View Full Version : Shimano Baitrunner 6500 whos got 1???

schrammy79
15-05-2006, 06:56 PM
Id like to know in the Ausfish community as to who owns a SHIMANO BAITRUNNER 6500 and what rods do you have them strapped to(kg class) as Im looking at getting one in 3 weeks.
Also where have you used them offshore /inshore, types of uses floating bait ,trolling,bottom bashing and livies.
What type of line are you running on them. :-/

15-05-2006, 08:24 PM
pic me!!!!!!!!!! and use it forall the above. best allrounder on the market. got it on a custom 10-15kg rod, and som pretty damn heavy plated braid.

2iar
15-05-2006, 08:28 PM
I recently bought one, and it performed really well on a LT (the only decent fish I've got onto on the 2 ocassions I've used it). I've got it on a Live Fibre 7' 8-15Kg which feels a great balance and I'm running 30lb mono on it - I might consider braid later on but happy for now.

I use it for live baiting in the bay - I just love the sound of the baitrunner clicking happily with a nervous yakka on a 6/0 hoodlum [smiley=evil.gif]

Good luck,

schrammy79
15-05-2006, 08:44 PM
Thanks for the speedy reply and not trying to change my mind on the reel I selected.How much did you guys pay for your reels and rods??? Also how do you find the weight of the reel using it all day or during a long battle?? :-/

15-05-2006, 09:14 PM
I recently bought one, and it performed really well on a LT (the only decent fish I've got onto on the 2 ocassions I've used it). I've got it on a Live Fibre 7' 8-15Kg which feels a great balance and I'm running 30lb mono on it - I might consider braid later on but happy for now.

I use it for live baiting in the bay - I just love the sound of the baitrunner clicking happily with a nervous yakka on a 6/0 hoodlum [smiley=evil.gif]

Good luck,

It certainly did hold up well hey mate!

I've also seen a DVD where a guy had a Marlin hooked up on a 6500 hey Heath ;)

philip_thomson
15-05-2006, 09:30 PM
i have mine on a penn powerstick 6-10kg 7'6 rod, great outfit caught some nice fish on it, if i was to get another one it would go on an 8-15kg 7'ft live fibre or texalium, possibly even a gary howard stick.

i use it for spinning, float lining, bottom bashing, live baiting,

10kg platypus pink

15-05-2006, 11:21 PM
mines in the shop again due to a slipped cer-clip. this is the 2nd one i have had in within 6 months. i was told they where a faulty batch. I run both of mine with 30lb braid and one on a m10 and a live fibre wrap 10-15kilo on the other 8-)

16-05-2006, 01:04 AM

The Marlin was on the Big baitrunner :D, the Wahoo was on the 6500 8-)

These reels are just about bullet proof.

We have 8 baitrunner type reels.
We have 3 Daiwa ones that we use for estuary, mainly for mangrove jack.
Have got 3 x 6500, 1 x 4500 & 1 x Big Baitrunner.
We use the 6500 for mackerel & snapper. We run anything from 10kg mono to 30lb braid ( Spiderwire stealth or Powerpro) Use it in the shallows or out wide on the 50's it dont matter. We have ours matched to Livefibre 8-10kg spin sticks. The 4500 is a great reel for snapper on the close reefs. The smaller reel seems more balanced.

The big baitrunner I use on a Livefibre 15-24kg Spin stick. Loaded up with 65lb braid I use this to try and stop the brutes. The bigbaitrunner is a tad lighter than the 6500 but is very smooth. Before the 6500B come out the Big baitrunner was worth splashing out on, simply because it offered infinate backwind. However now that the 6500B does as well, they are pretty much on par for everything exept the drags. The Big baitrunner also has the lever sit flush on the reel rather than up as on the 6500. You can't accidently knock it into free spool, as I hve seen done a few times.

All my 6500 bar 1 & 4500 are the older models with the preset front drag mechanism. I prefer these to the normal front drag systems. Gives you that tad more flexability. The trade off is that the A& B series have beefed up drags & they are the felt type. You can't just put am alloy spool on the older reels as the spindle is a tad larger, so a minor mod is required to make them fit.

All in all they are fantastic reels.

Little birdy tells me there might be a write up on the baitrunner in Junes BnB ;)

schrammy79
16-05-2006, 10:46 AM
mines in the shop again due to a slipped cer-clip. this is the 2nd one i have had in within 6 months. i was told they where a faulty batch. I run both of mine with 30lb braid and one on a m10 and a live fibre wrap 10-15kilo on the other 8-)

what batch number should I look out for???

schrammy79
16-05-2006, 10:49 AM

The Marlin was on the Big baitrunner :D, the Wahoo was on the 6500 8-)

These reels are just about bullet proof.

We have 8 baitrunner type reels.
We have 3 Daiwa ones that we use for estuary, mainly for mangrove jack.
Have got 3 x 6500, 1 x 4500 & 1 x Big Baitrunner.
We use the 6500 for mackerel & snapper. We run anything from 10kg mono to 30lb braid ( Spiderwire stealth or Powerpro) Use it in the shallows or out wide on the 50's it dont matter. We have ours matched to Livefibre 8-10kg spin sticks. The 4500 is a great reel for snapper on the close reefs. The smaller reel seems more balanced.

The big baitrunner I use on a Livefibre 15-24kg Spin stick. Loaded up with 65lb braid I use this to try and stop the brutes. The bigbaitrunner is a tad lighter than the 6500 but is very smooth. Before the 6500B come out the Big baitrunner was worth splashing out on, simply because it offered infinate backwind. However now that the 6500B does as well, they are pretty much on par for everything exept the drags. The Big baitrunner also has the lever sit flush on the reel rather than up as on the 6500. You can't accidently knock it into free spool, as I hve seen done a few times.

All my 6500 bar 1 & 4500 are the older models with the preset front drag mechanism. I prefer these to the normal front drag systems. Gives you that tad more flexability. The trade off is that the A& B series have beefed up drags & they are the felt type. You can't just put am alloy spool on the older reels as the spindle is a tad larger, so a minor mod is required to make them fit.

All in all they are fantastic reels.

Little birdy tells me there might be a write up on the baitrunner in Junes BnB ;)

Is their much difference from the bigbaitrunner to the 6500 baitrunner as In line capicity and drag???

Tony_N
16-05-2006, 12:04 PM
The 6500 is a big reel and heavy. (two drags) Don't get me wrong, I love mine. I use it for floatlining for snapper in the winter and for mackerel in our (short) mac season. I have it on a 10 kg Ugly stik and have 20lb mono on it. I think the reel is better suited to heavier rods and I would prefer the 4500 on my rod or on the Wilson 8ft Live fibre 8-10 kg that I bought it with.

schrammy79
16-05-2006, 12:22 PM
The 6500 is a big reel and heavy. (two drags) Don't get me wrong, I love mine. I use it for floatlining for snapper in the winter and for mackerel in our (short) mac season. I have it on a 10 kg Ugly stik and have 20lb mono on it. I think the reel is better suited to heavier rods and I would prefer the 4500 on my rod or on the Wilson 8ft Live fibre 8-10 kg that I bought it with.

Cheers Tony for your quick reply, roughly how much was your combo? Does it really matter what rod it is comboed with ?Quality wise?

Tony_N
16-05-2006, 01:03 PM
Schrammy

Mate it was maybe 3years ago I can't remember how much I paid. About $400 I think. I looked around MO Tackle and Campbells's Pro Tackle and others for the best price I could get and asked my local (Ballina) bloke if he could match it - he did and so I bought my line and lots of tackle since from him.

It really does matter what rod you put with any reel. It is such a pleasure to work with a combo that is well-balanced. Especially if you are going to be doing a lot of casting with it. That said, I think the best part of the baitrunners is not so much that they are useful for doing much spinning, but are great for floatlining for snapper in particular. Having little or no sinker, the back drag set on zero and the rod pointing down as much as possible towards the hooks to create minimum drag helps nab those big knobbies coming off the bottom for the burley.
Its a great idea to talk to your tackle person about your rod after you have decided on your reel. You can feel the reel on a range of rods before you buy. You will soon sort out what feels best after a bit of advice from the guy in the shop. This is the great advantage of not buying at the Marts. I reckon baitcasters balance best on longer rods. If you are operating from a boat, then 8ft is probably about the comfortable limit for a rod.

Fishing for snapper in the above mentioned way and hooking a large Spanish mackerel is a recipe for disaster, however. I birdsnested mine much worse than I've ever seen a baitcaster by doing that.

FWIW

2iar
16-05-2006, 04:43 PM
Thanks for the speedy reply and not trying to change my mind on the reel I selected.How much did you guys pay for your reels and rods??? Also how do you find the weight of the reel using it all day or during a long battle?? :-/

$195 for the reel
$179 (I think) for the Live Fibre

I haven't used it much for casting, but it is a bit heavy. Shouldn't be too much of a problem though, I wouldn't think. It holds up very well in a long tussle - the 30lb mono would have given out way before the rod or reel.

Good luck,

schrammy79
16-05-2006, 05:39 PM
how does it go casting slugs/poppers

Tony_N
16-05-2006, 06:32 PM
There are better reels for casting slugs and poppers. If this is your preferred use for a reel. the baitrunner will do it after a fashion, but really too heavy and too slow a retrieve as a specialised reel for this. Best as a reel that will freely let line out when a tentative biter is taking a bait. Good for snapper and I reckon for Jew.

16-05-2006, 08:07 PM
I run a 6500 on a wilson super snapper 8kg stick. It'd be about 6' and is spooled with 8kg platypus pink. I picked this up in great condition in the trading post fopr $150 about 3 years ago. It's served me very well and usually use it for my "floater" rod.

schrammy79
16-05-2006, 08:33 PM
There are better reels for casting slugs and poppers. If this is your preferred use for a reel. the baitrunner will do it after a fashion, but really too heavy and too slow a retrieve as a specialised reel for this. Best as a reel that will freely let line out when a tentative biter is taking a bait. Good for snapper and I reckon for Jew.

I also have a SHIMANO OCEANIA AERNOS XT 4000 with a snapper raider rod would this be better for slugs and poppers?

Tony_N
17-05-2006, 06:05 AM
I haven't used the aernos and I am not an authority on reels- but it would be a LOT lighter and more comfortable to use as a spinning reel than the 6500 baitrunner. Depending on what you are targetting, it would be a pretty good spinning reel. Almost certainly underpowered for the bigger pelagics like mackerel and tuna, but fine for tailor unless you get a real snodger. Recommended line is 180m of 5kg and there are people out there fishing for these fish with that sort of thread, but I think I'd be wanting a better drag than provided by a $70-odd reel to be attempting this. 5.1 gearing would be just adequate I reckon. 800mm retrieve per turn is about minimum for fast spinning for mackerel.

Schrammy - these are just my opinions - check this stuff out at your tackle shop as well.

BTW I don't know the rod - but Snapper Raider sounds more like a bottom bouncing rod than a spin stick. For spinning I like to have a fairly medium-fast taper - fairly whippy at the end - but strong in the butt. :) I don't love it - but my current pelagic spin rod is a live Fibre 8ft 8-10 kg. The reel (which I do love) is a Daiwa Emblem Pro 5500. this reel has a retrieve speed of 122cm per crank and weighs 690 grams as against the baitrunners 870. Might not seem much difference - but if you do a lot of spinning you really notice it.

timddo
17-05-2006, 09:40 AM
I purchases a baitrunner 6500b at BCF for $189 dollars and a ugly stick 7-10kg 7'6 platium rod for $80. You can get it cheaper at Amart ######### as they will price match BCF and further discount of 10%.. so say around $170 for the reel.

i've caught makeral and shark to 10kg on them.

2iar
17-05-2006, 02:07 PM
how does it go casting slugs/poppers

Tony's pretty much summed it up in previous posts. If you intend using it primarily for casting slugs, a TSS4 would be a comparable reel to the 6500 in terms of quality, but obviously without the baitrunner option, and with a gear ratio of 5.8/1 compared to 4.2/1.

I'd say it's all down to what you're mostly going to use it for. I use either the 6500 or TSS4 on the same rod (the Live Fibre 7' 8-15Kg) depending on what I'm doing, and I find this works well.

Good luck,

schrammy79
17-05-2006, 06:44 PM
Thanks mike for the info I think I will need to get 2 reel and the one rod for a all round set up, if anyone else has any advice feel free to drop me a line.

Az
18-05-2006, 10:19 AM
the 4500 baitrunner might be a better option, 4.8:1 ratio slightly higher than the 6500 and they're a nicely balanced reel and can still use it for floating

schrammy79
18-05-2006, 06:56 PM
i have been quoted on the 6500 bait runner $180.00 the TSS4 $130.00 and the live fibre 7ft rod 10-15kg @ $200.00 are these prices any good or should I be looking else where?

Im considereing just to get a 6500 baitrunner combo for $239.00 with just a basic 10-15kg rod and upgrade when something goes snap ar breaks in the rod, as Shimano has a 10 year warrenty everything should be ok.

schrammy79
18-05-2006, 08:36 PM
the 4500 baitrunner might be a better option, 4.8:1 ratio slightly higher than the 6500 and they're a nicely balanced reel and can still use it for floating

I already have a 4000series reel in the shimano range but need the 6500 baitrunner for the extra line capacity and the heavier set up for the bigger fish.

19-05-2006, 08:07 AM
Prices for the reels are ok. Not doing you any favours on the rod though.

Az
19-05-2006, 09:54 AM

I already have a 4000series reel in the shimano range but need the 6500 baitrunner for the extra line capacity and the heavier set up for the bigger fish.

the drag sytems are the same to my knowledge between the baitrunners, the 6500 does definately have more line capacity but if you wanted to use it for slugs also the 4500 BR would be a little more up to the task with its higher ratio

i have used both and do like the 6500 but id probably get the 4500, i opted for a tss4 in the end

Gbanger
19-05-2006, 10:00 AM
model/line retrieve per crank inches/ line capacity/drag - br drag (lbs)/ ratio/ weight

BTR4500B 37 14/295, 17/250, 20/195 15.0 / 1.2 3 1 4.8:1 22.2

BTR6500B 36 20/270, 25/230, 30/185 15.8 / 1.2 3 1 4.2:1 30.7

br4500 is slightly faster and slightly lighter with the drag... holds about 70% of the line of a 6500

Tony_N
19-05-2006, 12:45 PM
gbanger - those are great stats to have - but i don't get the weight:

30.7 what? ounces? thats just over a lb. I think which is 500grams - my 6500 box says 870grams. Or are my sums and conversions ballsed up?

2iar
19-05-2006, 12:56 PM
i have been quoted on the 6500 bait runner $180.00 the TSS4 $130.00 and the live fibre 7ft rod 10-15kg @ $200.00 are these prices any good or should I be looking else where?

Im considereing just to get a 6500 baitrunner combo for $239.00 with just a basic 10-15kg rod and upgrade when something goes snap ar breaks in the rod, as Shimano has a 10 year warrenty everything should be ok.

As Heath has said, the Baitrunner's quite a good deal, and the TSS4 about as good as you'll get. The rod's a little bit expensive. I'd definitely stick with a 6500 as the extra line capacity could be the difference if you're onto something big - I went for this over the 4500 when I realised I couldn't swap the 4500 on to a lighter snapper rod (it didn't feel right), and I'm glad I did.

The rod's your call - it doesn't sound like anything special though, just be aware of that. I'm sure it will do a job of sorts, but might be tiring casting slugs all day with the TSS4 on.

I'm not sure you'll get a 10 year warranty on the rod, and even if you do, I'd imagine there's a fair amount of small print attached.

Good luck,

schrammy79
19-05-2006, 02:58 PM
so is their any other rods that you guys would recommend apart from the live fibre 10-15kg and approx price???

19-05-2006, 03:06 PM
I'm probably going to get shot down for this one but....

In this situation, I don't think that the rod is as important as the reel. As long as you have a good reel with a good drag, you can get away with lower quality rods without an issue. Obviously you need to keep within the thresh-holds of the rod. (For example - If you are running 12lb braid, then using a rod rated 10-15lb will not be a problem whether its an Ugly Stik, Shimano, T-Curve, or whatever).

I am not however talking about the light SP graphite sticks and such here, I'm talking about this particular situation in this post.... A general use slug/popper thrower that can handle what it's chasing...

I've got a couple of "cheaper" rods, and I have never had a problem with any of them. The rod I bought for throwing slugs at macks/tuna I actually picked up from Big-W for $35 when they had a big sale on. It's a Shimano rod, and is perfect for what I need it for. If it breaks in 2 years time, who cares! I will have certainly got my $35 worth...

Reels are a different story though, and you do get what you pay for with them. Save your money on the rod, and get yourself a better reel.

OK everyone - Flame away ;D

Gbanger
19-05-2006, 03:58 PM
gbanger - those are great stats to have - but i don't get the weight:

30.7 what? ounces? thats just over a lb. I think which is 500grams - my 6500 box says 870grams. Or are my sums and conversions ballsed up?

http://www.shimanofish.com.au/catalog/fish/products/group_detail.jsp?FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=25343743020 38970&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=1408474395181410&bmUID=1148017389618

ounces it says... 27 odd grams to an ounce... i know that from my wilder days

2iar
19-05-2006, 04:18 PM
so is their any other rods that you guys would recommend apart from the live fibre 10-15kg and approx price???

Dan's making a fair point. I'd suggest the rod in the combo you mentioned is probably of a comparable quality (maybe a bit better).

I've had a look at Dan's setup, and it's certainly up to the job of casting and should handle anything bigger (neither he or I can confirm this though as he never catches anything ;)). However, I reckon you wouldn't want to do it all day as it's quite heavy... great combo for the price though.

Good luck,

schrammy79
19-05-2006, 06:40 PM
Cheer guys thankyou for your quick replys and valued opinions I will take all of them on board if any one else has any suggestions to add to this post feel free they are more then welcome.

20-05-2006, 03:03 AM
That's enough outa you ya git... Otherwise we will start bringing up stories of landing fish ;) He He He He

2iar
20-05-2006, 10:02 AM
That's enough outa you ya git... Otherwise we will start bringing up stories of landing fish ;) He He He He

I knew I'd get a bite with that bait ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Better to have loved and lost, and all that... ;)

Good luck,

Tony_N
22-05-2006, 10:21 AM
ounces it says... 27 odd grams to an ounce... i know that from my wilder days

Doh! I'm the dummy. 16 oz to the pound, roughly 30 grams to the oz. (not 30oz to the pound)

My wilder days were so wild I don't know whether I'm using lbs or ounces anymore [smiley=freak.gif] :D

barradise
23-05-2006, 02:07 AM
The Shimino 6500 triton and 6500A were the best of these reels in terms of quality and longativity.
The 6500B is not so great but is still in a class of its own above that of most baitrunner reels on the market.
I own seven 6500's, the oldest (triton model) is around 18 years or so and never had a service but has copped a flogging from all manner of reef species off the Capricorn/Curtis coast.
In fact the oldest reel is still the first one that I grab for.
It's drag sytems are still smooth, as is the reels rotor balance and bearings.
All I do is wash it with warm water after use, as with all my reels.
With a 6500 baitrunner, it largely takes up the slack in almost any inferier quality fishing rod.
It's limitations are almost endless, from southern brown trout to huge GT's when properly attired.
I fully recommend the Shamano baitrunner series, 3500, 4500, 6500.

schrammy79
24-05-2006, 05:20 PM
The Shimino 6500 triton and 6500A were the best of these reels in terms of quality and longativity.
The 6500B is not so great but is still in a class of its own above that of most baitrunner reels on the market.
I own seven 6500's, the oldest (triton model) is around 18 years or so and never had a service but has copped a flogging from all manner of reef species off the Capricorn/Curtis coast.
In fact the oldest reel is still the first one that I grab for.
It's drag sytems are still smooth, as is the reels rotor balance and bearings.
All I do is wash it with warm water after use, as with all my reels.
With a 6500 baitrunner, it largely takes up the slack in almost any inferier quality fishing rod.
It's limitations are almost endless, from southern brown trout to huge GT's when properly attired.
I fully recommend the Shamano baitrunner series, 3500, 4500, 6500.

Thanks John
What type of rod do you use / reccomend for this reel?

25-05-2006, 08:34 AM
I'm with you John. I reckon the Triton model is the best of the lot.

barradise
28-05-2006, 01:58 AM
Hi Chris,
Most spin sticks over 6kg work reasonably well with the 6500 model, balance wise, best to take the reel to your local friendly tackle store and see what rod feels comfortable for you in your hands.
It also depends on the species being targeted, ie: pelagic, coral reef, rocky reef, inshore, etc.
I find the Wilson texalium, Live Fibre and Ugly Stik's are good value and also offer a good life span.
Some of the Jarvis Walker rods 10-15kg are also good value for inshore fishing, estuary and general reef and come at a bargin price, it all depends on your wallet and type of angling.

John.