:28 AM
A 6kg fish around these parts is bait!

lures
27-07-2005, 03:21 PM
Reading all the responses make me laugh at all the miss information by so called experts.Yes there are rods around that are cheaper and if in your budget, suit your needs.Abu have a great range of graphite rods but use one then pick up qaulity and you soon know the difference.Penn , Abu rods all made in asia.You by Loomis the blank is rolled in there factory it is bound in there factory it is tested in there factory.Some blanks are shipped to oz to be bound to our uses.They were bought buy shimano about 6 years ago.Most of the loomis staff have been there for 10 years or more and they make over 2000 blanks for companys all over the world.
I will also like to say that I have been a loomis sponsered fisherman and am very biased but to get there you still have to fish with other brands and I have been offered more expensive rods to use.But have refused.
thanks for reading
regards Gary
p.s I you fish rough dont buy one

basserman
27-07-2005, 04:38 PM
i dout i would own one i think they are overpriced and about as good as i get is a strudwick but i would prefure to put more money into the reel and line
i have alot of rods that cost under $150 and they are fine and catch plenty of fish also i don't cry as hard when i bust them ::)

bazzaman
27-07-2005, 05:22 PM
Lures, where do you get off by calling people in here that have an opinion "so called experts". Because someone has an opinion are they an expert??? So your sponsored by LOOMIS who gives a rats! Doesnt make you an expert and if anything makes you more of wa$%ker that has pretty badges on his shirt!! :-* :-*!

Good fishn to ya and i hope your loomis rod breaks frequently!

Shane
P.S You might wanna pull that LOOMIS ROD outta your ass !!

DR
28-07-2005, 05:13 AM
while they may well be good rods, the truth is, the difference in them compared to other rods of reasonable quality & cheaper, would not be really that noticable to the average fisherman.
if you fish hard all the time you may appreciate the differences.
probably a bit like having a holden HSV clubsport etc. or a ferrari
the holden does pretty well everything the ferrari will do without the huge price, the ferrari will go a hell of a lot faster, give a better resale etc. but it can still only do 110k on most roads. this makes it unnessacary . actually i dont think you even get a radio in a ferrari so the clubsport would be a better pick for mine ;D

get the best you can afford & it will be the best for you..
don't be suckered into buying something you can't really afford just to wear the lable.

lures
28-07-2005, 03:38 PM
Bazzaman I dont mind people posting if its true but reading crap when someone ask a reasonble question SHxxts ME.If you read carefully you would have seen that I said theres nothing wrong with cheap rods and if your budget can only afford that and you like it well thats good for you.Its mouths like you that make posting on this site fun.Its is better than being in the boat, getting a bite from tossers like you.Keep putting pictures of your self up someone might be impressed one day.
regards Gary
P.S pm me direct people dont need to read about your problems with me

fishextremes
28-07-2005, 04:03 PM
Well said lures pity you cant put your view across without someone having a shot at you .i dont have Loomis rods but if I could afford one I would love one.
keep fishing on
macca :)

bazzaman
28-07-2005, 04:18 PM
Its people like you (know it alls) and someone who ridicules others for opinions that have been tarnishing this site! I see you only have 60 posts in two or so yrs, shows how much interest you have in this site to start with. I have never commented on anyones remarks like i have to you. You could check every post of mine if you like. Ausfish is a great site and met many good people on here and hope more people like you dont come here to often! Lets see what fish you catch to prove what an EXPERT you are (lets see some photos)!!! You got NOTHING mate!

May your LOOMIS rod break often! :-/ :-/

Shane

Roo
29-07-2005, 06:15 AM
gee whiz hasn't the weather been nice. ::) :o ;D

raefpud
29-07-2005, 07:15 AM
hey dont knock a man for only having a few posts - its quality of the post not quantity - some out there have over 500 posts and havent said anything useful at all - "nice one" and "got any pics" 300 times doesnt count as a valuable post in my book. Sounds like u got something personal going on here Bazzaman - dont muck around calling names or abuse etc. when u could do the job properly and hire some tough guys to do ur dirty work for ya - I'm sure that Mick and Big-Unit can give u some advice in that respect, and can definately help u make abuse much more entertaining.
;D ;D ;D

SCOTTYGC
29-07-2005, 08:54 AM
nice one ;D

whiteman
29-07-2005, 10:25 AM
I must be bored cause I'm gunnu stick up for Lures. There's a reason why he's sponsored by GL and that's cause he can fish the a*** of most people I know (sorry al_nfi). And he does this in a crappy little boat and using his ability to bludge rides in bigger and better craft.

Now Lures, you owe me a seminar at the next fishing club do!

Bazzaman, this is my 527th post so hopefully you'll take my word for it.

DR
29-07-2005, 12:47 PM
There's a reason why he's sponsored by GL and that's cause he can fish the a*** of most people I know

so is he a good fisho because of his knowledge & loomis realise this so use him to promote their product, therefore making people think they are the best rods.

or could he still do the same using a a basic garden variety rod, which would mean it's the fisho not the rod ??

Roo
29-07-2005, 02:05 PM
Dr makes agood point and this is really what this whole thread was about..... ??? ithink? :-/

To test this theory I'm willing to Swap my 10 year old 6'6" rex hunt estuary spin rod (K-Mart $40 with reel) with any pro or sponsored fisho for a GLoomis...(nevermind the reel it's in a lake somewhere).

BRING IT ON...... :o ::)

Roo.

Barrymundi
29-07-2005, 03:32 PM
Go Lures,

First up I fish with Lures and I have also worked in the tackle industry.

Like my earlier post I fish with GLOOMIS rods. I have also been involved with some sponsorship. In a comp I would fish 2 days in a row for about 6 hours per day. A cheaper rod is generally too heavy, lacks accuracy and will not load up evenly. If you fish once a month on a casual basis buy an ABU Mooran.

I have sold plenty of GLOOMIS rods and those fishos are still using them today with no complaints. Most of the whiners, not saying anyone here is, cannot afford the product.

My luring outfit is a GLOOMIS GL2, Chronarch and 20 pound braid, plus a GLOOMIS GL2 Calcutta with 30 pound braid. A lot of money, so what. Should see my lure box, that is where all the money goes.

I don’t need to post pictures and have a huge numbers of postings to have a valued opinion.

Looks like a few boys here need to go fishing.

Al

Barrymundi
29-07-2005, 03:37 PM
LURES CANNOT POST A REPLY. HE HAS BEEN BLOCKED FROM LOGGING ON

maybe he is in the bin for a few days, I wonder if someone else is also on BLOCK

Al

wonder is I get the boot ?

reelcrazy
29-07-2005, 11:25 PM
It's pretty simple isn't it, you are entitled to an opinion on whether Loomis rods are worth it or not if you have ACTUALLY used one, and if you have and have a negative opinion then tell us why, based on your experience.

This also goes for other more expensive brands like Sage, Gatti, Lamiglas, St Croix etc.

There is a reason why they are more expensive, aside from performance, it is also a result of quality control issues as well.

First name brands are the cream of any production run, better quality materials are used in their manufacture, and they are invariably inspected by hand. All these factors add to production costs, and to higher retail costs.

Lesser brands are mass produced, materials are not always top quality, and quality control procedures usually involve limited sampling, the end result is a cheaper article because the production costs are less.

The car analogy used before is a good one, but it's more like a Holden/Ford versus a BMW/Audi, utility versus performance and driving pleasure.

So if the former is all you need, get a Rex Hunt broomstick special, if the latter, spend some bucks, simple as that.

damons33
30-07-2005, 04:21 AM
wise words from our yankee friend, he's kinda showing you lot up as being "cheap". crayzie you should checkout NZ if you want the larger styled steelheads, you can have the better rod cheaper ....but you can't have the fish says 20million to 240million people. practice makes perfect what ever the rod type, its over and all about actual techniques, methods and largely the quality of your fishery.
:P
i would show you up on your steelheads with my "ian miller" t-curve and sustain 4000!(see justin at northside marine).
then he would get the croix of what i said earlier!
....god bless america, because we are starting to eat alot of chinese food lately......here in 'down and out under'
;)
nice walleye kevin.
i got a room full of rods! its been an evolution of purchases to get back to leaving port with only a couple of rods in the rocket launchers and coming back with the 'bagged out' on quality fish feeling...the stuff that makes the ramp rats drool, the poor, wet, besotted and fishless heivens.
:-*
ciao riccardoni's
damon

reelcrazy
30-07-2005, 05:10 AM
wise words from our yankee friend, he's kinda showing you lot up as being "cheap". crayzie you should checkout NZ if you want the larger styled steelheads, you can have the better rod cheaper ....but you can't have the fish says 20million to 240million people. practice makes perfect what ever the rod type, its over and all about actual techniques, methods and largely the quality of your fishery.
:P
i would show you up on your steelheads with my "ian miller" t-curve and sustain 4000!(see justin at northside marine).
then he would get the croix of what i said earlier!
....god bless america, because we are starting to eat alot of chinese food lately......here in 'down and out under'
;)
nice walleye kevin.
i got a room full of rods! its been an evolution of purchases to get back to leaving port with only a couple of rods in the rocket launchers and coming back with the 'bagged out' on quality fish feeling...the stuff that makes the ramp rats drool, the poor, wet, besotted and fishless heivens.
:-*
ciao riccardoni's
damon

T-Curve?

Alert the media, the worlds greatest treasurer has taken up fishing.

Seriously though, aren't the T-Curves Shimmy blanks? Probably using Loomis tech, he he. They're up there in price too.

I hear you on the steelies in land of the long white shroud, but before then it will be the wild rivers of Alaska or Canuckia before I can lay me a line down in NZ.

Stella says she can't sustain herself any longer, but she's not croix with you.

damons33
30-07-2005, 06:11 AM
$210au compared with $500+au for the loomis in the same 'style'
damon

lordy
30-07-2005, 08:02 AM
At the end of the day they are all expensive tomato stakes (some are just more expensive than others).

whiteman
30-07-2005, 09:48 AM
Dear Moderators

If you have blocked Lures for telling it like it is, you have stupidly lost a knowledge base worth 1,000 posts from the average hack (maybe 2,000 in my case!). I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and assume his PC has a virus.

DR
30-07-2005, 01:05 PM
why would they block lures, i am sure he would have had notification if this has happened,anyway, if he is blocked then he must have overstepped the mark..

as for being worth 1000 posts from the average hack, someones ego is getting a bit out of hand...if this wealth of knowledge requires that he has to post things that are removed, i think we will survive with the average hacks that post all the useless info here.

ba229
30-07-2005, 01:05 PM
Dear Moderators

If you have blocked Lures for telling it like it is, you have stupidly lost a knowledge base worth 1,000 posts from the average hack (maybe 2,000 in my case!). I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and assume his PC has a virus.

Is that from Lures or from a combination of members?

If it is just from Lures then 60 posts being equal to 1000 is a BIG call.

Bad_Bubby
30-07-2005, 02:28 PM
I was thinking it might have been for using ausfish to push a product/brand name (e.g the L word). The moderators may have also deleted posts that contained inappropriate content and banned him. Maybe I'm wrong but thats my guess.

I remember having a pretty pointless argument about this same topic (loomis) about a year ago with a freind of mine. Looking back I really think I should have just accepted his reasons for choosing this brand of rod afterall we are all different people and therefore have different ideas about the tackle we buy (and how we fish for that matter). Each to their own I say.

damons33
30-07-2005, 03:18 PM
i read all these through this post again and i think mangajacks comment was the "mostest"(lock that vizard up ffs').
it hit the mark one thing is though- people that actually do....work! don't have time for scratchin' themselves.
and after watchin pete beattie and a bunch of his entuerage of bludgers spend 1/3 of a day promoting nothing but themselves and stop energex technical staff(the ones the phat secutaries whinged about getting a pay rise) from 'getting on with the job'.
these media types that call little guys bludgers are all in the gravy train of overpayed good for nuthins'. yes bring on the the new IR reforms it will be great to see a heap of public servants get sacked like what happened to telstra and all the banks....hell yeah i'm a commie and yeah i'm pist!
gst=40% tax on a low income earner, i think with this setting for tax on sid meyer's civ- your game would be up real quick!
sorry for this digression, but i had to say sumthin'
damon

sooty_mad
30-07-2005, 03:43 PM
I am fortunate enough to own a GL3 which I use exclusively for casting lures around the snags. I mistakenly left it at home recently and spent about six hours solid casting a Sic Stic. Believe me if you cast lures all day, the difference is quite amazing - just ask my forearms and back.

I must admit however upon hooking up, I really didn't think the difference was noticeable.

Just my honest opinion. Kind regards... David

imported_admin
31-07-2005, 05:40 AM
Dear Moderators

He is not on the banned list, so it is up to him if he doesn't want to reply.

Barrymundi
31-07-2005, 01:41 PM
Hi Browny,

Lures cannot log on, his "password is invalid"

Al

scott_b
31-07-2005, 04:15 PM
Gday fish head
just out of interest what rod did you get if you are game to say.
wamjam

pitto
02-08-2005, 09:02 AM
you are better off buying a samurai what ever and making the rod you self you dont need much thing to start of with than going out and spending say 500 to 1000 on any rod not just g loomis i say and stand by it 250 dollars at the most you spend if you spend more than that your a dick head i think it just a his got a g loomis so i got to go and get one if you get what im saying have a go at makin your own one its easy and there is heaps of web sites that have rod building things after you get in to building your own your never look at another rod made in a factor again

DR
02-08-2005, 10:58 AM
you are better off buying a samurai what ever and making the rod you self you dont need much thing to start of with than going out and spending say 500 to 1000 on any rod not just g loomis i say and stand by it 250 dollars at the most you spend if you spend more than that your a dick head i think it just a his got a g loomis so i got to go and get one if you get what im saying have a go at makin your own one its easy and there is heaps of web sites that have rod building things after you get in to building your own your never look at another rod made in a factor again

import your own g.loomis gl2,gl3 or imx blank & fittings & still build your own around $250-$300 ad another $100 odd for glx.
the question still (to me) is it worth the extra $s we are charged by australian suppliers

Neo
02-08-2005, 09:04 PM
"import your own g.loomis gl2,gl3 or imx blank & fittings & still build your own around $250-$300 ad another $100 odd for glx."

Got an address or website for this?

Neo
02-08-2005, 09:54 PM
There are a lot of factors that go into building a good rod and the blank is only one of them. I work part time in a tackle shop and I have done some custom rod work in the past so I have some idea of what to look for.

I was looking for a good bait caster recently so I strung a short length of mono through the guides and put a working curve in some of the rods in the shop.

Much to my disappointment, I found that most of the high end builds were just plain bad when it came to correct guide spacing – they was way too much space between the guides allowing the line to foul badly on the blank. $600 for bad guide spacing – I don’t think so! I would sooner build my own and do a proper job for that price.

I like a little forgiveness in my blanks – a little room for error when fighting the fish. After all, isn’t that what a rod is for? My best choice came down to a $150 Penn with all fuji hardware. Great guide spacing, good hardware and a medium fast action IM6 blank for easy angling. Can’t argue with the price or the money back guarantee.

Your choice will depend upon the size of your wallet, your own personal preferences and the application that you are using the rod for. But if you are going to blow your paypacket, have a good close look at just what it is that you are really getting for your hard earned money – too late once you are hooked up and the real truth comes out.

DR
03-08-2005, 04:59 AM
"import your own g.loomis gl2,gl3 or imx blank & fittings & still build your own around $250-$300 ad another $100 odd for glx."

Got an address or website for this?

here you go..
http://shop.mudhole.com/s.nl/sc.2/category.646/it.I/id.12/.f
last blank i got(St.Croix) shipping was AUD$46, 5 working days to my front door..

the dollars down a couple of cents since then..
use fuji fittings, deluxe reel seat, BSVLGs with a PST tip.

another part of the site that may be of interest to some
http://shop.mudhole.com/site/HMAIL/6_8_2005.html

Neo
03-08-2005, 05:58 AM
Thanks DR.

I will have a look.

Dodgy_Back
03-08-2005, 11:13 AM
Broke my loomis on the weekend , paid $130 got a brand new IMX with no questions asked. Now, that is why I bought a Loomis. Great warranty without question.

Roo
03-08-2005, 01:52 PM
I don't know how you can break a rod with normal use?

I've no claim to being the the greatest fisho but I've never broken any rod. I just can't understand how you can break a rod without some kind of abuse involved perhaps short of accidental damage in transit or whatever. Are we all just asking too much of these superlight blanks? I've got a 6ft samaurai spin stick (3kg) and while i've certainly had it loaded up with some scary bends, i've only ever broken line when it's been overcooked. probably because i only use 3kg line. Is there a bit of fudging out there with line sizes and reasonalbe expectations??? ???

Roo.

basserman
03-08-2005, 03:26 PM
roo i think you would find that most breakages are from abuse 9not such a good term maybe pushing the rod too far)
i have snapped two rods while on fish and although these sure wern't loomis one was a samaurai 006 and the other a cheaper dawia procoyn
both time i was fishing right in the oyster racks catching big bream on light line (well 4lb-6lb fireline i now have a 10lb outfit for this type work) so i did have alot of stick on the fish with very very tight drag with a touch of highsticking ;D oh well this is why i wouldn't pay much more than $200 for a bream rod

Dodgy_Back
03-08-2005, 04:50 PM
Roo
The rod broke when a bow mount foot pedal fell on it. Funny thing is the boat I was on didn't have any rod racks and I didn't like the idea of puting rods on a casting deck, never again !

nobby79
03-08-2005, 06:28 PM
To the topic at hand, G loomis rods are over rated, owned 3, broke 3. They don't catch the fish you do, and they are only as accurate as the person holding it.
If you feel the need to outlay that much money, thats up to you. Only you can justify that.
My preference, after breaking the 3rd loomis was to get a custom rod built to suit me. I now have 6 custom rods. Rod builders do take pride in building rods, Use the money to get a custom rod made to suit you. you'll be better off.

my Two bobs worth

Nobby

fishsmith
03-08-2005, 07:57 PM
Bought a loomis GL2 last year and I love the damn thing,top quality build,crisp, accurate to cast. A top rod for SP's and hardbody lures easy to cast all day and great to twitch those plastics... [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Roo
04-08-2005, 05:48 AM
Mick,
Bugger :o. the $130 lesson in rod storage is hard to take although it would seem like nothing after what you can lay out for these rods in the first place. As we all know it comes down to getting what you want and being happy with it!! ;D
good luck with the new one. ;) :D

Basserman,
You'd have to feel a little "hard done by". 3kg line and a busted rod. Mind you I read a blurb from Starlo' about that the 4lb squidgey braid having a "unknotted breaking strain exceeding 4kg" and fireline not being far behind. perhaps the superlines are the issue???? ???.

cheers, Roo (a bit off the subject)

DR
04-08-2005, 07:16 AM
perhaps the superlines are the issue???? ???.

cheers, Roo (a bit off the subject)

shouldn't be an issue, you can fish 50kg on a 4kg rod if you wish,BUT,you can still only fish the rod to it's 4kg limit.
it would appear that some are overstetching the rods capabilities with some of the braids etc.
basically once your rod reaches it's optimum working curve your reel drag should give line. if your rod breaks under these conditions it probably has a fault.
if you need to apply more pressure go to a heavier rod.
probably where the more upmarket rod blanks give more choice, ie; still have a light tip but a heck of a more grunt down low. bit like a 4kg tip & a 6-8kg butt..

basserman
04-08-2005, 10:13 AM
as DR said i was pushing it well past what i should of but then again in the racks you just can't give them a inch or it will be all over

but hey thats bream spinning ;D

Roo
04-08-2005, 11:23 AM
I'd rather lose a couple of bucks worth of plastics and jig heads than blow a rod to bits. All sounds fun untill it comes undone :D ;D >:(
Roo. :o :o

aquarius
04-08-2005, 07:12 PM
Guys if you pay $700 for a G-loomis and they give a life time warranty then surely paying $130 for a replacement new rod sounds great to me.........no matter how you break the rod!!!!!!
Cheers Brent

DR
05-08-2005, 03:42 AM
been thinking about this... what actually IS a lifetime warranty on these?
is it the owners lifetime? if you sell the rod can it be transferred to the new owner? if so can an 80yo old sell to a 6 yo & the warranty continue?
must be some kind of cutoff point, because if not how can they afford to keep replacing for $130. if no cutoff point we would all be mad not to buy a set & pass them through the family, as heirlooms, for generations to come. so, what are the conditions of the lifetime warranty??now i have thought of this i am really curious..

Roo
05-08-2005, 05:27 AM
I don't think warranty is tranferrable. Commercial suicide.

I think "lifetime warranty" as a statement can be quite amibiguous. Generally refers to lifetime of the product. How long is that?????

gcourt
05-08-2005, 09:03 AM
G'day All
The Loomis warranty is for the lifetime of the rod,even if you buy one second hand and break it,pay your $130.00 and it's replaced ;D.You can even pay a bit extra and uprade to a better model if you want ;DHappy days.
Glenn

05-08-2005, 10:33 AM
Is it true loomis rods need to be sent to the states for warranty approval? Saw someone on another site saying their rod had to be sent to the states before replacement was given.

gcourt
05-08-2005, 11:38 AM
G'day Heath
No they don't have to go to the States.My one and only rod I have broken,which by the way was 8yrs old,was replaced on the spot with a current model.
Glenn

damons33
05-08-2005, 12:06 PM
sad bit is that $130 is propably the cost price!
wish i could charge that much profit on my services.
damon.

NeilD
05-08-2005, 03:25 PM
The worse thing is that the buggers are probably still making a profit ;D ::) ;D

fish_head
06-08-2005, 06:07 AM
Thanks for all the advice guys.sorry Ive taken so long to reply back. I was surprised at the amount of replys Ive received over this topic. In the end I decided to get a samurai rod made up with the best quality fittings money could buy. Money wasnt an isue buying a loomis rod , but I just couldnt justify paying twice the price when their didnt seem to be that much difference between the 2 rods

Randy_Kickass
24-08-2005, 11:00 AM
the blanks are very good but the build quality on some are bad bad bad.bad runner spacings, and most not built on the backbone.

Brett_Hoskin
10-09-2005, 07:07 AM
[quote author=Dodgy_Back link=1121839010/0#7 date=1122016184.<br>One of my mates said I was a lunatic for spending 600 on a rod he reckons I should have spent no more than 300 or so even that would be too much he reckoned. <br>My argument was this if I bust my Loomis any which way, all I do is pay a surcharge of $140 odd and I get it replaced no probs , If i brake a rod of another brand with no warranty of around $200 to replace that I need to spend another $200.<br>So for that reason I thought it pretty good and a great rod to use as well, <br>Mick<br> [/quote]

Hoping this isnt too out of date but the warranty applies only to rods built by Loomis or custom built by Todds. If you buy a blank and build the rod there is no warranty.

I also recall doing some research a couple of years ago and saw hat the loomis rods in the states were a break and return with no cash changeover. With Tods charging$150.00 each time .......It makes you wonder if te rod's true value is $150.00. :o :o

Brett_Hoskin
10-09-2005, 07:15 AM
Is it true loomis rods need to be sent to the states for warranty approval? Saw someone on another site saying their rod had to be sent to the states before replacement was given.<br><br><br><br>

All warranty offered at point of sale is the express responsibility of te entity which sold it to you.

warrior
11-09-2005, 06:29 PM
i dont think loomis can justify there price ,my mate makes all kinds of rods and buys the blanks which are so close to the loomis blanks.i think loomis has capitalised on there big name from all the talk from the pros with which they give all there gear to any way,thus very good marketing.

garygusart2000
12-09-2005, 09:41 PM
I've got procasters calcuttas and loomis rods but I have to say my glx casts further with less effort than all tyhe others even the loomis crankbaits so as it was my money I wanted the best I could afford and I'm sorry if my buying some loomis rods offend other members

DR
12-09-2005, 10:23 PM
I've got procasters calcuttas and loomis rods but I have to say my glx casts further with less effort than all tyhe others even the loomis crankbaits so as it was my money I wanted the best I could afford and I'm sorry if my buying some loomis rods offend other members

no-one cares,no one is offended, good luck to you, it's just that some of us cannot justify that kind of money when the extra distance doesn't make that much difference in 99% of situations anyway.
me, i would love one, but there is no way i will spend that kind of money when there is so much to choose from at a heck of a lot less, that will, in my personal opinion, do almost as good, if not as good as a loomis. just my opinion

garygusart2000
13-09-2005, 07:24 AM
cheers dr I agree it comes down to personal preference just some people go over the top a bit it doesn't matter what your using fish can't read price tags if you've got the right lure or bait in the right spot you'll catch a fish
;)

luress
13-09-2005, 07:07 PM
Randy not built on backbone has little effect on most rods under 10kgs some 15 most good rod builders will tell you that.As for guide spacings yes the line does touch the blank when you high stick if you fish a rod properly the spacings are fine
regards gary.