View Full Version : Great Service - Sportys Warehouse on the GC

19-01-2006, 03:33 AM
Happened to be up the northern end of the Goldy yesterday & stopped off at Sportys Warehouse on the way through to pick up a few things. Was only buying a few cheap things & got to talking with the owner of the fishing section John Polson. Good to have a yak with a fello that knows his stuff & not some pimply face kid trying to make a man of himself.
He showed me round the rod & reel range even knowing I wasn't in the market for them, but it was his genuine personality that impressed me the most, no high pressure sales tactics, just simply enjoys what he is doing is the vibe I got.

Know where I'll be going in future to get me stuff, even if it is a little out of my way.

Note: I have no affiliation with Sportys Warehouse, just impressed at the level of service I got when buying $15.00 worth of product.

AaronF
19-01-2006, 03:48 AM
Good to hear there are still some people out there willing to provide some decent service hey.

gogecko
19-01-2006, 04:41 PM
Yes, I'll second that. His partner Rob, offered to show me and mate how to fly cast one day. We rang him a few days later, and took him up on it. He was happy to meet us early one morning and show us, even tho we were total noobs and couldnt cast for crackers.

A great attitude, and Ive spent a bit on lures and other tackle there since.

I also went to a talk they held on SPs one night, and they got Tim the bream Morgan to show us his stuff for free.

They are also one of the few shops to service reels.

Fishinmishin
19-01-2006, 08:24 PM
I haven't been there but I gotta say I was a bit dissapointed with the service but especially the price at Doug B's shop at Southport today. Blue Pillies for eg for $23 where I just drove down to the shop on Nind st and got them for $17 (which is a much fairer price) along with $350 of other lures. The service was also a step up. Might have just been my look which doesn't always attract me the highest level of service but I know which store I will not be returning to.
Cheers, Jay

20-01-2006, 12:17 AM
Jay, I will backup your post for sure. Doug Burt's are very pricey and cater only really for "their" mob. Nind street for fairest price and a huge range of tackle.

Far_Canal
20-01-2006, 04:17 PM
Unusual. Each time iv been to sportys its been a race to which one of them can try sell me something first, it pisses me off how full on they come and the stories they can spin. Range isnt anything spectacular either.

Burtsworld..good range but service is non existant unless you ask

Fishing tackle aussie is a decent shop, good service, prices on reels and rods etc arent on par with that BCF joint.

20-01-2006, 05:39 PM
Haha lol, Burtsworld! Touche, spot on with that description. That warrants a that's gold comment :D

GCBrett
20-01-2006, 11:23 PM
Depends who you get at Burtsworld - have to say many of them don't make you feel too welcome. Must have to be in the club, or something. Unfortunately, despite the fact that Sporty's have some friendly, chatty staff, they don't have a real good range. 6 of this, half dozen of the other...shop around.

JB
21-01-2006, 10:58 AM
Well, this is not exactly related to service but... i got a wellsys tackle catalogue the other week and for anyone that is into game fishing, it is full of everything you can think of, not only that is very fairly priced. I think the lures jay was refering to are $15.50 !

I can tell you i'll be ordering a heap of stuff when i get the chance.

www.wellsystackle.com

Jas

bcb20
23-01-2006, 07:23 AM
Heath,

Have found the same at Sporty's also, and although yes, their range is not huge like others mentioned here, they do actually try to help! I've tried all the shops and don't dislike Burty's although as mentioned SOME of the guys there are not so helpful, but spend some time and talk to other guys there and you can get good service.

But once again, Sporty's is good and Paul (I think that's his name, younger guy) has been more than willing to help before, and the place is easy to get to and park.......

Blueby
23-01-2006, 10:55 AM
Im with you Jas - just discovered wellsys and they are great - very price competitive and good range esp for gamefishing. Do yourself a favour and get a catalogue off their site.

As for burtsworld it does depend who you get - Grab dougie if hes around - will get good service and most prices are very negotiable. Plus you cant go past the range there. Either way if you want to avoid bad service the place to avoid is BCF labradore - its like you are invisible there.

Also for lures (cheapest pakulas i have found yet) check out fishinglures.com.au - another qld mob that have a good range and fast delivery.

JB

Roo
23-01-2006, 12:20 PM
I went to Nerang Disposals on the weekend. haven't been in ther since i moved south of the border (4-5 yrs ago) but they have the same guys there with the same knowlegable service. great range although is stuffed into a smallish shop space.....thay have aquired the old bunnings site next door and are moving in around march. the guys reckon they have 3 times the gear to display that they just don't have room for now.
prices were excellent. calcutta 400b for well under 300 bucks..no i didn't buy it but they did match a special price from on of the new supermarket style places in town and offered to do it anytime.

about 7 years back i bought all my camping gear there too! best range of quality gear around and always happy to do the deal.

goes to show how a happy customer can be the best advert for a business.

cheers, Roo.

gogecko
23-01-2006, 04:24 PM
Ive had good service at Burts, strange, I must be one of the in crowd. I also like Nind st, and I shop around at most GC stores.

Even bought stuff at Anaconda today - no service, no staff in fishing section, but I knew what I wanted. Poppers, and not much range there either. Oh well, only need one good one. I'll tell you if its a good one tomorrow.

Doesnt everybody shop at ALL the GC fishing shops?

devocean
23-01-2006, 05:34 PM
Was in the spearing section on the hols great staff there as well (south african guy gave him crap about the cricket). Have always found that place to have greta service great prices for all types of gear

23-01-2006, 09:23 PM
Ive had good service at Burts, strange, I must be one of the in crowd. I also like Nind st, and I shop around at most GC stores.

Even bought stuff at Anaconda today - no service, no staff in fishing section, but I knew what I wanted. Poppers, and not much range there either. Oh well, only need one good one. I'll tell you if its a good one tomorrow.

Doesnt everybody shop at ALL the GC fishing shops?

Nope,
Haven't been to GCFT for about 4-5 years & Burtys for about 2 or so.

Burley_Boy
23-01-2006, 09:29 PM
I met John Polson a few times as well and I agree hes a nice guy with a keen interest in the fishing side of things. Bought a bunch of snorkling gear there the other day and the diving guy knows his stuff as well and gave great service.

Douggie... well if Doug is at the counter and you walk in you can't not get a greeting and good service. Most of the guys are pretty on the ball as well but yeah it can feel like a bit of the "in crowd thing" and the pricing is accordingly. I've never paid the ticket price yet which is a bit of a pain when you browse and don't know what the real price will be. But they know their stuff and if you're into jigging then wow and ouch.
cheers BB