View Full Version : Reel for live baiting jacks?

mjc85
26-03-2006, 10:16 AM
Hey,

Recently i purchased a Abu Garcia 5601C4 (left hand wind model) from USA ebay. The reel i believed i was getting was the old model with the ratchet. It ended up being the new model and the guy has offered a full refund etc. He doesn't have any of the old models but has offered me a full refund or a Okuma Induron 400 (Left hand) for the same price which he claims has the ratchet.

Do you think i take the refund and stick to my original choice of the Abu from a different seller or get the Okuma?

Mitch

agnes_jack
26-03-2006, 11:29 AM
G'day Mitch
The 5601c4 will handle your jacks no probs at all. If you are baiting, the ratchet can be very handy at times and certainly worth having.

Regards, Tony

THE_Giant_guppie
26-03-2006, 04:14 PM
if ur gona live bait alot take the okuma i got heaps of abu there great but i find when jacks pull the abu somtimes may lock up even in free spool with rachet on you may lose ur whole set up abus are great reel but for live baiting jacks and you want a rachet means you want to drop the bait and throw another rod in and so u are watching more then one rod you will need a smoother reel .
cheers rick

scuttlebutt
26-03-2006, 07:32 PM
A ratchet is very handy for fishing live baits in free-spool in a holder, but using that method for jacks is asking for trouble. I've done it a few times, and mostly the jack will be into a snag before I've been able to pick up the rod.

Better to hold onto the rod, or use flesh baits and leave your rod in a holder with the drag on. They usually hit hard enough to set the hooks, and you wont need a ratchet to tell you've got one on. Got 5 jacks last weekend using that method.

steve

mjc85
27-03-2006, 06:28 AM
Better to hold onto the rod, or use flesh baits and leave your rod in a holder with the drag on. They usually hit hard enough to set the hooks, and you wont need a ratchet to tell you've got one on. Got 5 jacks last weekend using that method.

Yeh thats probably better for flesh baits, but we use livies anywhere from 3 - 6 inches + and have caught plenty of nice jacks.

I still hold my rod in ratchet baitrunner mode but when using big livies they don't always grab the hook first time and if they grab the bait and feel tension on the line from the drag they usually wont come back for a second go.

scuttlebutt
27-03-2006, 06:44 AM
Yep that's a good point about using livies. So It'll come down to how much you want a ratchet personally as to whether it's worth sending it back.

Was it much of a hassle buying over the net? (I've never used it but do see good deals from time to time)

steve

nabs12
27-03-2006, 09:39 PM
hey
All i know is that if i were fishing for Jacks, i would be holding onto my rod ;D
Scuttlebutt- I have bought a reel on ebay just lst week from Japan.
The reel came in 4 days and is awesome. I got the reel at a good price and im definateley going to have a look at ebay the next time im looking for a reel.
You just gotta check out the sellers previous feedback and you should be rite..

fishing4life
29-03-2006, 04:49 PM
hey guys,

i have been a keen jack fisherman for quite a few years now, my dad bought me a basic abu 6000 with an angular rod and i have been using it for the last 10 years, it has caught every single jack i have ever caught. Mind you it could go with a bit of a service ;D. I agree when fishing for jacks the rod should leave your hand, i always find the moment i do put it down is the moment i latch on to a mother and snags me before i can pick it up!

cheers matt