View Full Version : Saratoga rods on ebay

hero
09-03-2006, 08:35 PM
Has anybody bought or heard anything about the rods being marketed on ebay called "saratoga"..? they have a big selection of rods and reels at very good prices. just wondering if the quality was there..hope somebody can help.

hero
18-03-2006, 01:31 PM
somebody must have heard of the new range of rods being marketed on ebay??

Canoedle
18-03-2006, 01:41 PM
Gday hero,
I have bought a bit of stuff off the guy selling these saratoga rods, havent bought any of the rods, but have seen the saratoga overhead reels, very cheap and just a bit nasty as you would expect for the $s, I'm guessing the rods would be of similar quality. I reckon save yourself some heartache m8, spend a few more dollars and get something that you will love and will last a lot longer and probly catch you a lot more fish to boot. ;)
good luck

HAZY
20-03-2006, 08:47 AM
Mate nothing wrong with the rods,i have bought five of them good as gold not bad quality at all

Hazy

hero
20-03-2006, 12:06 PM
Thanks guys, the rods dont look too bad, might have a go at one or two, they are reasonable priced if they are described honestly.

goddy84
20-03-2006, 01:51 PM
i iust got 1 for 20+15$ p/h i hop it goes good ::)
let u know next week :P

ozrick
21-03-2006, 09:42 PM
i was thinking of buying one too ......emailed the seller asking about the quality and got no reply so i didnt bother

rodchucker
21-03-2006, 09:56 PM
>:(
I purchased a full roller 1.5m boat rod in December.
What a piece of crap.
The top grip was twisted to the right, and the end roller was twisted to the left.
To the credit of the seller I contacted them, sent some photos and they sent me a new one no charge, freight free.

BUT the second one was just as bad, except the grip was straight.
I took them both to my tackle shop to get new roller tips fitted but he said the ends of both rods were twisted, not the rollers on crooked.
I think I could see the finger prints of the 10 year old indian kid that made them in the binding glue.
I also purchased a 4 bearing saratoga reel, it also is a real class piece, not.
So I loaded the reel with 50lb spiderwire and now i'm going to try and break it to make my self feel less dumber for getting sucked in by ebay.

But I did buy some spider wire stealth for less than half price in MO Tackle so at least I had one win.

Huggy_B
21-03-2006, 10:45 PM
There is usually a good reason why you can only buy it from ebay and not from a tackle store......

goddy84
21-03-2006, 10:53 PM
ohh crap now i think i should of got one from the shop :-/
oh well the kid sister needs a rod -- :P

timbacutta
22-03-2006, 06:40 PM
Remember the old saying" Quality is still delivering long after you forgotten the price".

Jeff.

goddy84
24-03-2006, 07:32 PM
i got the rod 2day it looks ok but will see with a fish or 3 :P

hero
24-03-2006, 08:20 PM
Let me know how it goes Goddy....

goddy84
29-03-2006, 12:32 PM
yeah im happy with it ..we only got a few catfish but it seemd to go good ... i think its ok any way :)