View Full Version : snapper rigs

Seahorse
27-04-2006, 04:48 PM
iam going out to scarborough reefs tomorrow arvo. what is best rig to use chasing snapper. also hook size and best bait. my first real go.

thanks
greg

Tony_N
27-04-2006, 06:37 PM

Mate you are asking for a book!!

I don't know anything about Scarborough but:-

Most people would agree that floatlining is probably the best option for bigger fish. -depending on how much current smallest sinker you can to slowly drop the bait to halfway to bottom - no sinker through pea size to marble size and heavier - (depending on strength of current) straight to hook (4/0 to 7/0 suicide most common) Put it out the back into a burley trail and let it sink only slowly and feed out line as it works its way down and back.

Can also bottom bounce at the same time with a 2nd outfit - paternoster rig, heavy sinker (6 oz to 12 oz) at the bottom 4/0 to 6/0 off the side

I use a soft plastic on my top hook of 3 (white 5"snapback) - last outing caught a quite reasonable jew on it.

Bait - well I like pillies - but fresh squid or prawns are good, as is mullet or any livies also work.

do a search on this site for more detail

27-04-2006, 07:27 PM
mmmm one book is not big enough ;D :) :)

I'd use a floating bait. maybe 5/0 to 7/0 VMC hook or ganged x 2. A fresh Cuttlefish, Grinner, Gar or Whiting.

Berley is good.

Whle the big line is out, throw a bait at the Bream. Should be some numbers and size there abouts now !

Seahorse
27-04-2006, 07:46 PM
thanks heaps tony. great info.

cheers greg

Seahorse
27-04-2006, 07:48 PM
cheers phill.

damons33
28-04-2006, 08:32 AM
tony, he's fishing in like 3m of water! 12oz' damn! whats the go there tony- the lead clubs out the fish for you, as it makes its first run?...........lol
say i was using a livey i might use a 4oz ball in that situation-horses for courses!

use the same rigs you would for bream as from what i've seen the snapper at redcliffe tend to be around just legal to about 50cm.
so i would use mostly no lead with a hook no larger then 4/o in a fine wire and maybe use say half a pilly or a bit of mullet fillet, then if needed apply a small amount of lead(if the tide dictates this need).
fish the top of the tide, just on dawn or dusk will be the most productive time.
maybe try some 1/16 oz 4" berkley power baits in greeny lookin colours(looks like a hardy head)
damon

Tony_N
28-04-2006, 03:57 PM
;D Hey Damon, I did say I don't know Scarborough :D - I'm talking for 30-40 fathoms for the 12 oz. depending on the speed of the drift - Its a bit hard if you don't have all the info. Mostly I use 6 oz in 30+ metres if I can.

28-04-2006, 04:01 PM
6lb braid, tied to 12lb flourocarbon tied to a 1/8oz jighead with a 3-5" softplastic stick bait on it ;D