View Full Version : Sundown marine at Tackle and tinnie show
Have been shopping for bait board rod holder combo..best I had done was $209.00 at BCF in Springwood. Went to Tackle and Tinnie show today and thought I would be right with Sundown...$229.00 and have to drive to Redcliffe to do the deal, not for me thanks...told the guy I was a member of Ausfish too....boooooo
PS got the best deal at Glass craft Marine in the Valley on the way home from the show...$189.00 (now thats a deal...) and it didn"t cost me $10.00 to get in either.If the guys we deal with want us to endorse them and promote them, they need to be competitive all the time.
Sorry to hear that.
To add a bit of balance, I picked up a Shimano Backbone Elite 15Kg for $99. I reckon that was a good deal. To be fair I didn't look at the chandlery much, though they did have a sounder I've been looking at cheaper than anywhere else I could find.
I also reckon they were the only crew to have a lot of decent quality, named-brand rods and reels. Some of the junk elsewhere was apalling.
Their TLD's were the cheapest price I've ever seen.
Good luick,
ShaneJ
07-04-2006, 10:30 PM
I'm not sure what the exact problem is here? :-/
Is it that they didn't have the same junk that BCF had, or is is that they didn't have every single thing at the show? :-?
08-04-2006, 02:56 AM
I bought a Penn reel and some other items from Sundown at the T&T show...you are right...they could not do a better deal than the marked prices they had there. I did not even bother looking at other stands for better prices etc...why? Sundown looked after me very well a month back when I bought my Minn Kota and have done earleir for other items. Dealers may not be able to come up with earth shattering prices at shows for a couple of simple reasons....cost of the stand...overtime rates for staff manning the stand...all goes into the overheads of running the business.
I believe in a bit of loyalty at times...they did me some good deals previously therefore they have me buying more from them. They offered discounts a few months back to Ausfish memebers and a lot of memeber got some good buys from there for their equipment....not a real good idea to bag a dealer that has made offers to Ausfish members in the past...may make them think twice before they offer again ...for the sake of only $20....you probably spent more than that in fuel and time etc running around looking for better prices.
08-04-2006, 07:15 AM
Well said Pinhead
Sundown have saved me heaps since the Flamin Riptide build and fit out and continues with ongoing savings on the purchase of gear for CarewerX and personally. Wouldn't shop elsewhere and its not just about price. The experience of all the staff is first class. Each are fishos and professionals in their field. So I appreciate the expert advise and friendship (although Birdy has to learn to point squid away from the boat)...how do you put a dollar value on all of that - particularly the memory of squid ink on the inside of the hard top roof liner and birdy with black mucous hanging from his right ear ;D ;D ;D
rhys
magoo9
08-04-2006, 10:00 AM
i went to the t & t show yesterday as well and visited the sundown stand, the poor buggers were run off their feet. just shows how popular they are! i couldnt agree more 2iar some, not all, of the other stands had some expensive junk. anyway it was better than working.
magoo
I also have done some great deals at Sundown pinhead..but the difference between $229.00 and $189.00 is $40.00 not $20.00 mate...that is a big difference for exactly the same item...
08-04-2006, 06:44 PM
I also have done some great deals at Sundown pinhead..but the difference between $229.00 and $189.00 is $40.00 not $20.00 mate...that is a big difference for exactly the same item...
If you already had a low price of $209 and you paid $189, I make that a $20 difference...if you want to save a few bucks why not just make a couple of phone calls...save you all that time and drama...you would have found out Glascraft's price and not needed to go to the T&T show..another $10 saved...you could have also phoned Sundown and asked if they could match that price..there ya go..with a bit of thought and a couple of phone calls you could have saved $30..simple huh...let the fingers do the walking if you are really keen on saving a few bucks.
TheSaint
08-04-2006, 08:57 PM
I was happy to save $5 off some fireline while i was at the show..
09-04-2006, 12:00 AM
G'day Hero
Seriously not having a shot by any means but if you're worried about $20 then maybe you shouldn't be boating? I agree 100% with a ringaround and checking prices that way but if you're seriously worried about $20 then you need to expand your thinking mate,
I can afford to be boating, thats why I think 10% not $20.00...other dealers offering good deals should be recognised as well...I dont have shares in any of them......
I also visited the Sundown Marine stand and spent $3300 on a Minn Kota, Garmin GPS and Raymarine Sounder. Top deals, especially on the electric.
Joel looked after me really well, also discounted below ticked price without so much as wimper. Not sure about Hero's issue but it sounds to me that 9 out 10 cats agree that Sundown looked after us Ausfishers at the show.
09-04-2006, 06:40 PM
Hope you gave Joel some cheek Ray and really got your moneys worth ;) ;D ;D ;D.
Hero, we can see by an earlier post that you've benefitted from SM's pricing policy for Ausfishers with your tld purchase and I hope you hear Support for an Ausfish sponsor as a loyalty thing because they have looked after so many of us so well for so long and not a shot at you personally.
One has to get away from time to time...Isn't that why we fish?
I'm sure the SM lads and lasses will continue to hone the competitive edge that has them our Number 1 choice for Brisbane based Ausfishers
ShaneJ
09-04-2006, 06:44 PM
I also visited the Sundown Marine stand and spent $3300 on a Minn Kota, Garmin GPS and Raymarine Sounder. Top deals, especially on the electric.
Joel looked after me really well, also discounted below ticked price without so much as wimper. Not sure about Hero's issue but it sounds to me that 9 out 10 cats agree that Sundown looked after us Ausfishers at the show.
You were the guy in the front of me at the checkout taking so long when all I wanted was a few packets of plastics :-?
ShaneJ, I didn't see who was behind me as I only had eyes for the new gear. It was certainly busy on Saturday. ;)
Revs57, only started to get know the SM guys but rest assured I will be back.
As an aside, I also bought a new boat ;D
Trailcraft 465 Pro Fish
Raymond
ShaneJ
09-04-2006, 08:11 PM
Were you with another guy? And being served by Amy?
banshee
09-04-2006, 08:18 PM
How about anyone that thinks Hero is crying over spilt milk puts their money where their mouth is (litteraly) and send him the differance in cash,I mean it's a pitance right? and as for the statement that anyone who wants to/has to worry about twenty bucks shouldn't be boating,well if I said what I really thought about that I'd be banned,but Blackened it's not just rich pricks that enjoy fishing out of boats,not to be confused with those who enjoy boating(and probably catch SFA).
eggbeater
09-04-2006, 08:35 PM
I bought a Live Fibre & misses bought a TSS4 from Sundown at the show.Justin looked after us very well.
He gave us a better price on both items than were listed.Couldnt be more happier...thanks guys. :)
I must say she christened the TSS4 today on 2 mac tuna one went 4.15kg & other 3.5kg
peterreb
10-04-2006, 05:58 AM
I spent over $300 at Sundowns stand,bought a heap of SP's and a TLD 25.Ididn't bother to ask for a discount as I new what the prices were before any sale. They sharpened there prices and are competitive. The fella's there always look after me and I'll continue to support their chandelery and tackle section.
Cheers Peter
ShaneJ,
I was with another guy. I was the good looking tall one.
Raymond
SundownMarine
10-04-2006, 08:23 AM
Magoo,
It sounds like we didn't have the bait board you wanted at the show,this happens as we can't take the entire store into the show.This means we can't do a show price on an item we do not have to give you there and then thus we need to refer you to the store,no doubt if we had the product there and then we could have done the price.
We filled the biggest stand at the T&T show with a mountain of product but we can't take everything.
All,
We thank you for the support at the show and here at the store.We remember most of you and will continue to in the future.
Sundown Marine.
10-04-2006, 08:28 AM
Aah banshee. Not wanting to start a bun fight but you'vemisinterpreted my post. My intention was to point out that yes, $20 is a pitance and not to go and pretty much slag off of a compay because they were $20 dearer than someon else. If you think $20 is the difference between a poor boater that catches nothing and a "rich" one that catches alot, then thats pretty sad. As for I believe it's not about money but about knowledge wisdom and skill that catches the fish. Not the difference of $20 or not $20.
Horrie
10-04-2006, 08:34 AM
I spent over $300 at Sundowns stand,bought a heap of SP's and a TLD 25.Ididn't bother to ask for a discount as I new what the prices were before any sale. They sharpened there prices and are competitive. The fella's there always look after me and I'll continue to support their chandelery and tackle section.
Cheers Peter
Yep, I'm with you Peter.
I bought a bit of stuff at their stand and was only too happy to get the good advice and service from the staff. :)
As long as the pricing is fair and the service is better than the others.........I'm happy. ;)
Horrie
banshee
10-04-2006, 09:19 AM
Blackened what's sad is that you think that anyone that feels the pinch over twenty bucks shouldn't be boating,further to your bad form you start your post by declaring that your not having a go at him,then procede to have a go at him,mate the easiest way to shut me up is send him the twenty bucks.How about it?
10-04-2006, 09:44 AM
Banshee like i said, not a bun fight. I'm gonna make a stop right here. there's things called opinions and i'm enitled to mine as are you. You can keep you $20 and i'll keep mine. Re-read my posts and have a think. I suppose my underlying point was the fact that costs can come fron no-where in boating- hence $20 being not a real issue in the big picture. If you cannot look at that as part of the package then maybe they shouldn't be boating as these should be expected. Maybe i didnt make myself clear first up?
Have a good day;)
I was there on the Friday and didn't see anything startling. The thing that puzzled me was the 6.00PM close on the Friday. If you wanted to go after work then it wasn't worth it.
ShaneJ
10-04-2006, 06:21 PM
I was there on the Friday and didn't see anything startling. The thing that puzzled me was the 6.00PM close on the Friday. If you wanted to go after work then it wasn't worth it.
Just go during work like I did :o
SundownMarine
13-04-2006, 10:08 AM
Our apologies to Magoo,the post directed to Magoo was meant to be directed at Hero.
Too many hours at the T&T show can do that kind of thing!.
Sundown Marine.
timbacutta
14-04-2006, 12:41 AM
Bought a couple of shimano reels at the Sundown Marine stand at the T & T show. Got a discount below ticketed price so was very happy(did my reasearch before I got there and prices were cheaper then I could buy elsewhere). Even got a free cap thrown in. They had the best tackle range and very competative prices. Will keep Sundown in mind when making future purchases.
Jeff.
P.S. Cap didn't make it home to happyrock, my niece talked me into giving it to her before I left brissie. That's what uncles are for.
flea_350
16-04-2006, 05:14 PM
went to the T&T show with pinhead, visited the sundown marine stand and was astounded at the prices. Got a penn reel, fireline and some plastics (helped out alot by team Berkley with those) and got nothing but great advice and prices from the guys at S M. Have checked prices since the purchases at a number of tackle stores, and nobody has come close to the prices for the same gear, even my local tackle store where I get loyalty discounts.
Keep Reelaxing, Flea